Tell me about it...I have 14 with 2 sugarcats..

I already spend $100.00 per week just keeping them in Friskies and Litter and the dog in the only combination of dog food he will eat. He demands Beneful Original Dry Kibble with half a container of Beneful Prepared Meals twice a day..no more, no less, and no substitutes... :lol: I would love to use the best of the best for them all but the budget can only stretch so far.
As far as her not being too found of the greens right now ..with as much as you have to be away from her most of the time, right now the focus is to get her regulated and stay that way even if that is on insulin. Regulated as I understand it is getting to stay below the renal threshhold around 250ish and getting down to the low 100s or less at nadir with a gentle upswing at the end of the cycle. If she has a pattern where she dropped 160 pts between amps and +6.5 like she did today I would rather have her do that while you are at work, because that would only take her to around 80 or 90 at nadir with at least another 40pts before falling below into hypo range. So getting her preshots down to where she has the best chance of going into remission by staying in normal numbers as much of the time as possible, needs to go a little slower so you can tweak the dose in tiny increments and you are going to need those 1/2u marks to do it with consistency. Once you have those try just fattening up her dose slightly...this is where a drop either way can make a big difference.
But there is also nothing wrong with just getting and keeping her regulated so she can stay safe while you are working and sleeping so you can work. She is still going to be able to be a healthy and happy kitty that just happens to take two tiny little insulin shots a day and gets their BGs checked several times a day. Not every cat can go OTJ either because it isn't safe to follow the protocol because of real life demands on the care giver, or because they simply can't...There were several old-timers when I first got here that have just recently past that lived to be in their 20s

Some of them just alway were insulin dependent. Actually my Lady Jane Grey is named for two of them...Janie and Janeway..because I figured Lady because she is so prime and proper, Jane to bless her with a long life of her namesakes, and Grey because this a silver grey maine coonish looking mix. As well as being named for the Lady Jane Grey the 9 day queen of England, on my girl's case the 9-live queen...lol
Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang