3/16 KiKi AMPS 278 PMPS 236

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & KiKi

Member Since 2010
KiKi really seems to like this new dose. PS was slightly lower than other 3 times -- was gone all day today, so wasn't able to get any testing done.
Still....30 to 45 minutes after I give him his shot -- he usually gives me this look like "Hey! What is that? I'm starting to feel funny -- what's happening? I'm just gonna stand here and stare into space for a minute . . . see if it passes . . . " Now he's hopped up on the desk -- sat here in front of me for about a minute, not sure what he wanted to do. Then finally laid down with his head on my forearm purring.
Do you think the insulin has like a wave effect in his body? That he notices when it starts working?
I would much rather have THIS than have him get all lethargic and unresponsive like he HAD been previously . . . . I just wondered if anyone else noticed their cats doing anything similar . . . or if we're just *special* that way :lol:
 
Hi Donna

I had those reactions too, mine slept a lot - until near the the last month or so, very active and alert.

These are all good things to report, like you just did, WCR (whole cat report)

Nice numbers today by the way :)
 
I've been thinking about you guys. Just out of curiosity, are you more comfortable shooting lately? One of the thoughts I had was maybe Kiki was picking up on your stress/worry. Alternatively, it does sound like he may be sensitive to the effect of the insulin. He may be like some people who can't tolerate the usual starting dose of a medication -- they have to be started on a lower dose and the dose gradually increased. And then again, Kiki may be very special!!
 
That's good that you share all the things you notice....get some feedback. Our kitties are really amazing, aren't they? Just when I think I have them figured out though, they go and do something unexpected.... :lol:
When Shadow was first prescribed 4units bid by the vet, he slept all the time.
Raja was given 3units bid and that was way too much for her...she ran and hid all day long, freaked out.
When the doses were lowered a lot and gradually increased, they seemed to handle it just fine. And they never balked at the shots or the tests as if they understood that they were feeling so much better. It was as if they knew that all of those things were helping them...
Hope you enjoy watching Kiki as you go through these next few months....it's a great pasttime, right?
 
numbers are looking better. :smile:

I've never noticed any particular response to the shot itself in Lucy. Interesting.
 
I've DEFINATELY been more comfortable since we finally are out of the 300+ range. . . no doubt there! I have anxiety disorder - (*stress* could be my middle name) I can only imagine what my CAT thinks . . . prolly something like: "Hey! I'm the one that's SICK!" :lol:
Certainly takes a load off my mind!! I feel like I can breathe again!
It IS strange he didnt like 1.0u in the beginning . . . and now we are almost @ 1.0u and doing better. So, yeh, maybe he needed the gradual increase like you said.
Yes, it's a great pasttime . . .hopefully, the stressful part is behind us -- so I can concentrate on finding a different job :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top