3/16 update BaileyUK AMPS 272 (15.1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Baileys bg last test before I went to bed was at +6

3/15 +6 227 (12.6)
3/16 AMPS. 272 (15.1)

I think we got off lucky,I was expecting a higher reading this morning! I did the half hour adjustment so he will be back to normal times tomorrow AMPS

Julie,Dyana & SIenne,a big thankyou for watching over us last night,you are a remarkable groupe of ladies,we would be lost without you all,many many thanks.

I will post with his readings as I get them through the day.Have you any thoughts looking at his ss as to his progress in the last month?

Diane x
 
I think he's doing pretty good. You want to keep striving for those nice greens and low blues.

More mid-cycle night time tests would show us more, but I know you have work issues. On the weekends when you can sleep in the next morning, maybe you could set an alarm to get some of those late night tests? Keep doing the before bed tests, and try to get a curve in during the day when you have a day off from work.

Bailey did great last night. :mrgreen: and so did you. Two days in a row of greens :thumbup
 
Thank you Julie & Dyana for your reply
If I can explain where I would like Bailey to be,It would be unrealistic of me to try to pull Baileys numbers down too low as I cannot sustain the TR testing that many of you achieve,Bailey has changed in his attitude towards me since I started bg testing,he doesn't want to interact with me any more,doesn't want to be picked up,or brushed,all of which he enjoyed before bg testing started,it's as though he has lost his trust ,all of this is very upsetting and stressful for both of us.
So I have to think about his quality of life,I have dedicated the last year to looking after B and this will continue,I would move heaven and earth for him,but I have to find a balance that suits us both,still trying to keep him under renal threshold.
I have been pleased with his ss numbers over the past month,if I could keep him in the blues,with a sprinkling of high greens,and low yellows that would be wonderful,but I know this illness more often than not doesn't go to plan!!
On those lines does anyone have any thoughts?
Many thanks, Diane
 
Diane --

Do you give Bailey treats whenever you test? It may help your relationship with Bailey if you are giving a reward at the time of testing so the test is associated with something good. I test a fair amount and Gabby is pretty good about it. Some of the behavior change you noted may be a matter of Bailey not feeling good as a result of the diabetes.

Keeping a cat below renal threshold is a very reasonable goal. It's what I want for Gabby. However, the chances for Gabby to go into remission are slim given the length of time she's been diabetic. There is a good chance that a newly diagnosed cat can reach remission by following the TR protocol. I'm not trying to get you to change your goals for Bailey but just pointing out the probabilities. That said, with TR, it's asked that you test a minimum of 4 times per day with the exception if you are needing to steer the numbers to keep your kitty safe. What this would mean is getting one test during the PM cycle on a regular basis. This is pretty much the same with the alternative approach to dosing -- Start Low Go Slow (SLGS). You may want to take a look at the instructions I linked. You may find that it fits your goals. No matter which approach to dosing you use, it's still important to get enough tests to make sure Bailey is in safe numbers.
 
Good morning Diane ~O)
I'm sorry to hear you feel Bailey is a bit off with you lately. That must be so emotionally difficult for you. But I definitely agree that the basic testing MUST be done, and looking at your ss Bailey is being tested about three times a day, and missing the before bed test. This amount is probably a bare minimum no matter which route you choose, whether it's TR or SLGS. Sienne also suggested treats at test times (a MUST).
I was thinking about the lessened interaction that Bailey will have with you in regards to petting and brushing. What about rebuilding the relationship through play?. Maybe a less hands on interaction time will help Bailey loosen up again?

Sending you huge hugs :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I know how difficult this all is. FD is a jerk of a thing.
 
Re: 3/16 update BaileyUK AMPS 272 (15.1) +5 166

Sienne & Kim,thanks for your replies.
Bailey is given plenty of treats before each test,lots of prawns,freeze dried chicken,or maybe his favourite ham is always on the treat menu!! As for playing,he was never a playful boy even when young,we do try but he isn't interested.
He has had FD for 14 months now,he was on Caninsulin for the first 9 months,with very poor control,his ss charts his progress from the time he started on Lantus,as you can see there is not a lot of consistency in his numbers,so it is unrealistic to think he could ever get OTJ,we are happy with the numbers he has been getting for the last 4 weeks,and if he can maintain similar maybe this is as good as he will get without too much testing,and keeping him in safe numbers.
We would very much like to stay with you on TR ,are you saying it is not possible as we don't test enough?
Hope you are all having a peaceful weekend.

Diane
 
You can stay on this forum whichever method TR or SLGS you choose. If you choose SLGS, just add "Using SLGS" to your signature please, so others trying to help you will know. ;-)
 
I have to agree with Sienne and everyone and DON'T loose hope yet..........I know Davidson was a totally different cat and I had no idea why and then when he got the DX I still couldn't believe he could change so much. I guess it's like us - the last thing we want to do when sick is to socialize with anyone and we have a voice, out kitties don't so trying figure them out is trying at best. I've been working from home well before I got Harley & Davidson and worked hard for years for them to establish a vocabulary and understanding where we could communicate. Most cannot believe it, but they are trained fairly well and it can be fun to test them in front of others. Yes, ECID and for that reason you need to pay close attention to them so that in some way they will tell you what they need.

I'm lucky that Davidson has worked well with the Lantus and that I'm able to be here to test him all day long. He doesn't care, and he jumps on my desk when he knows it test time. As well, he will start talking and sitting on the desk to let me know something isn't right and today he was talking up a storm and so I asked him if he wanted a test and he told me yes. Too funny, but I tested him at +3 which I have not done often (I also moved my shot time) and sure enough he was at 46 today. He knew it and wanted to tell me, so he got the MC food with gravy just to get him higher and he was happy as can be.

Be positive, GO SLOW and I know how hard it is since we all want to see positive results quickly. B is doing great and showing better numbers so keep it up and don't get discouraged.............

Shawna
 
hi diane!

Yes, Bailey does look much better the past couple of weeks. What Sienne is saying is not that you can't post here - that's absolutely ok. we have cats here that use Lantus or Levemir and who are on the Start Low Go Slow protocol as well as the Tight Regulation protocol.

What she and Dyana are saying is what you discovered last night. Cats can be fine on a dose, then sometimes they seem to settle into it, and what was just right before can become too much. We know from experience with a zillion diabetic cats that most cats go lower at night. They're just talking about the basics of keeping a diabetic cat safe. It's all about concern for keeping Bailey safe overnight.

But if you can't get up to test, that's the way it is. Keeping him a little higher is the best route in that case.

I'm surprised he didn't bounce from last night - that might indicate that he's probably been spending more time in the blues and greens than we knew.

He's looking great today! Nice recovery, Bailey!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top