3/17 Mookie PMBG 50, +1/56, +2/63, +3/77, +4/66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Good afternoon,
Mookie had an exhilarating run of blues and greens in the last two days, and I'm thrilled -- not because I think it means he'll be going OTJ anytime soon, but because he had a couple of healthy, healing cycles.

It's a big drop this morning and I missed his test and meal at +2. He started a bounce last night but it looks like he's clearing it already. I haven't spent enough time with him yet to give a WCR, but he's doing his inspection of the backyard right now which is good.

Many many thanks to all of you who offered your encouragement, humor and tutelage in the last couple of days. Your support enabled me to keep Mookie's surf going in low numbers even though I was exhausted and didn't think I could do it. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, +4.5 142

Great job you two! Of course you are thrilled! And not too bad of a bounce, way to go Mookie!

I hope you are getting caught up on your rest, Randa. Have a great Caturday!
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, +4.5 142, +6 57

Hi Randa, your Mookie sure is doinmg a good job of clearing the bounce looking at the +6! Hope you're having a nice day.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, +4.5 142, +6 57

Thanks, Melissa and Ann. DH is away until the end of the month, and in the last few days especially, I've realized how much I rely on the support of friends on this board to carry on. Today I feel rested and much more confident that I can handle low numbers. :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, +4.5 142, +6 57

:shock: :shock: OH WOW - will you look at Mookie! And here we go again. He sure did clear that bounce well. GO MOOKIE!!! And I hear you - IMHO being able to go OTJ is a gift. For me just being regulated, having good healthy cycles, and having back the kitty I had before all this started is enough. It is great to read that Mookie is on yard patrol. It is one of Mannie's fav things to do. They will have to compare notes...

IMHO - you handled the past couple of days like a pro. well done. Now that you have been through it the next time will be easier, less stressful. You did really well, just like those of us that have been at this for a very long time. Hang in there - bottom line: you have given Mookie his life back.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46

:YMHUG: Michelle

:shock: 46 at +7.5 and some HC. I thought he'd head back up after +6. Lesson: don't assume I know what the numbers will do. I'll test again in 15-20 minutes.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46

Mookie is all full of surprises! It looks like he got tired of this dose. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55

Thanks, Sienne! Is it alright to skinny it back, or do I need to take a full .25? This is the third cycle at 1.75 at which time I reduced it by a skinny.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/

Crazy cat. Zener does the same thing. Keeps us hopping, that's for sure. You did a great job handling those low numbers, now you know how to do it. Isn't this place great? I don't know how we would manage without LL.
Liz
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/

Look at Mookie go! Woo goo! You have done a really great job Randa. Give yourself a big pat on the back. Now Mookie, surf those safe greens and give mama bean some rest.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/

wow - go mookie! and way to go randa!!! talk about a pro!

that was an amazing drop from 345 to 46 - i wonder if he'll bounce.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/

Randa --

I think it's up to you whether you skinny the dose or take the full reduction. I do think if he bounces by PMPS, I'd shoot through the bounce.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie AMPS 345, 4.5/142, 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/

Wow, what a run! That's a great show of bounce clearing skills from Mookie, and great management by you, Randa. Things would get exciting just when DH is away!
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie... 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/60, 11/45 Help P

I have a 45 at +11 and I don't know what to do -- feed to get him above 50, or wait?
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie... 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/60, 11/45 Help P

I would feed the 40's. just a small amount to see if you can get the Numbers up. I can't recommend shooting in the 40's. can you stall until you have a comfortable, for you, shooting number?
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie... 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/60, +11/45 Help

yes, I'll give him a little food to get his number up; I can stall if I need to

ETA: His PM shot is at 7:30, in 30 minutes. I'll test him again in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie... 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/60, +11/45 Help

Morning/Evening Randa - whoo hoo go Mookie. Looks like Vyktor's going to be at it again today too, I should've packed my bags the other night, at least we could be taking shifts then :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie... 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/60, +11/45 Help

Good luck! I'll be around for a little while if you need help. It is nice that you can stall.

FWIW: I think if it were me I'd take the .25 reduction, when you do do that that is. Mookie has been running alot of lows. You can always go back up if it doesn't hold.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie... 6/57, 7.5/46, 7.75/55, 8/60, +11/45 Help

Since I've had more sleep than you, Serryn, I suspect I'd be the one working the longest shifts. :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +7.75/55, +8/60, +11.25/45, +11.5/47, +11.75

I must not have fed him enough -- I gave him MC; I'll give him HC now and test again in 15 min (7:30)
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +7.75/55, +8/60, +11.25/45, +11.5/47, +11.75

Crazy cat. Sure love the green though. Can you come up a bit Mookie?
Liz
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +7.75/55, +8/60, +11.25/45, +11.5/47, +11.75

Mookie! Up a little please, you are scaring the beans. :lol: :lol: I hope you get a shootable number soon, Randa - no bounce here!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50

up to 50. now I guess I stall? opinions?

btw, he is acting normal in every way, just hungry. no signs of any illness, lethargy, etc.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50

Deja vu!!! Mookie is keeping you busy, isn't he??? Good luck with the stall and congrats on the reducie!!
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50

I would stall. Ideally you want two rising numbers without food before you shoot.

YAY that all is well with mookie, just hungry - I bet he is!
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50

Thanks, Michelle - I'll test again at 7:45 and at 8:00.

Amy, I haven't done anything differently. It's a complete mystery to me why this is suddenly happening.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50

The way Mookie has been going, I would stall a little longer if you still really have to, and with a 50, I would stall...He has been doing amazing these days & you have been doing a fabulous job!
Hang in there girl! Let's see where this goes!! Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53

Thanks, Roni - I'm stalling and there's nothing else I need to be doing except this. He's actually playing with Henry right now. I hope the exercise doesn't make his BG drop. :roll:
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50

50 again and liquid poo and I don't have any idea what's caused the diarrhea. Keep stalling?
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50

Oh boy, but yes, I'd keep stalling. It's up to you if you want to call this a skip, shoot reduced: BCS, or keep on waiting it out. since only half an hour, I'd stall a little longer...
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56

Mookie...you sure like green today don't you? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Be nice to mama ;-)
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56

I bet it was the gravy - I'll give him some fortiflora at his next meal.

Assuming the +13 is higher, I'd like to give his shot a try. What would any of you recommend? Normally this would be cycle 4 at 1.75. I reduced him yesterday AM from a fat 1.75.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

He's just not moving. As much as I hate to lose momentum, I'm thinking a skip is in order. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56

If you shoot: well i am inclined to a BCS shoot, if the +13 is higher. It really needs to be much higher than it is now. You need to remember that these numbers are food influenced, and what are the real numbers? If you do shoot, please monitor Mookie alot, that HC food will wear off soon enough and you face potentially very low numbers. There is still the shed action to consider too. If you do a BCS i'd half the dose.

personally i'd skip the shot - Mookie's Numbers are not moving and this is with food on board.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

I'm more comfortable skipping the shot. As you pointed out, Michelle, the numbers are already influenced by food.

Does skipping mean I should shoot earlier in the AM, and do I still take the reduction?
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

Randa

It's up to you whether you skip. If you can stall at all longer, you might be able to get foodinsulin in him if you don't feed him between now and +14. You will have to be diligent on the testing but I know you are.

If you decide to skip, then you can shoot at your regular time in the morning, or if you want to change times, it would be a good time to do it.

Your decision...he's doing great and so are you!!!
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

Hi Randa - I think this is in the best interest of Mookie: it will keep Mookie safe. You can shoot anytime in the morning that you want now, if you skip. You can resume your normal time if you want. I know there is always alot of talk her about losing momentum when one skips a shot, but with numbers as low as Mookie's tonight I think that the momentum will come back as quickly as it was lost, if it is lost at all. IMHO.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

Marje, I missed your question about food. I cheated and gave him a tsp of HC at +12.5 because I thought he was dropping again. With that, the subsequent numbers were definitely food influenced.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

and yes on the reduction. If it were me I'd do the .25. Your call on that. With Mannie I have to shave as he doesn't hold reductions well. Mookie is running so low that maybe the .25 would be the best way to go. you can always bring it back up if you need to.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

It's ok!!! You can't make a wrong decision here. Michelle is spot on when she says if you skip, he'll get back on track.

He's got a nice surf going on with the food. So, like I said, if you want to stall until +14 and see what he's doing, if he's come up...you could probably shoot. Or skip....your decision. Either works. :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

Just to clarify while I have the podium, when I skip a shot the shed will drain, yes? Does that mean that whatever is in the shed will support him through the night, but his numbers will be high tomorrow until his shed refills?

Thanks, Marje -- either way I'll get a +14 and see what is happening.
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

You always have the podium ;-)

ECID....the shed will drain some. Some cats will keep on chugging; some cats will go up. How's that for a definitive answer? In reality, I think with the shed draining and the reduction, I wouldn't be surprised to see him go up but it's really not possible to tell if or when he will. He may be on a mission :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Mookie +12/50, +12.25/53, +12.5/50, +12.75/56, +13/

yupp the shed will drain. it is hard to say how long that will take - more than likely through tomorrow morning at least, but ECID. Mookie's numbers could go up as Marje said. sometime they don't. With the no shot, and the reduction, it is quite possible that they would. there is just no way to ay for sure....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top