3/16 Sasha PMPS 348 L+1/R+1 256 L+2/R+2 212 L+3/R+3 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66255&p=721011#p721011

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYBODY!!!!!! :-D

So I just got a +11 test of 355 and a AMPS of 392...BUT i also got a ketone test in, and the strip looked a little pink, somewhere in between negative and trace ketones.
I gave him 100mls of subqs just in case.

I cant wait to get the ketone meter, it came to my aunts yesterday, I'm going to pick it up ASAP! Thank you again for that, we really need it.

He is acting normal, alot of energy, he's pretty thirsty following me to the sink so he can drink from there instead of his water bowl...that's his preference!!!

He's eating a lot of LC food, about a whole 5.5 can so far.

Ok will check back in later, have a wonderful day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392

Good morning, Tara. Do you have to go to work, today?
I posted in your 03/15 condo, that if you had to go to work, and with the trace ketones, that maybe you should increase the Lantus a little bit and leave out some higher carb food, for just in case. But, I guess you already shot the Lantus dose.

I'm glad you got the meter. I would go pick it up as soon as possible.
I'm also glad that Sasha is eating so well.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392

Morning Dyana! I just got to work now. I am going to pick up the meter from my aunts tonight. I left him out a lot of food, and he was chowing down when I left. I'm off this weekend so I will be able to moniter him more closely. Hate being a way from him, wish I could take him to work!!! :sad:
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

Hi there ~O)

Evil ketones :evil: . . .

Grab another ketone test at your earliest opportunity. Gllad the meter arrived.
How is he behaving?
Appetite still good?

Let's see what his PMPS is. He may need some R tonight.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

Those darn ketones! Glad you are getting the meter and that it is Friday. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

Hi guys .. glad that you got the meter, that will make it so much easier for you to test ketones .. Mocha also used to drink out of peter's faucet .. that's how we figured out she had diabetes .. cause it wasn't just peter's faucet she drank out of it became EVERY faucet in the house! Now sasha, let's bring these numbers back down! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

Hey Sandy :cool: ,

His appetite is great. Energy level through the roof...unfortunately I wont be able to stop home today during lunch. Busy day!!! I know, those ketones...ughhhhhhhhhh....they really sneak up grr_red... gotta tackle them before they get out of hand!!!

Hey Devon, Yeah his drinking from the sink was one of the signs, at first I thought it was cute...then I realized uh oh, no, this isnt cute...something's really wrong! Have a great weekend!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

I'm glad you got some fluids on board.

If there's any way you end up with a break in your schedule today and can get home, I'd think about running home to get a test. Ketones absolutely are evil and can creep up quickly.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

Sienne, unfortunately I'm stuck here and wont be home til 5.. I see they creep up quickly.. You're not kidding about those evil ketones. I may try to take a half day..

Melissa- I cant wait to pick up that meter!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458

Morning! I'm so glad you gave him those fluids! You are a great mom! Let's see where he I snketone wise this evening; it might not be a bad idea to give him another 50 mls and tomorrow well come up with a good plan...prolly 75 mls bid and chase those evil ketones away!

I hope he likes the smaller gauge needles.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

so I have the ketone meter and it is so AWESOME!!!! Thank you so much!!! I rushed home to gt a reading & it came back on the meter at 1.1. I know Violet and a couple of others told me that their meters rarely read 0.0... so I'm not going to freak out.... but, I'm keeping a close eye on my baby!!!

Marje, those needles are MUCH better than the 18 gauge...Thank you for them! And yes, we need to come up with a plan for those fluids!

Everyone on here has been so wonderful!

Hugs to you and your fur babies!!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

much better BG :cool:

When you get a chance, would you post the gauge of what the ketone number ranges for the meter mean?

BBL
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

Hey Sandy :cool:

The only reference to gauge it in the manual states 'If test result is higher then 8.0 the moniter will display HI, If test result is lower than .01 the moniter will diplay LO' It doesnt give you a chart... hmmmmm..... I am not sure how to actually gauge this on a cat..
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

Hi Tara,

I'm so happy to see how well you and Sasha are doing. I knew our pros would be able to help you two. You're doing an amazing job!

Hugs,

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

Thank you Melanie!!! You guys are literally life savers!!! Hugs to you and Racci!!!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

You're doing the work Tara. :-D See, I knew you could do it. You just needed guidance. Everyone here had to learn and some of us are still learning. :lol: We all learn something new from each situation and thanks to the more experienced people that guide us, our kitties do so much better.

I know Sasha is going to get through this emergency.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

Awww thank you Melanie, I'm trying but again without all of your advice, supoort and encouragement, Sasha and I would be in BIG trouble!!! But my littlle guy is in good shape..the best I've seen him in 2 weeks. I'm waging wasr against these ketones, but geez, they're rough!!!xoxo
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

Sasha&Tara said:
The only reference to gauge it in the manual states 'If test result is higher then 8.0 the moniter will display HI, If test result is lower than .01 the moniter will diplay LO' It doesnt give you a chart... hmmmmm....

Hmmmm is right. What is the brand//model of the meter?
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha + 11 355 AMPS 392 + 1 458 +7 247

Tara,

What kind of ketone meter did you get? I got a Nova Max. on mine up to 0.6 is normal, 0.6-1.5 are caution, and 1.5 to 8 are critical. Sid's lowest reading was 0.4 (yesterday and the day before) and his highest was 2.9 - that was the day I was freaking out and giving him R insulin and fluids. His urine strip the last two days was negative but on the days where he was negative to trace - a little tiny bit pink, he was 1.1 and over. The day he was 2.9, it still showed negative to trace. I agree about the SQ needles - I also use 21g needles for cats and they are so much better than the 18g!!

(Just a thought - If Sasha doesn't like the fluids or gets restless, you could consider using a 60ml or 100ml syringe - if you can find one. I do that for Sid because he gets so scared about the fluids and goes a lot faster out of the syringe and I also know exactly how much fluids he is getting. That's just a suggestion no pressure or anything. Do what works best for you and Sasha.)

I wish you all the best and you are doing an awesome job for your boy.

Lydia
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

If you are going to home to monitor tonight and have plenty of strips and HC, add a 0.25u shot of R following the Lantus .
That trace reading last night makes me nervous
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

I will be home... so I hit him with the .25 R. He's eating his low carb food like he's never eaten before. Thank God he's got an appetite. He went through 1 large can of Wellness, a 5.5 can of Merricks, and a 3 oz can of Fancy feast during the course of the day...wow
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Lydia, thank you! I just saw your post. I have the same meter. Ok, so he's at a 1.1. I just gave him his shot and .25 R.. you know, it was so hard to tell between negative and trace on those strips...I was staring at the thing this morning, and saw the faintest light pink, but it was somewhere in the middle and I had to catch it in 15 seconds...... The first time I ever used one of those strips was last week.and it was burgandy. I was horrified.
How's Sid doing now? I hope he's well!!!

Sasha is going to appreciate those 21 gauge needles from Marje... he's been a trooper with the 18 gauge, once it's in him I pet his chin and get him to relax and he stays still for me. It was actually harder for me to get the syringe of antibiotics down his throat!

Thank you so much for letting me know.

Hugs to you and Sid!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Lydia thank you!!! I was flipping through the manual and couldnt find it! :? I'm checking it out now
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Glad he is chowing down :cool:
I can't remember if it was determined that he had an infection somewhere. .
Are you able to get a look at his gums to see if thee is any redness visible?
Has he ever had a proper dental?

I believe someone recommended you put a shout out on Health for vettybean recommendations over in your neck of the woods -
If you have not already done so, please do.
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
The range for ketones is right on the foil of every ketone strip.
hidden in plain sight :razz: There you go!

You will have to be vigilant - ketones can develop very quickly.
BK went from Negative to Large within a period of 24 hours, more that once.

So glad you have the meter - it will let you know before the ketones even make it into the urine :-D
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

LOL, yes they were on this tiny piece of foil... lol, now I know!!!! Yeah he's a hungry boy. His gums look good, but he's never had a dental. I called over to another vet who does dentals, and he told me he wont touch Sasha until he's stabilized.... geez. I know these ketones are scaring me. Just like BK, one day he was great, and then look out! Not trying to have history repeat itself. This meter is great. I am going to post over in health now, see if anyone has a vet that knows anything about diabetes!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Thanks Tara! I wish the same for you and Sasha. I'm so glad you have the meter now. I love it - the ONLY draw backis that it takes a bit more blood than the glucose strip and I've wasted some of those ketone strips with not enough blood :-x
Poor Sid is such a trooper through these ear pokes.

He dropped down to 34 last night unexpectedly. He keeps me on my toes that's for sure. So today he has been HI HI HI so I'm kind of freaking out. But I've given him fluids twice and his insulin. I know I have to check his ketones on the meter but it makes me so nervous nailbite_smile

I know exactly what you mean about those urine strips -but to get a true idea of what negative looks like, I tested it on myself and one of the other cats. It is a definite true tan color. Any little bit of pink tinge means ketones.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Lydia I swear I have poked this animal 100 times in the past few days...lol, thank God he's a mellow guy... I tested my other cat Ruby as a point of refernce and she went crazy!!! Please keep me informed on how Sid is doing.. I'll check up. How much fluids do you usually give when the ketones come around?

LOL, I dont have many of the ketone strips so I am treating them like gold. Ive messed up on the glucose strips by not getting enough blood. When I was testing sasha before for ketones, I practically had my poor little guy in a choke hold...now that he's getting stronger, he's getting pretty fiesty again!!!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Sasha&Tara said:
This meter is great. I am going to post over in health now, see if anyone has a vet that knows anything about diabetes!!!

Did you happen to see the vet recommendation that Ella posted in your condo on March 8? Perhaps you missed it, as it was a pretty busy condo. I don't know if this vet would work out for you, but here is what she wrote:

by Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) » Thu Mar 08, 2012 9:22 pm

I would like to suggest a wonderful Veterinary hospital that is not far from Yonkers: Katonah Bedford Veterinary Center,
546 North Bedford Road, Bedford Hills, NY 10507; tel.: 914-241-7700.
The internal-medicine vet we saw there (it was an emergency and we were far from home) was kind, compassionate, and really knew her profession. I wish I didn't live 300 miles from this hospital!
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Tara:

I hadn't had a chance to track down Desi yet so glad Lydia got that info to you. You said you gave him 100 mls this morning and I think we should be aggressive with the fluid so I was thinking maybe to give him 50 or 75 tonight IF you do your check and he has totally absorbed all the fluids from this morning. Then it might be a good idea to go back to 75mls bid starting tomorrow. If his ketones rise, we need to up the fluids more than that so just let us know what you get.

Remember there are only 12 strips with that kit .....we'll try to figure out a way to get you more. The silly things are so darn expensive.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Hi Linda!!!! I saw that much later on. I know people who have taken their animals there, and they are suppoosed to be great. But its pretty far from me... and he flips out in the car. I posted in health, let me see if anyone can recommend someone a little closer. Otherwise, he's just going to have to take the car ride up there....
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Marje that sounds great about the fluids, it's a plan. I'll do it when the R wears off.

How much are those strips or do I not want to know?...lol... I'll use them sparingly and use the ketostix in the meantime.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha PMPS 348 L+1/R+1 256

With the ketostix, I found that reading it near a window, by daylight made it easier to see the subtle difference between negative and trace.
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha +11 333 +12 348

Tara,

Anytime Sid goes HI or if the urine strip or ketone meter shows ketones, I give him fluids - 50 am / 50 pm but Sid only weighs 6 pounds so 100 ml/day is a kind of alot for him. If he developed a lot of ketones, I would increase the dose of fluids but I would have to call my vet or ask the board to know for sure regarding the amount. (Sid is a very small cat and still recovering from pneumonia and i don't want to compromise him that 's why I would call my vet. He has no heart problems though so he should absorb the fluids just fine but I would check to make sure.)

You've been doing such a great job with your guy regarding the fluids and insulin - good luck finding a knowledgeable vet. that is so frustrating. I've been there. To me the vets are nothing but frustrating :-x
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha PMPS 348 L+1/R+1 256

I was holding up to every light this morning. At 4:45 am its still dark here..I was scrambling around within the 15 seconds... but there was a little pink..no doubt now that the meter confirmed it
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha PMPS 348 L+1/R+1 256

Tara, I just ordered 3 boxes from American Diabetes Wholesale and they were $23.99 each for a box of ten. That is pricey. I did not comparison shop though. Ineeded the strips right away so I just ordered from them.

(Just in case you test his glucose using the Nova Max, I found it can read significantly lower than the relion and bayer contour I compared it against.)
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha PMPS 348 L+1/R+1 256

Ok thank you for the info Lydia. I can swing that...but geez youre not kidding...for a box of 10? well hey, its better than spending 5000 bucks at the vet..... :-D
 
Re: 3/16 Sasha PMPS 348 L+1/R+1 256 L+2/R+2 212

Tara, Just to give you some perspective on Sasha's blood ketone reading of 1.1 tonight, Sid has been at 0.4 for 3 nights in a row.

I would agree with you that something needs to be done to see if Sasha still has an infection going on. If he can't have a dental, maybe they would prescribe clindmycin (which can be compounded into fish flavor). It is amazing for gum infections. If he does indeed still have a kidney infection, they can last for WEEKS - Sid was on A/B clavamox for about 5-6 weeks something like that. So just one round of baytril probably isn't enough.
 
They told me it wasnt a kidney infection, but then some other vet who worked at the same hospital said it was when I called again.. Then I spoke to his vet again, and she told me no...grrrrrrrr.... I am going in there tomorrow... I want to see this vet face to face. She needs to give me more antibiotics... and I want to go over all of his paperwork. They claim this place is so great, top of the line, state of the art... meanwhile I cant even get a straight answer out of them.!!! ughhhhh
 
UPDATE: I just tested him again and WE got him down to .07 from 1.01!!! These ketones are wicked... come and go, but I still plan on giving him more fluids...

I really think this poor animal has an infection...how come this never happened before, and now it's like he's ketone city!!!

I am going to ba away from the computer for a couple of hours, and I will be with him..but just wanted everyone to know how much I appreciate all of your help!!! hugs to you and all those furry babies!!!

Marje- Pizza & Beer it is... ;-)
 
Sasha&Tara said:
Should I hit him up with his much loved HC food? He's eating alot of LC
At this point as long as he is chowing down feed LC and let him eat when and however much he wants, with the exception of after +10.
1.5 x the calories required for optimal weight is what a kitty recovering from DKA needs.
His body has some rebuilding to do.

Use the HC if he gets fussy about LC again or if you need to steer the cycle.

YAY on the latest ketone test :cool:
So, regarding the blood ketone reading we want to see only numbers to the right of the decimal point then?
 
just peeking in to see how sasha is doing, tara . . . you're doing such a fabulous job and you have all of Lantus Land sending you strength. :YMHUG:
 
Awesome on the ketones. Lydia quoted you the price that I have also seen on ADW. I also checked eBay but the seller there wanted more.

Hope you are enjoying the pizza and beer and glad you are having fun ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top