3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday

Hi All

I was going to give an increase this weekend, but last night, she hit 40. So, not sure what to do. This morning though, I decreased her by 0.25. Should I just put her back on the 2.50?
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

No. Miss Kitty earned that dosecrease to 2.25 :mrgreen: . You did a good job, by decreasing the dose because of that 40.
She may just be bouncing a little, now. Let's wait for the bounce to clear, which you know could take up to 3 days, and see how she does on this dose after a day or two.
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

First I looked at your ss, but then I decided I better look at your profile just to try to find out when she was dx'd.
I see that she was dx'd in 12/2010 so because she has had diabetes over a year, we would normally not decrease unless the cat goes under 40. Let me get some more eyes on this. We'll get back to you. '

Nice 40 though, Miss Kitty, you must have been reading the computer screen and saw that dose threat yesterday :-D .
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

I think the reduction is OK. The bigger question I have for you is how well does Miss Kitty hold the reductions? If she's typically not holding the reduced dose, IMHO, I'd shave rather than take the full reduction.
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

how well does Miss Kitty hold the reductions?

Typically, I don't think she does hold them well. She seemed to be doing better wtih the 2.5 dose though. So, maybe I should keep her at the 2.5?
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

Hi guys. .. congrats on the dose reduction! Mocha couldn't hold reductions very well either, so we always shaved her doses .. and because she was diabetic for a good while, we went with the three times under 50 before earning a reduction .. but that is just what we did! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

There are a couple of approaches you can consider. With the modified protocol that we use, I think Miss Kitty came close enough that you can reduce. The question then is by how much. Since you don't think she holds reductions well, I'd go with shaving the dose.

If you take a look at the Roomp & Rand protocol, the guidelines are 3 drops below 50 or a drop below 40 warrants a reduction. I think Miss Kitty would have dropped below 40 if you hadn't caught the drop.

My concern with your not reducing is that you can't get tests during the day. That drop from 210 to 40 means business. You could easily leave the house during the week with a pre-shot in the 200 thinking that it's going to be an easy cycle. I think Miss Kitty is telling you something with that drop. I'd reduce for safety reasons.
 
Re: 3/16 Miss Kitty AMPS 218 - Dose Advise Please

Reduction it is. I'll try just shaving the dose this weekend since I will be home to check her. Thanks so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top