Re: 3/18 Autumn amps 319
be careful increasing too quickly...
what we typically see with Lantus/Lev dose increases is something like this:
Cycle 1 & 2 = numbers about the same or slightly higher than before the dose increase.
Cycle 2 or 3 through cycle 4 or 5, sometimes even cycle 6 = numbers will probably be HIGHER than they were on the previous dose. This is because the insulin depot is adjusting to the new, higher dose. We affectionately (not!) call this
New Dose Wonkiness. Kirsten addresses this phenonemon in the
Tight Regulation Protocol by saying
"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."
Cycle 6-7 is where we would usually see a breakthrough, if there is going to be a breakthrough on a certain dose. Some cats take longer, of course, and some take less time, but this is typical.
Please be prepared to monitor closely over the next few days and nights. If she was going to have a breakthrough on 0.5u, it probably would have come today or tonight. It is possible that the breakthrough might still come (but now with extra insulin piled on), or it's possible that by increasing the dose again you have "reset the clock," so to speak, and the numbers might continue to go higher for a few days until the depot fills on the 1u dose. We'll have to wait and see. 0.5u took her down to 30 just a week ago, so that begs some caution in my mind.