3/16 Rocky PMPS 325 +2 375 +4 385 +9 382

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/16 Rocky AMPS 508 +2 350

Another precipitous drop from 500 to 350..

I have to wonder if maybe feeding Rocky somewhere towards the end of his PM cycle might help level his BG. I would be OK with this raising is over all BG throughout the day, I could raise his insulin dose to try to overcome it.

I also have to wonder if this is a "fasting bounce" and does not have very much to do with him eating carbs vs. eating zero carb meals.
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky AMPS 508 +2 350 +4 237 +6 235

he's still in a bounce from the 40's 3 days ago. the 72 hrs would be tonight - he might be trying to clear it today, and "ought" to by tonight. i'd say if you don't have green numbers tonight, i'd go back up to the 1.75u in the morning.

Then, if he were mine, i would try to keep him from getting a dose reduction by using food to keep him above 50.

In a cat that has a sputtering pancreas, feeding about +9 can bring down the preshot numbers. i don't think Rocky is in that phase yet, but am thinking perhaps you're referring to this.

I'm not sure what you mean by "fasting bounce" but am thinking you mean that the bounce doesn't have anything to do with his food. is that it? i'd agree. this has everything to do with his body reacting to the 40's and nothing to do with anything else.
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky AMPS 508 +2 350 +4 237 +6 235 +10 325

Maybe then when (if) he gets to the green numbers again, I should start feeding him his own food, again, even if he isn't even close to 50?
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky PMPS

Oh sorry, hahaha.. and here I thought I've been being very exacting in my descriptions of what I'm doing with Rocky.. What i meant is I will feed him his the usual NVIV 0% carb food that he gets at all of his normal feeding times.
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky AMPS 508 +2 350 +4 237 +6 235 +10 325

Tina & Rocky said:
Maybe then when (if) he gets to the green numbers again, I should start feeding him his own food, again, even if he isn't even close to 50?

it's this i'm not understanding. can you ask it again in a different way?
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky PMPS 325

Sorry, let me try that again.

I thought maybe you were hinting earlier in this condo that when Rocky gets into the green numbers again 40-99, that instead of letting his BG get as low as 50, that I should feed him something when his BG gets anywhere from 60 to 99?

You had said, "If Rocky were my cat you would not let him get to a BG of 50," or at least that is what I thought you meant. The only way I could think of for him to not do that is to feed him when his BG first even touches green. He seems to kind skip right over the blues..
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky PMPS 325

ok, yes, that's what i was saying. i'm not sure how zero carb plays into the equation - i've never fed it. perhaps adding some karo to the zero carb would do the same thing as low carb/higher carb foods. i'll just tell you what i would do.

if he were getting low carb, i'd say try to give him more food to try to keep him above 50 so that you don't need to reduce his dose.

for example on 3/13, when he dropped from 353 to 169 - if i were feeding low carb, i'd give an extra amount of food at the 169 to stop the drop - not extra zero carb because i don't think that is cutting it, but low carb. if it didn't slow it down enough, i *might* have added some additional carbs to try to slow him. that was 100pts/hr - a drop that is too fast. Even without getting into the 40's after that, the speed of the drop alone would've been enough to cause him to bounce.

does that make sense?
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky PMPS 325

Yes, thank you for explaining that. I didn't realize that you were also talking about any time where Rocky's BG drops by 100 points in 1 hr that you might feed him a little bit of HC food at that drop, so that he doesn't go even further. I'll keep an eye on that. I do have that HC Friskies so I could always pop open a can of that and feed him some of that.

I also have some Nature's Variety canned Duck, which I think is 2% carbs. That's probably still not enough, right? I also have Fancy Feast Classic Chicken Pate. I don't have any idea how many carbs it has. I was just trying to keep Rocky off of the chicken for at least 4 months to relieve any food allergy he may have experience when he first became a diabetic.
 
Re: 3/16 Rocky PMPS 325

the FF is either 4-5% carbs - i fed that to punkin until he began to have kidney compromise, then i switched to a lower phosphorus food.

a drop of up to 50 pts/hr usually doesn't trigger a bounce, but faster than that some cats will react to. so Rocky had a double whammy - first the speedy drop, then the 40's as well.

it's ideal to have slower drops, like 50/hr or less. what % carbs works for him is something you'll probably have to play around with. take good notes on his ss so you can go back and see what did and didn't work.
 
Looks like a dosecrease is going to happen for Rocky this morning and that then i will be monitoring him more closely all day long. I sure wish that I can get the right amount of carbs into him so that I don't send his BG sky high today. But I'm most certain to get it wrong the first time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top