3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/127, PMPS 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Every now and again, I have my brother give Michelangelo his shot just so my brother doesn't forget how and Michelangelo is used to other people giving shots. On 2/15, I had him give Mikey his PMS. My brother had one of those moments when you're suddenly hyper-aware of what you're doing and you overthink it. The end result was that there was still a little bit of insulin left in the syringe and he said he smelled insulin on Mikey's fur, so I had a feeling it was a fur shot. The numbers from his post-PMS and the next day show for it...but now he's back to blue! I'm hoping he goes on a green run tonight in celebration of St. Patrick's day. :mrgreen:

It's amazing that when I got the 126 this morning, I didn't even debate whether or not to wait a little bit or whether or not to shoot. I just shot! I still tested him a little too much perhaps, but I always remind myself that there's no such thing as too much testing when it comes to making sure he's in safe numbers. The more I shoot low, the more comfortable I am that it's not going to also drop him too low because he's proving it true that when you shoot low on a good dose, you're just prolonging the pretty numbers and aren't causing a bigger dip at nadir. :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137

Great flat surf after shooting low. :thumbup

I've been thinking about the increase. Even before the possible furshot, seems there was not enough green.

Perhaps what would better fit your monitoring, might be fine tuning? You could fatten the 2.0U. Something like 2.13U.

Can't remember if you are using digital calipers with Terumo syringes, but if you are it's an easy dose.

If you aren't already using Marje's dosing technology, I suspect you'd especially appreciate the accuracy and simplicity.
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

His blue at least lasted a full 12 hours straight through before it was cut short. I'm still hoping for greens today! :mrgreen:

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Great flat surf after shooting low. :thumbup

I've been thinking about the increase. Even before the possible furshot, seems there was not enough green.

Perhaps what would better fit your monitoring, might be fine tuning? You could fatten the 2.0U. Something like 2.13U.

Can't remember if you are using digital calipers with Terumo syringes, but if you are it's an easy dose.

If you aren't already using Marje's dosing technology, I suspect you'd especially appreciate the accuracy and simplicity.

Yeah, I've been thinking about the increase as well. I wanted to see if he would head back into greens after the fur shot cleared because he had gotten some pretty low greens (56 on Prime, 49 on Micro). I know he's been growing a little bit this past week or so, but I'm not sure if he's stabilized just yet or if he's still got some more weight fluctuations ahead. In the past, he did best on me sliding him up slowly to the next dose, so I'd go f2u to 2.13u to s2.25 to 2.25 over the course of a week or so. I've seen Marje's post on using calipers and for me, the biggest pain is having 2 additional lines I have to line up precisely. I've found micro-dosing to be the easiest and fastest for me so I just overfill the syringe a bit to a known dose line and "dial it down" to the unmarked dose I want.

I would get so frustrated because X.0 would be too little while X.25 would be too much till I figured out the whole fluctuating weight as he grew thing and the last few dose increases have been fairly smooth. This next one, however, will be the first dose change I've made since he stopped eating twice the calories (no longer needed kitten amount) and also since he stopped growing as fast. I'm not sure if I should do a slide up or if he'll be able to handle a full .25 increase now....

ETA: fractured sentence
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

I meant Marje's technique using digital calipers to measure the dose.

Hopefully she will be along to explain better than I can.

I suspect it will be a game changer for you, I know it was for me. :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

Sorry, I meant I'd checked out Marje's post on the calipers, but the biggest pain for me is having to bring them out every time I need to give a shot and have to make sure I have it lined up properly every time. I found it easier and faster for me using the twist method where a big drop is .1 and a small drop is .05.
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

I think I remember you mentioning that now.

What syringes are you using?
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

I use the ReliOn ones mostly because I keep forgetting to get a prescription and I'm always at Walmart buying new strips (in CA you need a prescription to buy more than 30 syringes at a time). I started out with the BD syringes and always had air bubbles. With the ReliOn, I maybe get one microscopic air bubble every once in a great while and usually it's because I'm not holding the plunger down all the way. :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

The Relions are decent.

But the last batch I got, have terrible markings, making the calipers the only accurate option.

I like the Terumos much better for drawing and measuring the dose.

In all reality, Chip probably likes the shorter needle Relions better. :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

Haha! Michelangelo is an odd ball and loves his longer needles! I had a box of 100 of the short needles and he was the biggest cry-baby at every shot time till I switched back to the long ones. Poor kitty! :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

I'm using the premium Terumos with calipers to accurately dose the basal Levemir.

And I'm using up the Relions for the bolus beads of Humulin N, just practicing the beads for every shot.

I waste plenty of NPH calibrating each syringe for the bolus bead, but I will never use the entire vial anyway.
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

And Chip doesn't really like his Levemir shot. :o

But back to the increase. I think there is room for the full quarter unit increase.

However if you have to leave him much, without as many spot checks, the *fatten* might make more sense for now.
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

Kay

Well done you for shooting!

Couple thoughts:

I, too, think a .25u increase would be a good idea. Just be sure you keep monitoring closely. Sometimes they just need a little kick start and then down they come.

The advantage to dosing with calipers is that it takes the syringe inaccuracy out of the equation. The accuracy from syringe to syringe can vary up to almost .5u. I've heard from several members that the zero line on the Relions is often very off from syringe to syringe. It's the same thing with the Monoject and Terumos. By using the calipers, it doesn't matter how inaccurately the syringes are marked.

I used a micropipettor to measure doses and I even found that on the same syringe, there was a variation between 1.5u and 1u and 1u and .5u. In some syringes, it was alot.
 
Re: 3/17 Michelangelo AMPS 126, +6/137, PMPS 263

KPassa said:
Sorry, I meant I'd checked out Marje's post on the calipers, but the biggest pain for me is having to bring them out every time I need to give a shot and have to make sure I have it lined up properly every time. I found it easier and faster for me using the twist method where a big drop is .1 and a small drop is .05.
Do you have calipers already? I think it is easier with the Terumos.

The reason I practice with each individual syringe for every bolus bead is because I only have one pair of calipers and I leave them set for the Levemir dose. The other thing is when doing single beads, it's important to get a good bead, and get that correct bead in the cat every time. This is where syringe variance can wreck even more chaos. So I practice the bead at least 10 times before every bolus shot. Fortunately with Chip the bolus is relatively infrequent. For a more frequent shot, I'd definitely want to use calipers. Much quicker for me than eyeballing it. And as Marje said, certainly more accurate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top