3/18 Autumn pmbg-78,Cassanova pmps-114

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
All plates licked clean!!! Now if they keep it all down we'll be home free. Autumn didn't eat as well as the rest of the gang but she did eat. And since she was the one that was completely off food the longest if she wants smaller meals until the tummy stretches back out so be it.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383, Cassanova amps-243

Oh that's wonderful news. What a time you have had (((hugs))).

Glad to see Autumn eating especially. The bright light the end of the tunnel may be that OTJ is back on the list of things for Autumn to do this Spring!!!

Hope you are resting.
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383, Cassanova amps-243

So glad to hear your gang are doing better! Been thinking of them (and you) constantly since the all started getting sick.
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383,+6-76,Cassanova amps-243,+6-53

Well they both by passed the pool and went straight for the grass and Cassanova did it on .5u and Autumn did it on .1u.

Lunch isn't going down as quickly as breakfast did but I'm thinking between being sick and having their mealtimes all screwed up it might take them a day or two to get completely back to normal.

At least they all showed up for both meals and ate most of what was offered.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383,+6-76,Cassanova amps-243,+6-53

Mel,

I am so glad that the kitties are feeling better. What a scare that was.

Terri
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383,+6-76,Cassanova amps-243,+6-53

Don't think Autumn is handling her antibiotics well so if she doesn't eat better tonight and in the morning I'm taking her back in again. She ate great at breakfast, licked up her baby food chaser with her antibiotics picked at her lunch but turned her nose up when I offered her a snack off my ham sandwich. Didn't beg daddy for his fried chicken which is unheard of for her. And she just seems out of it since I pilled her so I looked up the drug side effects are lack of appetite and lethargy. So going to see if there is something else they can give her that will be just as effective.

Everyone else is back to their normal selves and Autumn was this morning so I'm thinking it's the meds since she flipped from my bright eyed hungry girl to just wanting to sleep after she got the meds. If she wasn't diabetic I could live with her snubbing food but I'm not risking DKA. And if I can't keep her eating I can't give insulin and I already know she's fighting an infection. Not enough food +not enough insulin + infection= DKA in my book.

Either she needs an appetite stimulant or a different antibiotic. Or both.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383,+6-76,Cassanova amps-243,+6-53

Sounds like you are right on top of it Mel, and I agree, your plan is just what I would do in your shoes.
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps-383,+6-76,Cassanova amps-243,+6-53

Funny how once you're owned by a sugarcat you become hypersenstive to all health problems and question everything you give them even under veterinary care. Before my first sugar I'd never have worried about such things now I worry and research everything they're given. And I'm not comfortable with this Cipro and the possible side effects.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Well she ate a little better at dinner but still didn't clean her plate like the others and I fed light so will see if she'll eat more before bed and then she how she does at breakfast. But no shot tonight for her not chancing a hypo overnight when I'm not sure she'll eat for me.

Cassanova on the other hand is awesome tonight and on a scant .5u. He's eating great again. This from a cat that 5 months ago was being shot blind 11u today turns in a 114 preshot on half a unit.

The other thing I looked up was the symptoms of hypothyroid in cats...makes me wish I had medical records on Autumn from when and how she was dxed because clinical signs are similar. Excessive eating and drinking, lethargy, dull matted coat etc. The difference is normally a hypothyroid cat gains weight whereas a diabetic loses weight. But everything else points to her having a low thyroid long before this bug. And since its rare in cats makes me wonder if anyone ever looked at that part of her bw.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
So glad that the gang is doing better, especially Autumn, even if she's not 100%. Some eating is better than none. Keeping fingers crossed she continues on this road and feels better soon. Autumn you've got tons of people wishing you well, so come on and feel better sweetie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top