3/17 Buddys amps 266,+6~266, DOSE Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
+10~246
can someone please look at his SS and let me know if you have any idea as to what i should do?
his #'s have not been this high since diagnosis ohmygod_smile .
New vile, that delivery should be good.
i'm at a loss-go up or down in doseage -help much appreciated.
 
Re: 3/17 Buddys amps 266,+^~266 EYES Please

Marci, I'm not a good interpreter of spreadsheets, so mostly I'm just bumping your post. But I see you're feeding Fancy Feast. Some of us have noticed that kitties are having higher BGs with the new-label cans. Buddy is significantly higher, so that may be irrelevant, but I thought it was worth mentioning. Maybe you could try a different food.

How is the WCR? Any changes in behavior? Any chance Buddy doesn't feel well?
 
Re: 3/17 Buddys amps 266,+^~266 EYES Please

NO fancy feast for Buddy -only raw rabbit, where did you see FF?
WCr is good ,no changes which i why im so confused
 
Re: 3/17 Buddys amps 266,+6~266 EYES Please

any latest numbers Marci? How long til your PMPS?

for tonight could you grab a +3 if possible? just to fill in that spotcheck.
 
Re: 3/17 Buddys amps 266,+6~266 EYES Please

Oh, sorry, Marcy, I thought I saw it in your records.

So eating habits are consistent? Not getting into any illegal food? LB habits?
 
Re: 3/17 Buddys amps 266,+6~266 EYES Please

Hi Marci,

I ran to your condo because I didnt' know if you were afraid of the broken meter day -> not sure if you know what that is... it's flat day before action.

It looks like Buddy could use and increase because he's been on this dose since March 7 and despite the new vial.... IMO if there would have been something to see you would have seen it.

Pls do not take only my opinion into consideration. Wait for others to chime in.
However, if you change the word EYES PLS for Dose maybe a little helper might stop in and sound a chime :lol: What do you think?
 
not sure i get it...so if buddy is running a high flat #, which he is,
i should stay at this dose hoping action will follow?
 
Sometimes after the broken meter day, yes, the next cycle is an action cycle. However, it's not pure science - or if it is I can't explain it.
Tizon did that to me one day and I was warned and it was true... I can't say for certain that's what Buddy is working on. IMO, flat or not flat today, I'm of the opinion that an increase should be considered. However... I recommend you hang tight on this dose until someone else confirms my suggestion.
 
sounds good , thanks-how long was Tizon running flat before action?
i just dont get what happened.. for no reason he lost his blue and green!
possible lev stopped working? maybe i should switch to PZI or lantus?
 
Tizon was flat only for 1 cycle - that I can recall but he drove me nearly insane!

I hear your frustration, but don't give up on Levemir yet.... let's have Buddy's dose tuned up.
 
I would give Buddy an increase to 1.25 to try to break through this. Sometimes a flat yellow cycle does lead to action the next cycle, but I think you have room. Just be sure to get a before bed test just in case.
 
Gabby does the flat yellow for a cycle or two before there being a spurt of action. I agree with Libby -- I think there's room to increase Buddy's dose.
 
Hey Libby-hi there!
i gave him 1.25u last week for 2 or 3 cycles and he went higher, i' should do it again and see?
.was wondering if he getting too much? last month he was green on .25u
a before bed would be +1,is that what i should do?
his +10 was 245
thanks everyone
 
The other choice is to do a full curve over a couple of days to see what is going on. You don't have many early cycle spot checks so it's possible that he has dropped lower and the 200's are bounces.
 
well, if he were my cat I would probably increase the dose and THEN do a curve, because I wouldn't want him to get too used to higher numbers. Not that the numbers are too high, but he has been blue/green for so long that I would want to get him back there. Then do the curve just in case his patterns have changed and the low numbers are hiding in places you're not expecting them. :smile:
 
A curve is usually every two hours, if you follow the chart below, from the NEW TO THE GROUP stickie, it guides you along as to how your kitty is responding to insulin....I personally like a +3, +6, +9 and +11, ..
the early numbers and late numbers in a cycle are just as useful for data collecting, they're known as the "neglected spotchecks"

You could test every hour, you'll see that some beans here do (me a former testaholic :lol: now reformed) that would give you the most data of course.
I guess the next time you have a full day free to do a curve, weekend is coming up, might be a good time.


Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top