3/17, Falafel, AMPS 217 PMPS 137 +2 113 +3 72 +4 100

thornmallow__

Member Since 2024
Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-16-falafel-amps-228-6-25-149-poop-watch.287790/

Gave more Miralax and pumpkin this morning bc still no poop. She looks so good otherwise (behavior wise and appetite wise), but it's always something, isn't it?

Based on the limited data I have so far, I think Lantus doesn't really start kicking in for Falafel til +3... also was happy/surprised by the dark green last night, but I think that was due to a dose increase (AMPS was at 6:45 while PMPS was at 6:15). Seems like we're sitting happy at the 0.25U though :)

Tomorrow I go back to work in the office. Will be my first time leaving Falafel alone since the DX. I'm so nervous and I hope she eats and isn't too sad while I'm gone!!
 
but I think that was due to a dose increase (AMPS was at 6:45 while PMPS was at 6:15
1/2 hour won't make that much difference. i am also a little worried there weren't any tests after or even before that 84 to make sure she didn't go lower. When following SLGS, you would reduce to 0.1 units because she went under 90.
 
@thornmallow__
Here this might help shooting the 0.1 units tonight
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
1/2 hour won't make that much difference. i am also a little worried there weren't any tests after or even before that 84 to make sure she didn't go lower. When following SLGS, you would reduce to 0.1 units because she went under 90.
Oh no… okay. She didn’t have any hypo symptoms that I could see, but it didn’t occur to me that she could have gone lower. Last night I completely crapped out on testing due to some other stuff happening and all I managed to grab was +6.

This morning I shot the regular 0.25 and the +6 I got seemed more normal. I would still reduce? (Haven’t been able to get a load of tests for this morning cycle, either so I know we’re working with limited data.)

Edit: Okay ignore my earlier q. She is at 110 at +6.75 so I definitely should have reduced (and been testing more, ugh).

Also… she pooped!!! A little. But we got something!

@Jason - Kona's Dad I will be buying that Weruva Pumpkin stuff you recommended, let’s see how that goes.
 
Last edited:
PMPS is 137 (30 mins ago was 131, so relatively flat but slowly rising).

I decided I’m going to shoot the 0.1U and monitor closely.
 
Confirming this is 0.1U?

Looks pretty good to me, nice PMPS I would try and get another test @+3, and @+6 to see how low she goes and add then to your Title as well.
Z Is there a reason you are not starting with the AMPS BG number and the test of the tests to your Title, you can then still add with PMPS BG numbers there
I see you are going back to work tomorrow
What time will you be testing Falafel?
Will you then be able to get a +2 or a +3 after that before you head out the door?
Do you have an auto feeder so she can have some snacks while you're gone?
What time will you walk in the door after you get out of work
@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
The Pumpkin Patch Up is just pumpkin puree. A can of pumpkin puree (not pie filling) from the supermarket will work just the same and costs less. Plus you can freeze the extra puree in ice cube trays and then put the cubes into a freezer bag to use later.
Hi
Z has been giving miralax and pumpkin for awhile since 3/15
Flafel hasn't pooped :(
 
Looks pretty good to me, nice PMPS I would try and get another test @+3, and @+6 to see how low she goes and add then to your Title as well.
Z Is there a reason you are not starting with the AMPS BG number and the test of the tests to your Title, you can then still add with PMPS BG numbers there
I see you are going back to work tomorrow
What time will you be testing Falafel?
Will you then be able to get a +2 or a +3 after that before you head out the door?
Do you have an auto feeder so she can have some snacks while you're gone?
What time will you walk in the door after you get out of work
@thornmallow__

Any poop yet?
Did you increase the miralax yet?
Just want to be sure you are giving
100% Pure Pumpkin in a can, any brand .It is just pumpkin, no seasonings or anything added. NOT PUMPKIN PIE FILLING
Thanks Diane. I will add the AMPS stuff, I thought once we hit PM we should remove the AMPS stuff for some reason...
I will be able to test at +3 tonight for sure, hopefully I can make it to +6.

I will be testing Falafel tomorrow at 6:15am, and then I can get a +2 test in before I leave for work. I have an auto feeder set up so she can eat while I'm out, and actually I got lucky because tomorrow my brother will be home and can keep an eye on her for me. (He is not comfortable testing, but can at least make sure she eats and monitor for symptoms.)

Once I get out of work I should be able to get home right around 6:15pm so I will need to test, feed, shoot right when I walk in.

@Diane Tyler's Mom Actually Falafel did manage to poop today! It wasn't perfect, but I'm so happy she was able to pass something. I took a picture to show the vet lol.

I upped the Miralax to 1/2 tsp 2x instead of 1/4 tsp that I gave yesterday, so I will keep doing that tomorrow. I am also giving a few tsp of pumpkin baby food 2x (100% organic pumpkin, nothing else). Good tip on the puree, @squeem3... I cancelled my order and will stick with the baby food for now since it's cheaper.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Diane. I will add the AMPS stuff, I thought once we hit PM we should remove the AMPS stuff for some reason...
I will be able to test at +3 tonight for sure, hopefully I can make it to +6.

I will be testing Falafel tomorrow at 6:15am, and then I can get a +2 test in before I leave for work. I have an auto feeder set up so she can eat while I'm out, and actually I got lucky because tomorrow my brother will be home and can keep an eye on her for me. (He is not comfortable testing, but can at least make sure she eats and monitor for symptoms.)

Once I get out of work I should be able to get home right around 6:15pm so I will need to test, feed, shoot right when I walk in.

@Diane Tyler's Mom Actually Falafel did manage to poop today! It wasn't perfect, but I'm so happy she was able to pass something. I took a picture to show the vet lol.



I upped the Miralax to 1/2 tsp 2x instead of 1/4 tsp that I gave yesterday, so I will keep doing that tomorrow. I am also giving a few tsp of pumpkin baby food 2x (100% organic pumpkin, nothing else). Good tip on the puree, @squeem3... I cancelled my order and will stick with the baby food for now since it's cheaper.
Sounds good Z
I was just going to ask you is she pooped yet
Well I'm glad she pooped some
Instead of buying the pumpkin baby food
Get this I guess you might have to add a little water to, you probably hpget more for your money instead of buying the baby food
GUEST_aba9c871-206d-414a-b387-e14027009126


Like @squeem3 said
Plus you can freeze the extra puree in ice cube trays and then put the cubes into a freezer bag to use later.

Elise (tiffemax) also said on your post from 3/15
You can give pumpkin daily, even when he has pooped. You can also give it twice a day.

@thornmallow__
 
Last edited:
Thanks Diane.

I will be staying up with HC and MC ready just in case. She's at 113 at +2. I guess pumpkin will be part of our regular routine now, maybe I'll revisit once she starts going regularly. Manifesting the regular pooping schedule!!
 
Okay at +4 100, is it safe for me to sleep now?

Also tomorrow I'm thinking I'll either skip the shot for my peace of mind, or go down to 1 drop.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top