3/18/2014 Georgie AMPS 132

Status
Not open for further replies.

ajsandbe

Member Since 2014
Today's AMPS seems like a pretty nice number. I tested every two hours yesterday and his numbers seemed kind of high. He is still on 1 unit. I wish I could have a few days off to test more often.
 
Looks like he is bouncing, totally understandable at this stage of treatment. I would carry on as you are for now. The key is he is not getting majorly high, and he is getting some nice low numbers as well.
 
Without being there, I can't begin to guess why Georgie's 3/17/14 preshot was so high. Is there high carb food in the house he could have gotten into? Could he have munched on some of your potato chips or cleaned up your bowl of ice cream?

Just my observation and practice, but I would be giving a full dose of insulin to Georgie on a 132 at this time. Many of us, for cats new to insulin, recommend setting a shoot/do-not-shoot (S/DNS) number somewhere between 200 and 150 until we feel the caregiver is data-ready to shoot at lower number. Shooting at a lower number may well result in rebound. You are getting what appears to me to be rebound from Georgie--meaning the wild swings between the 100s and 300s.

Setting the S/DNS number means not giving the shot but waiting an appropriate amount of time to make sure the BG level is rising and that the number is high enough that giving a shot will reduce the likelihood of rebound. By appropriate amount of time, I mean enough time for the BG level to get to the shoot/do-not-shoot level. For example, if your S/DNS level is 150 and BG level is 130, half an hour might be enough. If your S/DNS level is 150 and the BG level is 90, it may take an hour or maybe two.

Alternatively, some people with a cat not yet at the S/DNS level...but they have to get out the door for work...will either skip the shot altogether or give a reduced dose...again depending on the cat's BG level. For example, a person may have a 150 S/DNS level and the level is 130 will shoot a reduced dose...maybe 1/2. But if the level is 80, they will just wait for a retest and shot when they get home from work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top