3/16 Java AMPS 266 +3 244 PMPS 114 +1.5 104 decrease soon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

Sorry I didn't get my condo out sooner. I had to take my mom in early this morning for an OC. I got a little off schedule because of it(45mn). Tomorrow I am taking Java in for a dental and an eye exam. My civvie Riley is going in to have a UA for crystals. I don't think he has them just checking since he is off RX food. So Java will get half dose and small meal before we go in.

My question is we seem to really be having some nice blue numbers, at what point do we talk about a decrease? I trust you all's opinion and maybe I don't have enough data yet but I am just wondering how I should be thinking.

have a great night LL! prayers and vines to all our sick kitties!
 
Re: 3/16 Java AMPS 266 +3 244 PMPS 114 +1.5 104 decrease soo

When Java's numbers drop below 50, he earns a dose reduction.

What did your vet instruct you to do about insulin in the AM? And what about feeding?

When you bring Java home tomorrow after the dental, get an "in the door" test. Anesthesia has several effects on cats. First, it can drop numbers. Getting a test when you get home and then at PMPS will tell you where numbers are heading and if it's safe to give the PM shot. Second, most cats are starving after a procedure. Makes sense -- usually they haven't eaten all day. Do NOT give a big meal or you will get a scarf-and-barf. Feed about a teaspoon at a time. Anesthesia slows gastric motility which can result in barfing if your cat eats too much or too fast. Some cats do not handle anesthesia well and become agitated. If this happens, a dimly lit quiet room will help.

If Java needs extractions, get pain meds. Buprenex (it's an opiate) is the drug of choice. Please say "No." to Metacam if the vet plans on using it post-procedure or offers to send it home. There is a black box warning about it's use in cats. It can cause renal failure.
 
Re: 3/16 Java AMPS 266 +3 244 PMPS 114 +1.5 104 decrease soo

Sienne and Gabby said:
When Java's numbers drop below 50, he earns a dose reduction.

What did your vet instruct you to do about insulin in the AM? And what about feeding?

When you bring Java home tomorrow after the dental, get an "in the door" test. Anesthesia has several effects on cats. First, it can drop numbers. Getting a test when you get home and then at PMPS will tell you where numbers are heading and if it's safe to give the PM shot. Second, most cats are starving after a procedure. Makes sense -- usually they haven't eaten all day. Do NOT give a big meal or you will get a scarf-and-barf. Feed about a teaspoon at a time. Anesthesia slows gastric motility which can result in barfing if your cat eats too much or too fast. Some cats do not handle anesthesia well and become agitated. If this happens, a dimly lit quiet room will help.

If Java needs extractions, get pain meds. Buprenex (it's an opiate) is the drug of choice. Please say "No." to Metacam if the vet plans on using it post-procedure or offers to send it home. There is a black box warning about it's use in cats. It can cause renal failure.

thanks, that is exactly what I wanted to know. I knew about metacam, my vet doesn't give it orally. He told me to give half the insulin (.75u) and a very small amt of food. he may need extractions, he is prone to neck lesions. I will def. feed small amts, that is good to know, I usually just put food down when they get home.
 
Re: 3/16 Java AMPS 266 +3 244 PMPS 114 +1.5 104 decrease soo

Just to add That vets try to give Covenia, a 2 week antibiotic, which has also been not recommended for cats--in case Java needs extractions..Better off with Clavamox, oral antibiotic..
Hope all goes well,,will be looking for your update tomorrow--
Java you is gonna have beautiful teefs!!Shiny & Bright!--Hpe all goes perfectly well! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16 Java AMPS 266 +3 244 PMPS 114 +1.5 104 decrease soo

If Java will need extractions, you might think about using baby food for treats until his mouth is a little better. You want the varieties that are only meat and broth.
 
Re: 3/16 Java AMPS 266 +3 244 PMPS 114 +1.5 104 decrease soo

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Java will need extractions, you might think about using baby food for treats until his mouth is a little better. You want the varieties that are only meat and broth.


Good idea I will pick some up today, thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top