3/16 Simba +5 92 +7.5 88 +8.5 99 ATrak DECREASE DOSE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Simba

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Freakout
Sorry everybody. I'm such a mess.
Thanks for telling me I'm actually doing better than I think! :smile:

AMPS is 157. I'll shoot a 0.75... I'm thinking to test at +4 but what do you guys think? His ears are so difficult to prick right now, I"m amazed he let me near them.. otherwise I'd do a 3.. but please take a look at my ss and tell me what I've gotta do.

Thanks everyone,
Sarah.
 
Re: 3/16 Simba AMPS 157 A Trak.. At What Time Should I Next

Good morning Sarah...... you are doing great.
I know you don't want to hear this but normally I would tell somebody to get a +2 especially a newbie.

If you cannot get a +2 could you try for a +3?
I won't be here for your next test but many other's will. I hope you can get some rest today. :-D
 
Re:3/16 Simba AMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-letting. ad

Thanks Miriam - I'll see what he'll let me pull off.

Before, when I hit a vein by mistake it would pool a large bead of blood right away... now when I hit one on purpose it gives me a little bead - about 1microlitre. capilliaries want nothing to do with me at all. If I even THINK about going near his paws he freaks out. (we're two peas in a pod, him and I..)

Any advice on what to do about troublesome blood collection? when does it get easier? (how long does it take for the ears to 'learn' to bleed (ie grow some a larger network of capilliaries)?
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

Hi,.

Actually you don't want to be hitting the vein. It will cause scar tissue to build up rather rapidly. You want to hit between the edge of the ear and the vein.

I often use a bit of vaseline on the edge of the ear before poking. It helps the blood puddle instead of soaking into the ear fur. Then a bit of neosporin after to help with bruising too.

It should take about a week for the ear to learn to bleed. Try not to poke the same place each time too.

I hope that helps.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

Hi Sarah, you're getting some good advice here and doing a great job. I, too, sometimes have trouble getting a drop blood from Maggie. One ear bleeds better than the other. Are you warming the ear up if it's cold?
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

Sarah are you warming Simba's ears before you poke?

I probably should explain my reason for asking for a +2. It will give you a good indication if Simba is a food spiker or where he might go in the cycle. Putty does generally spike from food but when his +2 is lower or very close to his AMPS I know he will most likely drop low during that cycle. ECID so the more data you collect the better you will be at predicting where the numbers will go. Just when you get good at predicting most likely Simba will change just to keep you guessing. ;-)
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

thanks blue.. I only started to hit the vein because his ears literally would not bleed where we're supposed to poke. SIGH. I didn't want to, but I HAD to get numbers, you know?

I'll try better next time. I have started to use vaseline (I went hunting and found some in the back of the closet) He seems to like it massaged in after a long day of pricking, too. I think it was you I saw posting about it in other threads - thank you :-D

All I have here is polysporin, and it looks like it's been to about 100 summer camps. lol

I gotta lie down again. I just posted my numbers to the chart I keep for my vet - She told me not to dose last night when I called and simba was at 3.9 mmol/L Atrak (2.2 mmol/L or 40 mg/dl human meter) and he was acting funny - staggering, sniffing around, jumping at the slightest disturbance, looking freaked out - I was trying not to show him that I was f'n freaked out, but he may have been mirroring me!!!! though I certainly wasn't sniffing about). Anyway, that's why I called her and she told me not to dose - at closing time, through the vet tech - so I went with the advice I got here and shot a reduced dose. Long story short, I'm worried about her reaction. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

Hmmmm.... You've been poking Simba's ear for a week. And you want those capillaries to hurry up and grow? Have you forgotten? You're poking a cat. Did Simba ever do anything other than what he wanted?

More seriously, for some cats, one ear does bleed a bit better than the other. Have you tried both ears?
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

Hi Miriam & Ann,

I am warming the ears with a desk lamp (there are no flashlights in the house, really... REALLY sarah?? :oops: ) and massaging. I've also worn vinyl gloves the last couple times cuz I can feel my fingers getting salty and I have a feeling that's a big reason he was protesting so violently last night.

I'll do my best to get a +2 .. thanks for impressing upon me the importance. :-|

only a week for more capilliaries? c'mon simba, you can do it!! push those babies up yo ears bebe!
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 ATrak. Trouble with blood-getting. Adv

lol Sienne... I have been rotating ears and places on ears.. as soon as I think one ear or general area bleeds better than another, it proves me wrong. I haven't been able to discern if one ear bleeds better than the other.. they seem to follow Simba's lead and do whatever the hell they want to too!!!

Imma lie down till +2
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 ATrak. ok to wait till +6 or no

I was going for capilliary (like I always do, minus the last 6hrs in which I've had major problems getting blood) and must have hit a vein by mistake. BLAST!!! the good news is, I got blood.

he dipped, but he's dipped before at +2 and been ok... looking at his ss, can anyone advise me on I wait till +6 for next reading? if so you guys think I can wait, I"ll sleep till then. so tired.

Sarah

note to self: get more test strips!
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 ATrak. ok to wait till +6 or no

Hey Sarah, You're doing fine. Here's a tip for warming the ear that I learned from Celi. Get a small, baby, 100% cotton washcloth (or a small, thin 100% cotton washcloth) and a ziplock plastic bag. Dampen the washcloth and put it into the microwave for about 15 seconds. Then fold it and put it into the plastic bag. Test the bag for the proper degree of warmth on your cheek or ear. Then wrap it around Simba's ear to warm it. The plastic is nice and smooth and will soothe him. This works great on Rusty (who didn't like the roughness of the rice sock method of warming). I use a sterile gauze pad under the ear when I do the poke. This keeps my fingers off the ear and you can then wrap it around the ear after you poke and gently put pressure on it. This staunches any blood and helps prevent bruising. Try it!
p.s. Always put a little vasoline on the ear to help the blood bead up. At night, polysporin creme with pain relief will help heal the ear overnight.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 ATrak. ok to wait till +6 or no

hey sarah! good morning! well now you and I both know the reason for not hitting the vein. you're getting a lot of good information building up on your spreadsheet, so this is all going to be worth it.

is your spreadsheet showing numbers in ATrack or human meter translations?

hope you're sleeping like a baby right now!
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 ATrak. ok to wait till +6 or no

Sarah: I also have to say you are doing fine!! I think with a 112 at +2, I would try and get at least a +3 but no later than a +4; I wouldn't wait until +6 because you don't have quite enough data yet to know what he'll do between those numbers and onset can be as early as +2/+3.

Here's another idea for warming his ears. We tried the baby washcloth in the plastic bag and Gracie didn't care for it so we use a rice bag. I bought a pair of baby socks (cotton) and cut them in half and then filled the toe end with short rice grains (softer ones). Then I just took a needle and thread and whip stitched the open end closed. And I am not a seamstress...that's how easy it was. Then you just throw it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds until it's warm. It's quick, easy, and reusable.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 ATrak. ok to wait till +6 or no

Good morning Saraha. See you did make it through the night. :lol: What a beautiful AMPS. I'm glad you shot the .75 again and it seems to be agreeing w/ Simba. I agrees w/ Miriam, the +2 test can really let you know what is ahead. It gives you some time to plan things out. Simba dropped at +2 so you can look for more dropping today. Have you seen this in the new to the group stickie?
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

When those early numbers are dropping it is usually a trend for the rest of the cycle.

I'd feel safer getting a +4 since he is already dropping. Sorry. Does he sleep w/ you? I had to do regular 3:00am tests last year. Tess slept w/ us, so i brought the testing supplies to the bedroom. When the alarm went off, I sat up in bed and tested her right there turned over and went back to sleep. I never even got out of bed. :lol:
 
3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. QUESTION

Heyas,

Ann, if I had a flashlight, that's exactly what I'd do. lol. I'm using a desk lamp, but we are in the bedroom. He's much easier to test now that I'm wearing gloves. I'm also warming for a longer period of time and - not testing every 15 mins. lol. He's also super sleepy, which helps a LOT.

Thanks eveybody for your qreat advice. I will definitely try stuff!

As always, I have a question:

I need to go out to get more strips. (I have 17 strips) it takes me at least an hour, there and back. when is safest to go? Theorhetically I could shorten my trip by 30 mins or more if I called a cab. or should I call the vet's and ask them to courier them over? incidentally, I also need lancets. gd.

I read through all your posts, tytytytyty. to answer the questions I presently remember: all values here and on spreadsheet are in alphatrak values unless otherwise indicated. (and never ever on the spreadsheet. I'm confused enough already!)

I did see that lineup of times and expected bg doings... thank you so much for reposting it.

He's not interested in eating after +4 but does want out. that's what he wanted last time he started acting wonky.... will try to wake up a little here.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. QUESTION

if i were you, i'd go out after the +6, maybe +8 or so. definitely after his numbers show he is rising.

while you're out, do you have the other things you need? like do you have some higher carb kitty food with gravy you can give him if his numbers are low? I have that and the karo syrup, along with the print-outs of what to do with low numbers or if he gets hypoglycemic all in one spot.

so you're saying the SS is in Alpha Trak numbers, right?

I know you said you have old neosporin or polysporin - it does expire, so if you can, i'd also get a new tube of that and find the one that has pain relief in it. Mine is "neosporin cream with pain relief."

you're really doing great. i'm glad you got some sleep!
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. QUESTION

Nice +4! Still coming down but not too fast. :-D

I'd wait until the second half of the cycle to go out, they are usually starting to rise by then and you can feel safe. Just be sure he isn't still dropping and that you have plenty of time to get back for the shot. :-D I still always worry whenever I go out, you are not alone there.

Are you sticking w/ the .75u dose? It looks good and there shouldn't be too much left over shed effecting this cycle. You may want to put out the dose question for the experts now as they are often not here mid afternoon. The board is most active early morning and around dinner time. It helps to keep that in mind and plan ahead when you have questions.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

Hi Julie, those are all great ideas, but they add significantly to my 'away time'. I"ll have to go in two trips if I have to, getting the essentials first (lancets and strips.. and polysporin if the tiny pharmacy near the vet's has it)

and ok, I"ll wait till +8 or rise. ****ing test strips from vet's I can't even think right now when do they close and where does that fit into his cycle. GALSDKIHSADF. sorry for the swearing, call me sarah the simba sailor. IT'S ROUGH WINDS OUT THAR!

ok, you see how the tiredness has taken effect....

About Dose:
I have no idea. .075 or .... ?

one more time (sry I"m confusing): Spreadsheet Numbers Are AlphaTrak Numbers.

PS: I had to syringe feed him. About 4cc's. he's restless, which is miles apart from how he usually is. He got like this when he started to go low last night, too. Afterwhich I saw sniffing about and other symptoms I can't remember but listed in an earlier post.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. QUESTION

I know you said you have old neosporin or polysporin - it does expire, so if you can, i'd also get a new tube of that and find the one that has pain relief in it. Mine is "neosporin cream with pain relief."

I've gotten the little single use packets. I prick it w/ a lancet and can squeeze out just a touch and store the packet in an empty strip vial. (you gotta come up w/ some use for them!) Tube do expire and it's hard to get a really small amount. Too much on the ears can interfere w/ the sipping action of the strips. I use a drop about the same size as a drop of blood for testing and also add a drop of VitaminE oil (it helps heal and prevent scarring), mix them on my thumbs and massage in. I test a lot and Tess never get scarring or inflammation on her ears. This helps the blood to bead up too.

When i test I hold her ear between the thumb and forefinger of my left hand, the other 3 fingers are wrapped around her head. It helps to hold Tess still. She is sitting between my legs usually so she can't move back and holding her head like that she can't move forward either.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

test strips from vet's I can't even think right now when do they close and where does that fit into his cycle. GALSDKIHSADF.

That and the cost are really BIG reasons to use a human meter!
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

yeah. I like the way the atrak sucks up the tiniest bit of blood though.. as I get better with it, it's hard to imagine switching..

PS he ate like 3 licks of his food when sprinkled with parm. Why won't he eat around these green numbers? grrr
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

the freedom freestyle lite uses .3, just a tiny dot of blood also. it sips it up - right now the test strips are $28 US at Hocks (link above) and if you get more than $59 (I think) it's free shipping. You're gonna need a lot of test strips. i kept buying 50 at a time and finally figured out i need more. in the first 13 days we went through 100 - then i found the cheaper stuff at hocks.

any meter is relatively cheap - i think this one was $20 retail. it's the strips that get you! I've heard a lot of people here recommend the Walmart Relion - we don't have a walmart around here, but they do sound cheap.

i only put on the neosporin at night so it can heal while he sleeps. hadn't thought of putting it on during the day. might try that.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

Hi Julie, I think the freedom freestyler is the same co. that makes atrak, yeah? I don't see your link, sorry hun. I'm in canada though, I've never heard of hocks but you're right, I bet they'd ship to canada
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

The Walmart Relion sucks up the tiny blood drops also .3 ml...we really like ours.

and just for a spot of humor in your day, we call the ear-warming rig that Ella described for you
Binks' White Trash Head Gear. :lol:

seriously, though...that warm washcloth in the plastic bag is so comforting to him...
it's a cuddle moment for us everytime we test...and he happily heads for the test rug everytime he hears an alarm go off :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

sorry - i wasn't clear. the Hocks link is at the top of every page on FDMB. They get a percentage to help keep the website going - and yes, i'm pretty sure i saw people from Canada saying they had bought from Hocks.

btw, i was thinking the other thing you want to ask besides dose is how often tonight you need to test. last night that was one of your major concerns - maybe there is a post somewhere with guidelines.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

Some cats don't like to eat when they get into lower numbers. I'm glad you have a syringe so you can syringe feed if necessary!

As for the dose, I would wait to see what happens during this cycle. Simba may answer that question for you. ;-) He's looking good! You are planning on getting a +6, right?
 
3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 ATrak. DOSAGE & TIMING

oh yes. +6 is 106. I'm guessing the reason his numbers are wonky (ie, down when they should be up and up when they should be down) is cuz his body is getting used to the new dose.. yes?

I'm so gald I have you guys. my brain can't think for itself. way too few hours with eyes closed.

I"m thinking do a +8, if it's low stay, test and send a cab to get more strips and lancets (I called the vet's, they do have strips in, but I neglected to ask about lancets since the gauge they gave me last time was bigger than the ones I have now but if they have those, I'll take em!!)

At what number on a +8 (which happens in 2hrs) would it be ok to step out so I can get more than the bare necessities? say, for like an hour or so.. no more than 2hrs, I'd plan to be back for a +10.

please see spreadsheet for recap... I tried to transfer values but my brain is moving like molasses at present.

*curls up with cat and dozes*

PS: The vaseline is doing great things. LOL@Binks' white trash head gear. lol. gotta try that. lol. the light is working nicely now though, I don't know what made him so upset last night. maybe it was a combination of salty fingers, low numbers and my stress radiating through his entire world.

<3's and hugs for all
Sincerely,
Sleepyhead.
 
Re: 3/16SimbaAMPS 157 +2 112 +4 97 ATrak. DOSAGE HELP PLS?

I' look to see what your nearest all night pharmacy carries. Strips will be more expensive there, but you will know you csn get them in an emergency. Then look for good deals on line, Amazon E-Bay, etc. I just checked Hock's site
Shipping Policies
We do not ship orders Internationally.
Sorry, but ADW does! http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/and they have very good prices and if you sign up w/ mrrebates.com http://www.mrrebates.com/categories/health.asp and connect to ADW through them you get 8% cash back!
 
Re: 3/16Simba +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 ATrak. DOSAGE & TIMING que

Dear Sleephead, :lol:

You have received a ton of great advice already and you can ignore this if you like... I don't want to pile on...

For my kitty's ears I use Neosporin Ointment with pain relief. It is like Vaseline and pain relief combined so it helps two ways at the same time.
I put a small blob on his ear and then rub most of it off as I'm warming his ear. That way there is only a trace left and his ear is probably almost numb at this point.

Then I poke him. The ointment helps with beading up a blood drop and the pain relief numbs the area before I poke.
Psychologically this helps ME think it is easier for my kitty. (It may not even matter to BigMac since there aren't many nerves in a kitty's ear anyway.) :roll:
 
Re: 3/16Simba +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 ATrak. DOSAGE & TIMING que

lol on the sleepyhead! you're doing great, sarah! i like your plan for sending the cab if you need to. if you asked pretty please, maybe your vet tech would drop the supplies for you on their way home from work - especially if you tell them you can't leave Simba. I'm sure some vets would.
 
Re: 3/16Simba +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 +8 126 ATrak.

*BEAMING!* onnnnnnnne twenty siiiiiiiix makes me haaaapppppehhhhh

cuz now I can go out and get what I need to make simba feel guuuuuuuuud

You guys are amazing. Thanks CD that's an uber fine idear! I especially like your artistic combination of bold and italic it's utter magic

*dances in circles*

I'm nervous to out... and it's not the agorophobia talking...

tell me it's ok to go out?

Thanks for the links Ann! *bookmarks* and it just so happens I like very close to a 24hr pharmacy. I'll see what they have :-D
Julie, as always, you're a peach.

for everyone else that commented before and I was too groggy to respond directly, I wuvs you too!

Sarah.
 
Re: 3/16Simba +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 +8 126 ATrak. ok to step a

heehee sarah you're cute!

i hope you went out! i put the links in my sig line so i can find them. sorta like sewing your mittens onto the end of your coat. of course, i still have to remember to look at them and not just holler for help, which is my first inclination!
 
Re: 3/16Simba +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 +8 126 ATrak. ok to step a

Hi Sarah. Checkers too, likes the warm washcloth, but he doesn't like the plastic bag; the sound I guess.
I dampen a corner of a washcloth, microwave it, then scrunch it up in my hand, to distribute the moisture, to barely damp, not wet.

Then I do what Ella does, but with a clean tissue. Fold it, put behind ear for support, and your salty fingers don't touch the ear, then fold over ear to staunch blood flow afterwards.

Don't forget the treat afterwards, so Simba looks forward to the ear prick. :-D
 
Re: 3/16Simba +2 112 +4 97 +6 106 +8 126 +10 155 ATrack

Wooot - I made it home JUST in time for +10

Hey Barb :D Nice to see you! I wish Simba liked treats!! To him, french fries and doritos are treats... which of course he can't have! He has only recently been convinced that wet food is edible. (and then, only the super-yummy Royal Canin 'recovery formula'. I WILL work out a long term nutrition plan for him, but right now I'm just happy he's eating. (He stopped eating for a scary little while there, just prior to the FD diagnosis)

So I went out! YAY! I gots me some supplies:
- lancets
- extra lancets
- backup vasoline
- ploysporin with pain relief (Simba thanks you guys for that, I smoothed some into his ear prior to +10 prick and he hardly flinched).
- Ben & Jerry's for bean
- Inquired about freestyle, they have it, about $100 for 100 strips. Which is about $40 cheaper than AlphaTrack. I think someone mentioned that freestyle was bang-on 30 mg/dl's higher than ATrack, but I need to make sure. I don't want to be calibrating b/w readers and wreaking havoc on his ears forever. I didn't buy a freestyle, but I liked learning the option is there.
- Restorolax (edit! I fergotz) it's the canadian version of mirilax; to replace petromalt

annnnd I think that's it! yay me!

Julie I like your mittens - I may just have to borrow them :P
But you're so right, my first inclination is to come here for help. lol.

<3's and butterflies,
Sarah
 
Re: +3 86 What Should I Tes3/16 Simba PMPS 178t Again?

Heyas, how does he look to you? should I test again in an hour?
Using Alphatrak
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, when should I test again?

sorry, my subject edit went wonky.

I actually left him alone for awhile. He needed a good nap!
I'm just concerned about taht 86 now, I'm not sure what it means.. he ate a good bit, so I'll wait till +4 to test if I don't see him do anything weird.

Sienne looking at his ss, is it possible that his nadir is actually +3/+4? or is it too soon to tell?

I'm trying to interpret these numbers and getting nothing but a headache. lol.
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, when should I test again?

Yes definitely! That's a big drop, but nice to see him in the greens! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Ah, I just saw you got the subject straightened out.

I just checked at ADW the Freestyle strip are $27 to $29 depending on just which meter you get! :-D Meters are only $9.99.
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, ATrak -when should I test ag

A nadir at +3 or +4 is possible. However, don't get wed to a time. The nadir can shift around from cycle to cycle, let alone from day to day.
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, ATrak -when should I test ag

Hi again,
I just got my FreeStyle Lite kit (meter + 10 strips plus a box of 50 strips) from American Diabetes Wholesale (ADW) for $34.99. I also bought a box of 100 test strips for $51.99. If you order more than $100. you get free shipping. They ship extremely fast. I had my stuff in 2 days! The meter takes a very small blood sample and works great. I tested it on myself and compared it with my ReliOn Micro (Walmart) and got virtually the same number (from the same drop of blood). The FreeStyle sips the blood drop faster. Excellent product.

Have a good night tonight,

Ella
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, +4 84 ATrak

Thanks guys,

These numbers be scarin me if his nadir is later.. but if he wants to surf the green that's just fine by me!!

He's resenting the pricks again - I'm going to try to give him a couple hour's rest if I can. Will keep a close eye on him. No sleep for bean.

Thanks for the freestyle info - I'll check it out on ADW right now :D. I'm also going to sniff around and see if others have found it to read 30 on-the-nose below Atrak. I thought I saw that somewheres, but it could be my sleep deprivation playing games again.
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, +4 84, +5 92 ATrak

i'm especially glad you got the Ben & Jerry's for the bean! :lol:

i really do like the Freestyle Lite - but i don't have experience with anything else. i picked it mostly because it was one of the meters that uses the least amount of blood. whatever you switch to, i suspect you'll be happy having the same test numbers as everyone else so you can compare apples to apples.

ya did good today! you already are looking like a pro! I"ll be up for a while still, testing punkin and making sure he does ok tonight.
 
Re: 3/16 Simba PMPS 178, +3 86, +4 84, +5 92 +7.5 88 ATrak

3:30am now here. I wanted to get another number in for Simba. He's riding the green train, but low. He doesn't like low... his body is taut and his eyes are guarded, his reaction/response time is slow - he's not relaxed and perked like he is between.. I'd say 100 - 130. Imma come see you on your board luvvy

Question for dose experts:
Maybe I need another dose decrease? or is that a bad idea this early after a reduction?
 
Re: 3/16 Simba +5 92 +7.5 88 ATrak Have a Q for DOSE Experts

Hi Sarah, you are probably sleeping by now, but I wanted to check in with you.

These numbers with the AlphaTrak are getting low again. That 83 would be considered a 53 and personally I would take Simba down to the next dose since he is a newly diagnosed kitty. (Less than a year with diabetes.) 50 is the number that signals a decrease.

For three measly points, I'd say yes, this is low enough for a decrease. You have spent a lot of time trying to keep him up higher and have lost a lot of sleep. For those reasons I believe that YES, time for another decrease. It may seem too soon, but there is no absolute time frame for reducing the dose. Doses are reduced when the numbers say it is time.

New dose is 0.50u

If this doesn't hold, you can always go back to that last good dose. You and Simba should not be staying up all night every cycle trying to raise the numbers.

Good luck with your new dose! I'm sure Libby, Jill, and Sienne would tell you to try the new dose if they were awake at 4 am. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top