3/18 Autumn amps 319, +3-383, +6-331,pmps-380

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well so much for a better start to the day...I upped her dose again this morning to see if I can drive those numbers down again. I hate seeing her in the pinks and yellows when I know she can hit blues and greens on a lower dose, but I have to get her down there in order for her to do it on less. Just one of those have to go up to go back down kind of days I guess.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps 319

MommaOfMuse said:
Well so much for a better start to the day...I upped her dose again this morning to see if I can drive those numbers down again. I hate seeing her in the pinks and yellows when I know she can hit blues and greens on a lower dose, but I have to get her down there in order for her to do it on less. Just one of those have to go up to go back down kind of days I guess.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Hope it works for you......we're pink this morning as well, but I was expecting a bounce after all the excitement of yesterday, lol.......probably good I'm at work today so I don't have to watch the gymnastics (if any).

And we had snow flurries this morning - I thought I asked you to keep the weather at your house :)

Em
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps 319

I tried real hard to keep it here, but much like Autumn and her numbers it had other plans..lol We started out as rain last night then it switched over to a rain/snow mix but today it is suppose to go back to 47 so it won't stay around long.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps 319

be careful increasing too quickly...

what we typically see with Lantus/Lev dose increases is something like this:

Cycle 1 & 2 = numbers about the same or slightly higher than before the dose increase.

Cycle 2 or 3 through cycle 4 or 5, sometimes even cycle 6 = numbers will probably be HIGHER than they were on the previous dose. This is because the insulin depot is adjusting to the new, higher dose. We affectionately (not!) call this New Dose Wonkiness. Kirsten addresses this phenonemon in the Tight Regulation Protocol by saying "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

Cycle 6-7 is where we would usually see a breakthrough, if there is going to be a breakthrough on a certain dose. Some cats take longer, of course, and some take less time, but this is typical.

Please be prepared to monitor closely over the next few days and nights. If she was going to have a breakthrough on 0.5u, it probably would have come today or tonight. It is possible that the breakthrough might still come (but now with extra insulin piled on), or it's possible that by increasing the dose again you have "reset the clock," so to speak, and the numbers might continue to go higher for a few days until the depot fills on the 1u dose. We'll have to wait and see. 0.5u took her down to 30 just a week ago, so that begs some caution in my mind.
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps 319, +3-383, +6-331

Thanks again Libby for the reminder.

I played with holding her at that .5u longer and would have had she been lower again today than yesterday, but since I'm home with her all the time I went ahead and upped her again, throughly expecting to have to reduce her again pretty quickly.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Autumn amps 319, +3-383, +6-331

hi mel. with your permission, libby pulled me in on the discussion on how to help autumn. i've read through libby's comments from yesterday and today. i agree with her 110%. i think libby put an excellent plan in place and gave you solid & valid reasoning behind her thoughts.

trust me, i know it's extremely difficult to see high numbers and not want to shoot them down, but sometimes one has to sit on their hands with the long acting insulins because of the depot. liken it to steering an ocean liner. you can turn the wheel hard to change course, but it takes time (in this case multiple cycles) to steer the ship in another direction.

when we do the same thing over and over again (and it's not working), there's no way we can expect a change for the better by repeating the same process. we have to try a "different" approach to get the desired results. kwim?

fwiw, i share libby's concern about the dose increase to 1u since 0.5u has shown itself to drop autumn down to 30.
please monitor carefully...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top