3/17 Simon PMPS 141 +4 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
4th day of antibiotics (baytril) for Simon. His bg seems to be varying a little but nothing too bad. It sounds like baytril should not affect bg so hoping Simon stays where he is. He definitely seems better, playing more & eating well. He is bothering my poor civvie, Cleo, wanting to play with her. She still isn't feeling well because of the UTI and the antibiotics seem to be causing her tummy to be more upset. Her vet put her on 1 pill of baytril (22.7 mg)2x/day which seems like alot. Simon is only on a 1/2 pill (22.7 mg) 1x/day. The vet said that Cleo was only a couple of pounds over the 1x/day dosage so she upped it to 2x/day. I know I am not a vet, but I think I might only give her 1 pill 1x/day and keep her on the antibiotic for 20 days (like Simon). Two full pills seems like a lot and I know it is causing Cleo to throw up some and not eat well. Does anyone have an idea of what I should do?

Off to work. Happy St. Patrick's Day!!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39054
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

Sorry, no medicine advice. Just stopping in to wish everyone a Happy St. Patty's Day! Glad to hear Simon is playing more and eating well!
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

The vet put my dog on 1/2 pill in the AM and 1/4 pill in the PM. I switched her to 1x per day as I was told by a forum it works better all at once. Maybe you can call the vet and see if you can give less - if you buy a pill splitter? But you don't want to give the bacteria a chance to get stronger than the AB. So do ask the vet before changing anything.

Glad Simon is feeling perky and his BG isn't rising. I was nervous about what he'd show up with for AMPS today nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

yaaaaay glad she's feeling better, despite the upset stomach :oops:

I don't think I would mess with an antibiotic dosage. Especially for a sugarcat. Sounds like your vet was erring on the side of caution.

maybe giving her a nice light meal before her antibiotics would help her keep them from irritating her tumtums?

I don't know, maybe it's the gag-reflex action that's making her feel ill? What I do with simba is break his pill in two so that it's more palletable. then I gently squirt a little water with a needleless syringe in the side of his mouth to make sure he swallows nicely.

Maybe someone who knows a little more about this stuff will come help :smile:

Have a great st pat's :mrgreen:
Sarah.
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

no advice on the pills, hopefully someone can shed some light for you.
Glad to see Simon is doing well and is playful
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

Baytril can often not agree with cats but of course underdosing often may not clear the problem if I were you call you vet and explain how the med is making your cat not feel well and I would think the advice they would give would be to reduce the dose or switch to another antibiotic at least this is what my vets would say. Best to you but you do not want your cat sick and not eating. I have had baytril not agree with cats here but have had clavamox do the same thing since ECID
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

The vet did not do a sensitivity test on the antibiotics for Cleo. I am going to call her this morning and see what I should do about Cleo. She just is not eating well and I don't want her to start losing too much weight too quickly. She is a big cat (16 pounds), but this is not the way to lose weight. I have been splitting the pills in half so it is easier to get her to swallow them. I just think it might be too large of a dose for her since Simon is only getting 1/2 of pill and he is 14 1/2 pounds and she is on 2 full pills every day.
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117

Hi Georgia, I hope you can get Cleo's dose straightened out and/or can get an antibiotic that won't cause her stomach distress. I don't have much experience with antibiotics. Are you giving her FortiFlora or plain yogurt with live cultures to counteract the tendency of antibiotics to kill all the good bacteria in the digestive tract?
Anyway, hang in there, and do call your vet.
Simon's AMPS looks great,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117 +6 107

I haven't started Cleo with any Fortiflora or any similar thing, but will definitely look into getting something for her tonight. Simon seems to like the number 7 today.
 
Re: 3/17 Simon AMPS 117 +6 107

I talked with my civvie Cleo's vet this afternoon and she said that Cleo really needs to be on the Baytril 2x/day to make it work best for her. She recommended cutting his pill down to 3/4 each time instead of a full pill. She does not think a probiotic will help her, although she really didn't explain why. When I explained that Cleo isn't eating very well and has thrown up, she recommended bringing her in and to get the Convenia 2 week shot. Of course I declined and said I would try the 3/4 pill and see if that works any better. She said the Baytril works best for a UTI so she doesn't want to give her any other oral antibiotic. I'm a little frustrated with her and I wish I had gone ahead and taken Cleo to Simon's vet. If things don't improve in the next day, I'm going to call him and have him check Cleo. Sorry to vent!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top