3/17 Mary Grace AMPS 219 +2 191 PMPS 218+2217+4.75 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
Happy Monday! The weekend always goes by so quickly...

Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115530

Mary is purry, happy, poo seems better and not so clay like and soft, fur coat looks great. Hope she has a nice blue surf today while I am at work. Mr greenie is welcome to show up but just a hint of a visit please!!

Hope everyone has a wonderful day.

Edited, I gave her 1 tsp of hc at 4.75 bs was 66. Maybe I shouldn't have?
69 @ +5.25
 
Re: 3/17 Mary Grace AMPS 219 +2 191


We love to read good poo reports!

Anne
 

Attachments

  • blue cat surfing.jpg
    blue cat surfing.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 226
Re: 3/17 Mary Grace AMPS 219 +2 191

HI guys .. sounds like all is well in mary grace's world .. just what we like to see! Well, that and some nice :mrgreen: :mrgreen: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/17 Mary Grace AMPS 219 +2 191

Hi Devon and Anne. Thanks for the visits! I love the surfing cat pic, Anne! I hope you both are enjoying your Monday. It is snowing here, again, we are not used to this kind of long drawn out winter!!

Good news, Mary Grace's vet called with her lab reports, all good she said, and she may tend to think that she might have one of the high dose conditions (ha!) She is going to consult with two other vets tomorrow and get their opinions on why they think she is so insulin resistance. She said she still think it may be the somlygi(sp) effect. I told her I didn't think so, but couldn't explain why I thought that. She said we could back off the insulin and decrease by half (take down from 10 units to 5 units) and if its the somlgi effect she would be able to see that, but then she would worry about keytones. I told her in no way would I decrease her like that and that when she consults with the other vets to please all look at the Lantus tight protocol sheets I had printed for them. I told her about Mary having numbers in the 60's Saturday night and she said that they don't really like cats to go below 80. I said again, I am following a protocol that gives her the best chance of going off the insulin. She said she does have teeth issues, probably no extractions needed but a good cleaning. Nonetheless, we didn't talk any money issues over what they wanted to charge for the MSU tests, it isn't this vet, as she told me on Saturday, it isn't her decision, she is just an employee there. Her T4 is in the grey zone and she wonders if that may have something to do with her needing more insulin and again, will consult with the senior vets tomorrow. She said she may want to give the thyroid medicine to see if that helps. From what I have read on other condos, thyroid medicine seems just as dangerous as insulin. ? I know this is kinda rambling, but I am at work, trying to do this quickly.
Anyway, I have copies of her labs but can anyone interpret it to let me know how what all this language really means? She said good, but when I look at some of the reference ranges it doesn't look so "good" to me.
Thanks cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/17 Mary Grace AMPS 219 +2 191

I don't know about the lab reports, but I hope they really are good. It's great she's happy & purry & having good poo & her fur is looking better. :-D
 
If you have time, at some point you'll probably want to put her labs onto a new tab on her spreadsheet. you can copy the columns in punkin's that lists what the test is and what the reference range is. you'll probably have to tweak the ref ranges because they vary from lab to lab, but it will save you some typing.

What do you mean about the T4 being in a gray area? Does it lean towards hyperactive? that's not uncommon here and several people have experience with it. punkin had hypothyroid (low) but that is very unusual in a cat that hasn't been radiated, like punkin got for the acro.

we can help you figure out the labs when you post them.

the reason you KNOW that she doesn't have Somogyii, is

#1, that hasn't even been proven to exist. Sienne has done a lot of research on it and the original study was done on just a few people in the 1920's, i believe. She can tell you the scoop about it - send her a pm.

#2, you know she is at a good dose because you have taken her up the dosing scale systematically, in appropriate increments, following the ONLY protocol for taking care of a diabetic cat that has been published in a professional journal. you have tested her multiple times a day for 6 months now and her blood sugar isn't a mystery to you because you've got it documented.

*sigh*

how annoying that you are meeting such resistance.

just fyi, you don't need them to help you with most of the high dose condition issues. they just need to humor you when you ask them to do something. we can help you with knowing what to ask.
 
i forgot to answer you about the 66/hc. got so caught up in my indignation for you! :lol:

i think that was fine to do. you used it as insurance. that's fine.

Perhaps you could try to figure out a way to tactfully say to them that these high dose conditions are unusual and you don't expect them to be experts on it. You have access to expert information. What you need is for them to be willing to help you as you learn things and share it with the vet.

I'm not sure what all documents you have, but there are a lot floating about. I know Wendy gave you some. When we know what MG has, then we can compile the relevant docs so you have as complete of info as we can pull together.

the iaa tests are run whenever the blood arrives at MSU. the acro tests are run on wednesdays and the results are available on the following friday. your vet has to retrieve the test results. i didn't know that and kept waiting, calling the vet, blah blah, and it turned out MSU didn't automatically fax the results. i don't know how they come now, but just wanted to let you know about it. If they sent it overnight mail you might know all of it by friday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top