3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70, +5 74

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113

i think if you can banish all the evil crunchies, you're headed you know where. just saying. ;-) :mrgreen: :lol: he's gotten rid of the carbs from yesterday and is looking fabulous this morning!

have you seen the OTJ condos for Sam Siam (today) and Atticus from a couple of weeks ago? mikey is starting the OTJ countdown today. newly diagnosed kitties are the easiest to get their pancreas working again if you dive right into the TR protocol.

don't get scared of these numbers! a non-diabetic cat will have numbers all under 120 - mostly 50-100. that's your goal! he is willingly going exactly where you want him to be!

if you see a number under 50, just pop open a can of high carb food, squeeze out about a teaspoon of the gravy for Elie to scarf down, and post here for help. we'll hold your hand - it's not hard at all. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104

+1 104

@libby and lucy - THANKS!! us too. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

@julie and punkin - We hope so too. I've been checking out the OTJ posts...very inspiring. He seems to be responding really well in terms of energy and numbers now that we aren't giving him too much. We hope to get to OTJ too! We still get a bit scared to shoot low. We did this morning. This is a new low shoot for us. +1 104. He's still not a very hungry cat these days, and has trouble eating off the ground (possible due to neuropathy?). So I feel like i'm force feeding him at times. ;-)

We debated on whether to shoot him this morning. I think my hubby gave him at .5 skinny. But we decided to be brave...we go to the vet in a few hours so they have karo if needed I'm sure :lol:

Now Elie...lets have a nice blue/green surf today...okies? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104

the interesting thing is that you get an entirely different game when you're shooting lower numbers like this. it's like the higher the starting number the bigger the drop. when you're shooting a lower number, like in the 70's, the cat's BG might not hardly move 10 points. i've seen this over and over again.

be prepared for your vet to faint at these numbers. i can't remember what you said about your vet's attitude about hometesting, but most vets don't want your cat's BG to get below 100 or 150. they get freaked out entirely by shooting something under 100. you'll have to use that Rand/Roomp protocol as your proof that shooting low works and is safe as long as the cat is being monitored. the risk comes if they are not being tested - which many people aren't willing to do.

if you end up having that conversation with the vet, you might have to remind him/her that you're using a human meter, which reads 30 points lower than one calibrated for cats (the alpha trak).
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104

Our vet has been fabulous and is a big supporter of home testing :mrgreen: We are very lucky to have her on our team!

I think we are having a harder time shooting these low numbers. I'm not sure about the US, but canada, normal is 4-8 mmol/l. 11 is still a decent number. We get a big nervous when he's under 4. We are learning though. Thanks for your support! Time for some ~O)
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104

thebigfuzz said:
This IS a serious mission! Whoot. Hope you got a little sleep last night. ~O)

I did get a bit last night but most of it was an accident because I slept through the alarm. Vyktor has done this for 5 out of the last 6 nights :mrgreen:

You're going to be terrified when you shoot your first green number but you just need to strap on the BOS and do it. I found that studying a lot of other spreadsheets helped me with it. You can see the difference in the results...
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104

Hoping Vyktor has a good day.

Last night at midnight was the first time Elie was really interested in food and I didn't have to chase him around to eat! :lol: :lol:

This morning, he doesn't really want more than 1/8 can, but we are making him! Hopefully he has some greens and poops today too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88

+4 88 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Right after the vet and the 5 min walk home in his carrier!

All good news from the vet...keep going cuz we r on the right track!

Elie is such a cool customer at the vet...so patient.

Good Day!
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88

Funny while at the vet....she had a hard time listening to his heart cuz he was purring so loud!

He loves the attention. hehe
 

Attachments

  • Burnaby-20120317-00193 (640x480).jpg
    Burnaby-20120317-00193 (640x480).jpg
    184.8 KB · Views: 904
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88

He's gorgeous! What a sweet boy for enjoying a vet visit. :-D

His numbers are gorgeous, too, You're doing great!
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88

i understand completely about the hesitation to shoot lower numbers. i can say it, but i haven't done it either. punkin's never been in that boat. but i've seen a year of people doing it and sure wish i had the opportunity! :lol:

i want THAT game plan instead of the bouncing high numbers one. ;-) :-D

glad you've got a super vet - i was thinking you did, but it's easy to mix up people's stories and i wasn't positive. Elie is really doing great. you should feel SO good about all of your work.
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88 +8 113

+8 113

Good day for us! Good numbers, and a long family nap for all!!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88 +8 113

Great numbers!! And, it sounds like it was a great vet visit.

I don't know if you've seen this information on low pre-shot numbers. It's fine to work your way down to shooting lower numbers. Like Julie said, when you shoot low, there isn't the same kind of drop as when numbers are high. The first time you get a low pre-shot, post. There's usually someone around to lend a hand. It's a bit nerve wracking the first few times. One thing to always remember, as long as you have your meter, strips and HC food, you are in control.
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88 +8 113

Thank you for that link.

I have a feeling that we are going to get some lower pre shot numbers soon. (it was nice to have a few days of yellow mornings/evenings) I know we've only been here a week, but I finally feel like I can relax a bit the last few days... :mrgreen:

I was a pretty anxious mama while we figured out the dose/food/poop/circling thing. Big thank you to (((all of you))) for your help and encouragement!
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113 +1 104 +2 97 +4 88 +8 113

Elie had such a lovely day and he is so handsome. It's great that you have a vet who is supportive!!!

As Sienne said, there is usually someone around to walk you through low numbers. We say "shoot low to stay low" and after the first time, it's not as scary as you would think. Of course, we never shoot under 50...we actually have some new members who got so used to shooting 50s they wanted to shoot 40s :shock: No can do! :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 113

Day Recap:

AMPS 113 - .5 skinny
+2 97
+4 88
+8 113
PMPS 169 .5 skinny
+2 115

Good so far...he's been napping a lot as we cut his morning nap short for testing and the vet :)
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115

113 is the number for the day for Elie! Don't think I've seen the same number crop up three times in one day before and quite a lovely number it is :smile:
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115

Thank you :) it was actually 115 at the last +2...typo :( But pretty darn close
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70

AMPS 113 - .5 skinny
+2 97
+4 88
+8 113
PMPS 169 .5 skinny
+2 115
+4 70

Okies! Bedtime! Stayed in a great zone today :mrgreen:
Lets hope for another tomorrow :)
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70

I wouldn't go to bed yet if I were you Elie looks like he might mean business tonight, let me just check his ss
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70

I see you have fed at +4 - looks like things should be okay but if I were you I would be setting the alarm to get a +6 to be sure, he has dropped pretty quickly today. The clue to an active cycle can be a big drop at +2. If you can't set the alarm can you leave food out in case? Not sure if you have other furbabies there
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70

Yeah, he might lol.

I gave him an extra 2 tbsp at +2 and then he gladly ate the 1/4 can at +4, so I'm hoping we have enough post shot chaser food in him to keep him normal tonight.

We have a skinny .5 at both AM and PM shots today, and are thinking of reducing a bit more tomorrow, depending on what happens overnight. What do you think?

I'll do a +5 in a bit.
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70

I think you're following TR - if so don't reduce unless he earns it by going under 50.
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70

I have to take a little nap - do you have the handling low numbers data there, if not it is in the stickies at the top of the forum.

Basically if you get a number under 50 feed a couple of tsp of HC and retest in 20-30 mins depending on how far under 50 it is. After the HC test again in 20-30 mins. If still under 50 do the same again. You don't want to stop doing this until you have rising numbers that are not food influenced. My rule (and others have their own variations) is to keep testing for 2 hrs after the last HC. I will be up again by then for Vyktor's shot so I will check in on you then.

Even if +5 is okay I would still be keen on you getting a +6 tonight, remember the +5 will be food influenced from the +4 feeding
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70, +5

momma's sorry Elie for waking you from such a great sleep cat_pet_icon

Hehe...+5 74

You think he's ok for the night?
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70, +5

I think we cross posted - see my post above about the food influence. I would get a +6 to be safe.
 
Re: 3/17 Elie AMPS 113+4 88 +8 113 PMPS 169 +2 115 +4 70, +5

Okies...go have a nap...it is much deserved!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top