3/18 Alfred AMPS/104 +2/91 +4/91 +6/82 PMPS/117

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Alfred must have known what we talked about yesterday because he seems to be putting up more greens than blues today.

I've got the new syringes with half-unit markings arriving by mail tomorrow and ordered a bunch of other supplies (test strips, lancets, treats) for his upcoming trip. Next week, I'll be driving him up north to my awesome friend who has agreed to care for him and Clyde AND their individual medical needs while Dave and I go to the Lower 48 and Canada for 2.5 weeks. I'll be seeking advice as we get closer to that time as to what the best treatment plan will be for him while we're away. We're getting pretty routine with the home-testing so I think my friend should have no problem testing as it fits into her work schedule.

Anyway...hope you all are off to a good start for the week.
 
Re: 3/18 Alfred AMPS/104 +2/91 +4/91 +6/82

Alfred is doing great and your plans sound very workable. How lucky you are to have a good friend to take care of your kitties while you are away. Make sure to give her the FDMB info. and how to get onto the Lantus Forum so that she will be able to get help if she needs it.

Have a great evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/18 Alfred AMPS/104 +2/91 +4/91 +6/82

rhiannon and shadow said:
Which syringes did you get?

I ordered the ones you recommended, the Terumo Thinpro 31G 3/10cc 3/8". They arrive tomorrow.

I have been using the BD Ultra-Fine 3/10cc 5/16" 31G and just eyeballing the half doses, which scares me b/c they feel very inaccurate. Do you have some recommendations for making the switch?
 
Its going to be tough to make the switch because the BD and Terumo barrels are different sizes and the syringes are so inaccurate. The best you can do is just try and shoot the same dose and then adjust up or down as you need to.

Most of us use calipers but I'm not sure if Alfred is going to be on insulin long enough to be worth the cost.

He is looking super!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top