3/16 punkin +3/40 +3.3/50 +4/59 4.5/49 +5/68 +5.5/89

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
wonder if this will be a plummet day. this is his 6th dose at 7.25 and 4 of the past 5 days (yesterday being the 5th and following a fur shot) he's been in the green.

i think i'll re-check him in an hour or so.
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115

I just looked at your pictures and I must say Punkin and Anya are beautiful! Well, Punkin is a guy, so I guess he's handsome.

Have a great day!

Jason
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115

Hi Julie, I see Punkin is showing off with his beautiful amps. :-D

Thanks for visiting our condo. It's nice to make new friends. :smile:
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115

Beautiful AMPS today PUnkin!!

Julie: hmmm...I didn't see a PM but here's the info:
TBP: the bad place (WORK)
5Ps: what we use to see how the kitty is doing over all: purring, peeing, pooping, playing, and preening
WCR: well cat report...again, an overall report of how kitty is doing since it's not just about the numbers :lol:

Have a great day! Love the questions!
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115

I can't believe he spent months in a cage at the shelter. He must have been waiting for just you. What a lucky boy!

Do you know what a Nanner is yet? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wow on the AMPS :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85

heehee jason, i told him what you said and he appreciated it. he already knew he was handsome, of course! :lol:

yes, i'm glad he waited for me. other people lost out!

marjorie, i didn't find the pm in my sent box - must've screwed it up somehow. fortunately, sarah and simba survived the night!

he's dropped to 85 - not sure if i should test again in 30 minutes or wait an hour. thoughts?
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85

Please fill me in on what the heck a nanner is ohmygod_smile I see it in a ton of posts and can't for the life of me figure out what it is. Sometimes it seems like a toy and some days it seems like some sort of family member :lol:

Took me a while but I found it. Mannie is the Nanner King:
file.php
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

are they filled with catnip? funny mannie! aren't cats interesting?

my civvie, anya, is a little thief. at least whatever she steals she carries to me in her mouth. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85

thanks laurie! he's down to 70 at 2.5. normally i would test him at +3 and feed him another 1/2 can of FF. Should i plan on still doing that, or give him food earlier? I'm just hoping to keep reducing his dose so am wondering if i "want" him to get down to 50?
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 Question?

Mannie and the nanners...way too cute!

Nice numbers for Punkin today!
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 Question?

I would feed him at his normal time. His numbers are fine....I just wanted to make sure you were not going to get surprised by a big drop at +3.

If he needs a reduction, he will earn it. You don't want to make it too easy for him, because then it won't hold.
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 Question?

we have a house full of nanners also...they are kitty crack around here!!

super nice numbers here!
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 +3/62 3.5/51

hmmm, what does it say that i don't feel panicky at all? it's been 23 days, but i guess i'm learning the sugar dance.

gave him a teaspoon of that gooey beef with gravy.
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 +3/62 3.5/51

Nice numbers Punkin. I'm right there with you Julie about not being so panicky all the time. At first, I was a mess. So have you found out where we can get these nanners? :razz:
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 +3/62 3.5/51

julie1220 said:
hmmm, what does it say that i don't feel panicky at all? it's been 23 days, but i guess i'm learning the sugar dance.

gave him a teaspoon of that gooey beef with gravy.

That says you are getting comfortable with lower numbers! Congratulations, you're doing great! :-D I'm heading out the door, please holler for help in your header if you need it, ok? You know what to do...test in 30 minutes.

See, there's others around to help...I knew you wouldn't be lonely! ;-)

I found the nanners in a local pet supply store...but amazon sells them too. :razz:
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 +3/62 3.5/51

he's up to 54 - that was 19 minutes, and really it's +4 now. So that's what i'll post even though it wasn't 1/2 hr. there's a sliding forward factor in time when you're testing, it seems! :lol:

he seems really subdued when it gets down this low. just passive.
 
Re: 3/16punkin 115 +2/85 +2.5/70 +3/62 3.5/51 4/54

btw, i'm assuming since it came up in the 20 minutes between 3.5 and 4.0 that i don't need to give him more gravy? even though it's still in the 50's?

guess i better edit the subject line again for an answer to that one.

i did the usual 1/2 can FF at +3.
 
Re: 3/16punkin 3.5/51 4/54 do i give more gravy?

I would retest in 20-30 minutes...often it takes longer than 20 minutes to see a good rise. He is up a bit, so I would not give more until you retest.

(Really, I'm leaving...soon! :lol: :lol: )
 
Re: 3/16punkin 3.5/51 4/54 do i give more gravy?

thanks! i just reread the "low numbers" post from sienne (hello, why am i carrying it around in my sig line if i'm then going to forget to look at it?!?) and was gonna give him a little bit more.

i'll breathe and test at noon (+4.5).

have a nice afternoon!
 
Re: 3/16punkin 3.5/51 4/54 do i give more gravy?

Wow, look at Punkin! Nice work. I might give a bit more food to see if Punkin can get up on that surfboard and not drop any further. I'd like to see him up a little more than 4 points. He has earned a decrease and has nothing more to prove today. You know what I mean?

-----

Ah yes, the nanners. Full of catnip. If Anya loves to carry things around, she may steal them from Punkin. Mannie steals all the nanners in his house from his siblings.

If you aren't careful Punkin or Anya may have to join Mannie and Kim's Shadow in a support group. See the evidence here:

Nannerbuddies.jpg


P.S. Your kitties are adorable! I love snuggling kitties.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54

Look at me! I'm famous! ~~ Mannie

Good job today - I'm with CD - I'd feed a little more, get a few more tests in, make sure he's surfin'. Well done today!
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54

hahahahahaha you're killing me with the nanners! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

anya is only maybe 8 pounds - i could definitely see her carrying one of these around in her mouth. it'd be as big as her. but maybe then she'd leave my sewing stuff alone. it's in the basement and the cats sleep downstairs, so every morning she's dragged something new out.

one time she came upstairs carrying the walking foot for my quilting - it's a kind of presser foot for a sewing machine. metal maybe 1"x3". she was very proud of herself for killing that walking foot! :mrgreen:

oh yeah, punkin, i'm on my way to check him again. poor little pincushion.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54

54 i gave him a little more gravy. he's all discombuberated because i'm trying to feed him treats and these gravy bits in the kitchen. but he KNOWS that he's supposed to eat in the laundry room, so he keeps waiting until i finally give up calling him in the kitchen and follow him into the laundry room.

might also be that i give him the shots in the kitchen because the light is so much better. while he's eating too. he probably thinks the place is booby trapped!
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54

cats are smarty little critters!

he's given up on fighting the testing, but he can still sit in the living room and refuse to get his treat in the kitchen! :lol:
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54

+5.5 = 66 do you think i can wait an hour now before retesting?

also, i know the usual dose decrease is .25, but i re-read the protocol and it says for dosages more than 3u the increase/decreases are done by .5. Have you seen bad results from doing that or is the .25 just being cautious?

i'm just thinking it's a long way down from 7.25 if you're skidding down by .25's . . .
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66

Hi Julie & Punkin, Great job today! Punkin, congrats on the dosecrease!! Wait for one of the dosing experts to give you an answer on .25 or .50. OK?
Your kitties will like the Nanners. The catnip is very fresh.

Have a good evening,
Ella & Rusty

p.s. thanks for the b'day wishes!
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66

well, now i want nanners too! imagine that! i'm going to give him a break for a few hours. i think he's past the danger zone.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71

Wow! What a day for you and punkin! Such a fun condo today!!!

Willie has nanners, but he mainly just likes to sleep with them. He is presently enamored with Mr. Googly Eyes and his mousies. LOL
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71

Great job you guys did there today Julie. You're becoming an old pro. Thanks for visiting us yesterday.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71

Hi, congratulations on the dosecrease! Re: decreasing by .25 or .5 I personally would follow protocol & what is suggested.
For further advice, please put dosing question in your subject line so it will catch the eyes of those that feel comfortable advising.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +3.5/51 +4/54 +4.5/48 +5/54

julie1220 said:
+5.5 = 66 do you think i can wait an hour now before retesting?

also, i know the usual dose decrease is .25, but i re-read the protocol and it says for dosages more than 3u the increase/decreases are done by .5. Have you seen bad results from doing that or is the .25 just being cautious?

i'm just thinking it's a long way down from 7.25 if you're skidding down by .25's . . .

Thought I'd pop the question up here again. Dose decrease of .25 unit or .5 unit, taking into acct that his dose has been 7.25 units BID.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71 DOSE Q?

Dose reductions are always in 0.25u increments. If you reduce too much, the reduction won't hold.

Also, I responded to your question/point about refrigerating Lantus pens in Tommy's condo.
 
Re: 3/16punkin AMPS 115 +2/85

Please fill me in on what the heck a nanner is ohmygod_smile I see it in a ton of posts and can't for the life of me figure out what it is. Sometimes it seems like a toy and some days it seems like some sort of family member :lol:
Nanners are so revered around here I can see where you'd think they're thought of as family members.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71 DOSE Q?

Very nice cycle today! And you handled it beautifully. Come on punkin Surf's UP!
summer_33-1.gif
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71 PMPS113

well done all around today - great condo too, and bring on them nanners.... Good luck with the dose reduction :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71 PMPS113

another low preshot - i dropped by .25 to 7.0 . . . i'll test him again in an hour and see what's happening.

it was terrible giving him his shot tonight - he hid from me, then when i got it, he jerked and pulled the needle out. i finally burritoed him and stabbed him. yikes. i think it is stinging him.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +4.5/48 +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71 PMPS113

Julie...fabulous day and you handled it like an oldtimer in LL! Wonderful numbers for Punkin and good luck on the dosecrease. Hope you are well rested!!! And Lantus does sting.
 
Re: 3/16punkin +5/54 +5.5/66 +6.5/71 PMPS113 +1.3/112

It's entirely possible that Punkin may drop. However, it's likely that lower than expected numbers this cycle would be due to Punkin's shed not having the time to empty yet from the reduced dose.
 
Re: 3/16 punkin PMPS113 +1.3/112 +3/40

YIKES! he's dropped to 40 at +3. I gave him about a tablespoon of hc food w/gravy, plus a dollop of karo, followed by his usual FF - although i dropped that to about 1/3 can instead of 1/2 can because of the other food.

I'll check again in 15 minutes, i guess.
 
Re: 3/16 punkin PMPS113 +1.3/112 +3/40

Hi Julie - I won't be on much longer - but the routine is similiar to what you did earlier today. test, and feed every 30 minutes until you get two rising numbers, out of the 40 and 50. HC food with karo was a good choice. The karo will bump him up, just be sure you recheck later in case he drops down when it wears off. sometimes there numbers can wobble a little. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/16 punkin PMPS113 +1.3/112 +3/40 +3.3/50

do you think i need to keep testing him past the usual nadir, around +5ish?

this pulled him up 10 points in 20 minutes. it actually shocked me that it dropped so very fast so i didn't want to mess around with it.

''Here baby, suck up this sugar!"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top