Re: 3/17 Mary Grace AMPS 219 +2 191
Hi Devon and Anne. Thanks for the visits! I love the surfing cat pic, Anne! I hope you both are enjoying your Monday. It is snowing here, again, we are not used to this kind of long drawn out winter!!
Good news, Mary Grace's vet called with her lab reports, all good she said, and she may tend to think that she might have one of the high dose conditions (ha!) She is going to consult with two other vets tomorrow and get their opinions on why they think she is so insulin resistance. She said she still think it may be the somlygi(sp) effect. I told her I didn't think so, but couldn't explain why I thought that. She said we could back off the insulin and decrease by half (take down from 10 units to 5 units) and if its the somlgi effect she would be able to see that, but then she would worry about keytones. I told her in no way would I decrease her like that and that when she consults with the other vets to please all look at the Lantus tight protocol sheets I had printed for them. I told her about Mary having numbers in the 60's Saturday night and she said that they don't really like cats to go below 80. I said again, I am following a protocol that gives her the best chance of going off the insulin. She said she does have teeth issues, probably no extractions needed but a good cleaning. Nonetheless, we didn't talk any money issues over what they wanted to charge for the MSU tests, it isn't this vet, as she told me on Saturday, it isn't her decision, she is just an employee there. Her T4 is in the grey zone and she wonders if that may have something to do with her needing more insulin and again, will consult with the senior vets tomorrow. She said she may want to give the thyroid medicine to see if that helps. From what I have read on other condos, thyroid medicine seems just as dangerous as insulin. ? I know this is kinda rambling, but I am at work, trying to do this quickly.
Anyway, I have copies of her labs but can anyone interpret it to let me know how what all this language really means? She said good, but when I look at some of the reference ranges it doesn't look so "good" to me.
Thanks cat_pet_icon