? 3/17 Pepe PMPS 259, +6 39, +7 88, +8 56, +9 46, +10 59, +11 32

Cat DJ

Member Since 2021
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1atB2r_t7X75yqkSnTVROu15cp0xaP7Qu-Nal-cN8y9U/edit?usp=sharing

First of all, this condo is not about my cat, but about the cat(Pepe) in the link above.
(Pepe's Mom doesn't know English very well)

Pepe is AM shoot time in an hour. However, his number is still falling.
(PMPS 259, +6 39, +7 88, +8 56, +9 46, +10 59, +11 32)
After checking +6 39, she continues to feed HC and syrup, but the number drops again quickly.

If she is following TR, should she shoot at a fixed time regardless of the number?
Does she need to inject 2.25U without delaying AM Shoot time?
 
She needs to skip. With a cat continually being fed HC and syrup for 5 hours and still struggling to stay above 50 it would be a bad idea to give any insulin. How is the cat acting other than low numbers?
 
You don't mess with the 30s. The cat has required continual high carb and syrup intervention, yet 1 hour away from shot the cat is at 32. That is still way too low. It would be unsafe to give any insulin. She is continuing to feed but cannot keep the numbers above 50. HC and syrup wear off quickly. Any carbs at this point are potentially artificially inflating the number, so shooting is dangerous because the numbers can quickly get away from you when the carbs wear off and the next dose of insulin kicks in and she may be in for some serious action. Just my 2 cents. Better a day too high than an hour too low.

Next dose she does give would be reduced by 0.25u due to going under 50 today.
 
You don't mess with the 30s. The cat has required continual high carb and syrup intervention, yet 1 hour away from shot the cat is at 32. That is still way too low. It would be unsafe to give any insulin. She is continuing to feed but cannot keep the numbers above 50. HC and syrup wear off quickly. Any carbs at this point are potentially artificially inflating the number, so shooting is dangerous because the numbers can quickly get away from you when the carbs wear off and the next dose of insulin kicks in and she may be in for some serious action. Just my 2 cents. Better a day too high than an hour too low.

Next dose she does give would be reduced by 0.25u due to going under 50 today.

For now, Pepe took 80g LC because it was breakfast time.
With the syrup and HC just before, AMPS 77.

For Pepe's safety, she won't shoot right away.
 
It looks like she still gave syrup at 11.5. That will have bumped up the AMPS number, I would ask she test in 30 minutes to see if it is still above 50. And then she should get another test after that around 30-45 minutes to see that the cat isn't dropping and syrup is wearing off before even considering dosing. She will also need to adjust her shot time next pm dose if she shoots late to get back to original shot time.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
 
It looks like she still gave syrup at 11.5. That will have bumped up the AMPS number, I would ask she test in 30 minutes to see if it is still above 50. And then she should get another test after that around 30-45 minutes to see that the cat isn't dropping and syrup is wearing off before even considering dosing. She will also need to adjust her shot time next pm dose if she shoots late to get back to original shot time.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/

She fed +11 2cc of syrup and +11.5 1/2tsp HC.
Pepe then got 77 for +12 and ate 80g of LC. And now, +12.5 87
 
Back
Top