3/17 Rupert ,+8, 491,+10, 570 ,PMPS 397,+4, 460

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66360

yesterday's numbers:

AMPS 374.4
+2.5 468
+6.5 478.8
PMPS 457.2
+2.5 340.2
+3.5 307.8

Beginning to be curious as to why I"m seeing upside down curves? his levels are HIGHEST when technically he should be at nadir??? I've switched to a new cartridge this morning. We were still using the 'old vial' that was opened Feb 11, the one we switched back to because we had suspicions that the pen vial was bogus. This new cartridge is from the same batch.....of course if his numbers stay the same I'm not sure what that tells us. Guess we'll see. Still hoping for greatness soon.

WCR: purry, furry, hungry, bossy, healthy looking. Right eye weeping as per usual (grr!). He's cleaned his plate. He *looks* fabulous so no complaints from Rupert at least!
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, least it's pink, sigh.

In general, an inverted curve can mean too little or too much insulin. (I know, not terribly helpful.) However, what I think you're referring to as an inverted curve is a bounce.

Let's see where Rupert's numbers are at PMPS. If the bounce has cleared, I think he could use an increase in dose.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, least it's pink, sigh.

Hope the bounce clears today and you see some action. It's great the Rupert is feeling good.
Liz
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, least it's pink, sigh.

so, it's +2.5 time and I'm trying to get a test... ha ha.. Rupert has other ideas. He's sitting in one of those *just* out of reach spots, looking out the window bright eyed (eye cleared up already) and alert and giving me the 'stink eye'. Guess I"ll head to the barn, feed the horsies and try and get a test at +3 or so!!! He's had his steak treats this morning at shot time so he's not bribeable at this time! In the past he's usually sacked out on the end of the couch snoozing and so I can get a test really easily, now he's 'New and Improved Action Rupert'.. this could get entertaining! Stay tuned!

funny-pictures-this-cat-does-his-own-stunts.jpg





eta: ha, got him! sigh, but he's back to red, assuming bit of a food spike, hoping for something better at lunchtime... but I guess, if he stays level like this for two days in a row, as Sienne says, it might suggest an increase tonight. of course it might also suggest that the new cartridge is crap too. sigh. Have a good Saturday everyone, I have the farrier coming so I'm off to hold Harvey whilst he gets new shoes (wish I got new shoes every 8 weeks!).ttyl.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, least it's pink, sigh.

:lol: new & improved action rupert, eh? too funny!!!

his teeth must've really made him feel yucky before. glad that bad tooth is gone.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, least it's pink, sigh.

Hang in there, bounces do come to an end. I know it doesn't seem like it sometimes, but it will happen.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397

drat, was really hoping to see a lower number at +6, but nope, back to the red. seriously beginning to wonder if all FIVE cartridges in that batch are dead??? is there anyway to actually test insulin itself?? He seems fine of course, although I notice already his demeanor not quite as happy as this morning - although who can really tell. .. he's a cat! they sleep all day anyway! hoping for some action this evening, if not I guess I'll switch BACK to that older vial that seemed at least to have some effect. Just would be nice to see SOME decreasing numbers at some point.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464 sigh..

I guess I was hoping to see a magical and instant drop in numbers as a result of the tooth issue being solved. At least I'm seeing a drastic improvement in his overall attitude so that's good. He goes back in on Weds for follow up. Will talk to vet about possible residual infection, some a/b, and maybe even switching to Lev if his numbers aren't looking better by then. I know, I"m being impatient.. still.. it IS frightening to see him staying up so high.

that being said.. we have a dinner date with friends tonight.. and EVERY time we have something planned for the evening that is 'time specific'.. THAT's when he chooses to head on down the slide! Guess we'll see what PMPS brings and I"ll be looking for dosing advice at that time (5 hours from now).
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464 sigh..

Pssst, Rupie, your beans have plans. Time for Action Kitty!! :lol: :lol:

With some of the kitties who have had dentals recently, they didn't see results right away. Vyktor and Zener are two that come to mind. They both have seen lower numbers post-dental, but as I recall it took a week or two. Hang in there! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464 sigh..

Vyktor got better numbers in a couple of weeks. Zener took a couple of months while we worked on some digestion/motility/eating issues. His dental was Dec 13 and he started feeling better about mid Feb. Now he is doing much better. Gabby is another kitty whose numbers improved after her dental last fall. I can't remember the month but it was well before Zener's. I think punkin was on ABs for about 6 weeks after his dental.
Liz
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464 sigh..

Pip, you might check with Lantus to see if you have a bad batch. Perhaps others with the same batch number(s) as yours have also had problems and have reported it. Also, for quality control purposes they might want the cartridges back for testing and will replace them for you. Reminder if you go that route: you are not using it on a cat.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464,+8, 491

if i were you, i'd keep using your vial until the numbers you're getting tell you you need to change. some people have used them for months and they lasted ok.

you will need to figure out if something is wrong with these cartridges, but what i'm thinking is you have so many factors all changing at once - with the results of the dental cleaning & having the tooth pulled, possibility of infection, and whether or not the lantus is good. it would be good to hold as many factors constant as possible so that each thing can be figured out individually. at least that is what i would try to do.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464,+8, 491

good plan Julie. I'll use the old vial again tonight for his shot. I've placed a call to the Lantus people, they say they'll call back on MOnday, sigh. Anyway.... I was rereading the instructions on the box of cartridges and they say that you keep refrigerated until opened and then store the cartridge at ROOM temperature? hm. conflicting info yet again. I've moved the whole lot from the regular fridge to the wine fridge which doesn't get anywhere near as cold as the regular fridge. I sure hope I don't have to fork out another $120 to get a new batch.. but if that's what it takes.... meanwhile hubby is going to get one of his high tech gizmo's to check the temp of our fridge to see if it's super cold or something (doubtful, but we'll rule out all possibibilities!).

so.. tonight, back to trusty old vial again (although it's been in the same super cold fridge as the other stuff).... and I'll also wait to see what Sienne has to say about possible dose increase. I have used the short needles syringes the last two doses......will use more familiar longer one again tonight.

hoping this is just a big long bounce (we DID get some blues 2 days ago though) and he'll clear it soon. grrrr. thanx for hanging in there with me. Will check for ketones tonight when he pees. Someone threw up downstairs this morning, no clue which one of them did though. It was clear fluid with a chunk of grass in it, I think it was Rupert because he'd just come in the basement door about 10 mins before the report of the the yak sighting (by our tenant!).

hoping for some obvious signs of improvement soon. thanx for the encouragement. Hoping no irreversible damage is being done whilst Rupie is up in these high red numbers.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464,+8, 491

take a look at the sticky How to Care for Lantus/Lev for a discussion about refrigerating pens. the "don't refrigerate" is only applicable if you are using the "pen needles" that attach directly to the pen and dialing the dose with the thing on the end of it. the refrigeration changes the mechanism that dispenses the dose.

in our situation, using syringes with the pens, that doesn't apply to us. we refrigerate.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +2.5, 414, +6, 464,+8, 491

gotcha on the refrigeration thing then. I've moved all the insulin to the wine fridge.. it's not as cold as the main fridge, in fact probably the perfect environment because it's not accessed as much.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570

+10 and 570!!!!!!!!!!!

advice needed please. Thinking of heading to the pharmacy and getting a whole new batch of insulin
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570

I would go ahead and increase. I think I hate seeing Rupert in these numbers almost as much as you do.

Also, it was only chance that I stopped by. Well, I saw the +10 and stopped by. If you have a question or need help, please put a note in your subject line. It's the best way to get people's attention.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570

(((((Pip))))) Those numbers are sure hard to see. Could you note on the SS exactly when you have used the vial and the pen?
Liz
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert AMPS 397, +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570

I agree, I would go ahead and increase. You monitor well enough to catch it if it does happen to be a bounce that clears, and I would like to see him get out of the 500s.

Come on down, Rupert!

I wouldn't throw away the insulin yet. Let's see if raising the dose does the trick.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert 464,+8, 491,+10, 570 IDEAS PLEASE?

I had noted on the sS but now I've highlighted. the 'new cartridge' is brand new but from the same batch (five in the batch) that I got earlier. we had started on that, then switched BACK to the old vial, then went to the new cartridge... am seriously considering a quick zip to the store to get a whole new batch of five. have a call into the Lantus people.. not sure what good it will do but hopefully they'll phone me back.... would like a refund IF we can pinpoint that it's the insulin doing the trick. I think the only way to rule that out IS to get a new batch.. of course.. if I get a new batch AND increase the dose....?????? on the other hand he was on 2.5 when we first started and whilst he did dip low, it wasn't rapidly and wasn't too too horrific.

I feel stupid. why I switched from the old vial this morning I have no idea. but I think this strongly suggests this batch is garbage..... thinking up the dose, on the old vial.. and maybe get new tomorrow anyway??

ideas please?
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570 IDEAS please?

At this point, it's one step at a time. Don't get ahead of yourself. Even if it's a matter of the insulin giving you wonky numbers, you will still need to refill the shed and that will take a couple of days. Just increase the dose tonight. If you want to pick up a new set of pens, that's fine. They won't go bad.

Lantus can be mishandled. Just remember that when you talk to the Lantus people, your insulin is for your child, not your cat. Once opened, you've been keeping it in a cupboard, not the refrigerator. In other words, you've been doing exactly what it says on the box.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570 IDEAS please?

thanx everyone. okay so.. according to protocol I go up to 2.25??? and use old vial or get new cartridges.... just want to make sure..
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570 dose confirmation?

it's 1hr 15 mins till dose time. I have time to go to the pharmacy..... should I use NEW new tonight, or the old vial???
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570 dose confirmation?

I would not recommend raising the dose and starting a new pen/vial at the same time - if you are going up in dose I think I would use your old insulin.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570 dose confirmation?

I haven't been following your situation recently, but I will say that most of the time when people think their insulin is bad, it isn't. Usually it just means that something made the cat's dosing needs change, and they need to go up in dose. I have had one bad cartridge, so I know it can happen, but usually it's just that more insulin is needed.

Remember also that if the insulin was bad, it might take a few cycles for the shed to refill with the good stuff. You are not likely to see a change right away.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert +6, 464,+8, 491,+10, 570

according to the protocol:
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

so am I going to 2.5? or 2.25???
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert ,+8, 491,+10, 570 dose=2.25 or 2.5?

I don't know the answer... you had that missed shot the day of his dental, but he has stayed pretty high since then. I'm no help :roll: but I can bump you up at least! Hope you get an answer before shot time, if not I would increase by 0.25 to be on the safe side. ;-)
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert ,+8, 491,+10, 570 dose=2.25 or 2.5?

Pip,
Rupert had a blue nadir two days ago...you should increase by 0.25u to 2.25u.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Good luck with the increase!
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert ,+8, 491,+10, 570 dose=2.25 or 2.5?

thanx Melissa! 15 mins to go and I took our PMPS reading.... used BOTH meters (one touch ultra, and one touch mini).. the mini showed: 451, the ultra shows 397. I of course choose to take the lower number! ' Course, that's still within 'normal variance hm..... anyway.. unless I hear otherwise I'll shoot the 2.25 at 6pm.

eta: got the 'increase .25 meassge'.
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert ,+8, 491,+10, 570 ,PMPS 397

Pip, I don't have any answers for you (you already know that), just wanted to let you know, I'm holding you in my heart, and worrying right along with you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/17 Rupert ,+8, 491,+10, 570 ,PMPS 397

Rupie's had his shot. his dinner of Evo ultra low carb. Notice his eye is weeping with a bit of red in it again. Other than that he seems fine. went for a pee, tested, negative for ketones. chased a piece of string around the back yard with me for a bit, seemed coordinated and happy. wonder what the HECK the deal is with that eye weeping. could be completely unrelated... could be something. He's getting 500mg of lysine a day. Will chat with new and improved vet about it on Wednesday I guess. Hoping the extra .25 tonight will be enough to kickstart things again.... if it doesn't, it's off to the pharmacy for new insulin tomorrow. Good job DH did all that overtime last week! Hope everyone has a good evening and if you can spare just a few more 'come down Rupie' thoughts, much appreciated.

I appreciate everyone's kind thoughts, concern and sharing of knowledge. Makes me a little less panicky! Hope you all have a good evening.
 
+4, and 460. that's it. I'm going to the pharmacy and getting new insulin tomorrow. this is ridiculous. wish I'd got it tonight so I could give for his 6am shot, but guess he'll have to wait till 6pm tomorrow to give him the new. damn.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top