3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 ...+6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=369 +4=408

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Morning, everyone. ~O) Back in beautiful blue early today. Maybe Star was bouncing after that 292. We'll see how his numbers are for the next six cycles. Holding his dose at 1.75 for now. Optimistic. :smile: Also noted a one pound weight loss. One down, two or three to go!

Yikes! At the +6 check BG is 45. Second check, with larger sample: 49. Giving high carb food for lunch. No other symptoms of hypo. Star went into hiding about an hour an a half ago when the doorbell rang, and he's been down in the cold basement since then. Will check every 15 minutes until levels have risen.

+6.25 BG=52 Rising is good. Maybe the combination of the insulin finally kicking in, 90 minutes in the cold, and being late for lunch (normally Star eats a meal at 12:30, but today I had to go find him at and feed him at 1:00) might be to blame for the crash.
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127

Paws crossed for a nice green cycle today.
thumb_100_137_20121114072107328.jpg
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127

Hi Stella, me oh my Star! What a purr-T blue start to your day :RAHCAT Hi Phyllis! So glad to see you didn't increase. Looks like your sweet sugar-cat may very likely have decided to clear a bounce. Do try to get a test in within the next few hours and give us an update? You are doing such a great job btw !!!
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45

You're doing the right thing to give him a little HC, but make it just a little bit, like a teaspoon or two.
You don't want him to be too full, in case you have to feed him more later, you want him to be hungry and eat if needed.

Next dose is 1.50. Congratulations!
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45

Thanks, Dyana. I will be careful with the food and reduce his dose tonight. Whew! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45

I found this added to your first post of the day:
Yikes! At the +6 check BG is 45. Second check, with larger sample: 49. Giving high carb food for lunch. No other symptoms of hypo. Star went into hiding about an hour an a half ago when the doorbell rang, and he's been down in the cold basement since then. Will check every 15 minutes until levels have risen.

+6.25 BG=52 Rising is good. Maybe the combination of the insulin finally kicking in, 90 minutes in the cold, and being late for lunch (normally Star eats a meal at 12:30, but today I had to go find him at and feed him at 1:00) might be to blame for the crash.

Most of us don't go back and re-read the top post again, once we've read it the first time. Please don't Edit your first post and add more information there, but do a Reply to the thread instead. That will bump your thread (condo) to the top of the page, and anyone who has already read part of your condo, can click on First unread post to see what the latest and greatest is.
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45

Time for another test? HC can wear off, so please test again and make sure Star is still rising.

If he is, I think you can take the 911 off, and just continue to test, and let us know what number he's at by Editing the Subject Line in your first post, and then adding a Reply to your condo.
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96

Last test=96. Looks like we might be out of the woods. Will check again in an hour to be sure. Star seems fine, if a little annoyed at all the ear pricking.
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96

No Problem :smile:

Now that he's risen, I think you can stop giving HC and test again in 30 minutes.
You're doing a great job. How are you feeling?
 
Re: 3/16 Newbie Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96 +8=191

At +8 BG is 191. All food was removed after he ate earlier, and Star has been napping in front of the heating vent, his usual spot on cold days, since lunchtime. We both came through fine--I'm glad I was prepared and was home all day. :shock:
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=3

Back up to 369 at dinner time. Reduced insulin to 1.5 but will continue to evaluate. I really believe today's drop can be blamed on environmental factors, but what do I know. I'm just following the numbers. laptop_smiley
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=3

Great job, Star and Phyllis! :mrgreen: Those greens are a little scary at first, ok, they're a lot scary. But they do get addicting. :lol: :lol: Star is a very handsome kitty. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=3

The greens are very addicting....
In a few days or so, you'll be thinking... "hey , I want nothing but green... " :cool:
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=3

Thanks, Liz and Rhiannon! Yes, I'm eagerly awaiting the day when there's nothing but green on Star's spreadsheet! A more gradual decline would cause less anxiety, at least for me--Star seems oblivious!

Rhiannon, I hope Shadow is feeling better. Furry hugs to you both. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 +6.25=52 +6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=3

Great job today. I'm glad Dyana was around to lend a hand/support.

One suggestion for future reference: The next time Star's numbers warrant a dose reduction, if he has bounced by shot time, you can shoot the old dose in order to help with the bouncy numbers.

And, a couple of observations...

I wouldn't call this a "crash." Whether a number is a crash mostly depends on how your kitty is reacting. These are simply low numbers.

This was the lowest number you've shot. For future reference, whenever you're shooting low, it's good to get a +1 and +2 test. If either of these numbers are appreciably lower than your pre-shot number, there's a good chance you're going to see an active cycle. I think if you'd gotten a +2, you wouldn't have been surprised by the 45.
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 ...+6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=369 +4=

Aaaaaand back up to 408 by bedtime.

So, Sienne, to be sure I understand you: you're saying that because Star's AMPS number was so much lower than usual, I should have tested him at +1 and +2 just to see what was happening? (Honestly, I didn't think of that. Last time he was in the 100's he bounced right back up again, so I was sort of expecting that, and the 45 caught me by surprise. His behavior wasn't unusual at all. Good appetite, etc. Star is just so easy going he's hard to read.) True, this wasn't a crash, it was actually in the normal range--yay!--but it was a major change for Star with no real warning, other than the 127 that I expected to be the lowest of the day. I guess that teaches me not to take any unusual number for granted, since I really don't have enough data yet to discern any kind of pattern, other than maybe bounces. :oops:

And given that his numbers came right back up (bounce?) to what is more usual for Star, depending on tomorrow's AMPS, of course, I'm inclined to go back to the 1.75 dose and keep it there until he levels out somewhat, hopefully at lower numbers (72 hours to clear the bounce . . .see, I'm learning). Is that what you're advising? Just making sure. Every time I think I've started to get a handle on this stuff, I learn how slippery it is. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16 Star AMPS=127 +6=45 ...+6.75=96 +8=191 PMPS=369 +4=

Hi Phyllis, quite the exciting day for you and Star! Congrats on the reduction. That means the reduced dose is the new dose unless you find after the bouncing is all over that he can't hold it. And just when you thought you'd seen it all, here is a great post by Marje on reductions. Yippee, more reading! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top