Re: 3/17 Autumn amps-271,+6-265
I say all the time that because Lantus and Levemir are
depot drugs, that I look at the patterns in "waves" of a few days at a time, rather than looking at each 12 hour cycle by itself. The patterns don't always line up with the clock, which can make them difficult to see.
What I think I am seeing is that Autumn seems to do very well on 0.5u for a while, but then she throws some really low numbers that force you to reduce the dose. The reduced dose doesn't always do as well (one of these days it will work, though! Only Autumn knows when...).
So, are those lows really because the dose is too high, or is there something else contributing? And if it was possible to learn when those lows are coming and head them off at the pass, might the dose otherwise be safe? And if so, how do you know when she REALLY needs a reduction? The thing that jumps out at me is that when Autumn does land in the 30s, she stays low for a LONG time. I'm sure the fact that she hasn't hit nadir yet contributes, but it bears notice. You don't want to have her hitting 30s if you can't get her back up pretty easily.
If Autumn was my cat, I think I would try the following things (not necessarily in this order):
1. Hold the current 0.5u dose for at least 6 cycles. If she sees any blue or green, hold it longer. I would probably aim for 8-10 cycles before increasing if she sees blue/green, just to be sure we've seen all the action that dose is going to give us. But if she doesn't start seeing good numbers, increase the dose. Obviously if she hits 30s, you'll have to reduce the dose and go to #3 below.
2. Try to learn how to predict when she is going to head for the basement. It looks like those extreme lows often come when she has a bounce clearing. So maybe if she has a bounce clearing, you can feed differently in that cycle to try to prevent her from going so low. For example, on 3/9 she was in the 40s at AMPS, bounced to at least 272 by the PM cycle, then (probably) came down all night and was still dropping into AMPS on 3/10. Then she just kept on dropping, and at around +4 the insulin kicked in and added even more momentum to that drop. Jojo used to use the analogy of a rock rolling down the hill, picking up speed as it went. 1/28-1/29 looks similar. Some other days don't fit that pattern, so there may be another pattern that we still need to find.
Maybe getting a +4 on days when you think a bounce is clearing would help you see that she is dropping fast, then you can feed a snack to put on the brakes. If the extreme lows are really coming mostly from the momentum of a bounce clearing at the same time the insulin onsets, then it MIGHT be that the dose is not actually too high on all the other days, if you can just intervene on those days. The trick is in figuring out when those days will be.
3. Next time you reduce the dose, hold the new dose at least 6 cycles (8-10 if she is seeing blue/green) even if the overall pattern is high. I see little hints that a lower dose might end up being good for Autumn, but usually you don't hold the reduced doses long enough to see for sure. I'm not suggesting that you reduce the dose right now. Sometimes going up helps them go back down again, so giving a few days of the 0.5u dose might help kick-start her progress again.
Once we are a little more tuned in to where Autumn's good dose might be, then it might be useful to talk about strategically feeding the curve. I don't mean micro-managing meals, I just mean figuring out whether there might be times in Autumn's normal cycle when a little snack might help level her out. Lev cycles tend to run later than Lantus cycles, so maybe saving a couple tsp of food for +7 or +8 might help prop up her nadir. That is something to experiment with.
My gut says that for right now, Autumn probably needs the slightly higher dose to help her bring down the high numbers. The goal would be to try to prevent those low numbers so you'll be able to keep her at the higher dose long enough to allow her to flatten out (without getting too crazy about it, if you're working too hard to keep the numbers from tanking then the dose is too high). Then when she starts getting reductions, hopefully they will stick. We'll see, sometimes the cats have completely different ideas. :lol: