3/16 Kit AMPS 219, +1 223, +3 171, +5 159, +9 194, PMPS 185, +1 203, +2 147

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

Just another yellow and blue morning. But a week from today I'll be back from Seattle and can get more aggressive again, and I am so ready for it!

I do come with another question (I have a lot it seems). @Wendy&Neko - we talked about going down to 1.5, but based on her numbers that last few days, what are your thoughts on just staying at 2 units, since she's currently not going below 100 on this dose. Or should I be more cautious since Eric currently doesn't test (maybe that'll change between now and when I leave on Tuesday?)
 
For the lab numbers, maybe try to reduce phos? You could supplement foods with this: https://www.weruva.com/collections/wx-phos-focused
Thanks - I'll look into it. We tried Weruva's low carb/low phosphorus diet when she was first diagnosed with kidney disease, and she, of course, hated it. This looks like maybe it's different, so maybe she'll like it? I'll have to see if I can find somewhere to buy non cases - then I don't have to worry about sending it back if she hates it.
 
Not sure if Epakitin would affect diabetes, but I used it with great results for another older cat I had with kidney disease. I used to sprinkle it on Tigeress' food, and she ate it no problem. It's a bit pricey, but I found it did work well. Check with more experienced members/your vet for any interference w/diabetes. Good luck with pen and your trip- so much stress!
I'll look into it and check with my vet. She's become accustomed to me throwing ideas at her at this point. lol
I was getting ready to enter stuff into her spreadsheet a bit ago, and saw an email from my hotel, and realized I hadn't figured out transportation to the hotel from airport, or done so many things I need to do before I leave. Good think I like organizing! :joyful:
 
Yesterday's thread

Just another yellow and blue morning. But a week from today I'll be back from Seattle and can get more aggressive again, and I am so ready for it!

I do come with another question (I have a lot it seems). @Wendy&Neko - we talked about going down to 1.5, but based on her numbers that last few days, what are your thoughts on just staying at 2 units, since she's currently not going below 100 on this dose. Or should I be more cautious since Eric currently doesn't test (maybe that'll change between now and when I leave on Tuesday?)
Good luck getting ready for your trip Alicia. Sounds like a ton of details to be taken care of. Very happy Eric will be taking good care of Kit cat. :kiss:
Hope you guys are having a nice weekend.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Vacation dose is one that doesn't see green. You could hold this dose, though she did see 100 on it recently.
 
Vacation dose is one that doesn't see green. You could hold this dose, though she did see 100 on it recently.
That is true - I don't know how much of that was because she doesn't eat well on the higher dose of gabapentin we use for vet visit days. Maybe I'll see how she does the rest of today and tomorrow, and make a decision on Monday?
 
Hi Alicia,
You have a few days to see what Kit cat does - I would think better safe. You can always do the catch up later when you get back!
And yes, you are a planner and an organizer! Taking a cab to get back to the airport? Are you staying in town? I used to live there many years ago and I have some relatives there.
Love Seattle. Hope you get to enjoy!
 
Hi Alicia,
You have a few days to see what Kit cat does - I would think better safe. You can always do the catch up later when you get back!
And yes, you are a planner and an organizer! Taking a cab to get back to the airport? Are you staying in town? I used to live there many years ago and I have some relatives there.
Love Seattle. Hope you get to enjoy!
Better safe indeed - she sure does like to prove me wrong. I'm guessing we'll be going down to 1.5. Eric actually thought he might have had a furshot tonight, but we didn't smell any insulin and her fur wasn't wet. And her numbers are not terrible for +2.
I think I'm taking the light rail - it drops off 2 blocks from my hotel. We'll see how the weather is when I get there, though, and how tired I am. I'm staying by the Sheraton Grand - it's the official conference hotel for my conference. I've never been, so I'm super excited, and my bestie from work is from that area, and is so excited to show me around.
 
Hope you and KitKat are having a nice and relaxing caturday night
upload_2024-3-16_23-0-10.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-16_23-0-10.png
    upload_2024-3-16_23-0-10.png
    85.4 KB · Views: 176
Back
Top