3/16 Indy AMPS - 142 PMPS - 64

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Friday

Hey everyone! Sorry I was MIA this weekend, it was a really busy weekend. Indy was boring and steady.

Today we are having sensor drama. It cut out 3.5 hours ago and didn't go back on. Hubby tried to ear prick Indy just to have an idea about his numbers and Indy was not having it...whatsoever. I'm supposed to go to a meeting after work...but I think Hubby is stressing about lack of data. Wheeeee.....
 
Got a new sensor on him last night after work. It acted weird right off the bat. Gave us a LO and cut out right at shot time. Ended up playing it safe and gave him .5u because we couldn't confirm his number. The data has since filled in and says he was at 64....so I feel okay about my decision. Trying to decide whether or not to take the reduction or not.
 
1008.png


I want to play it as new sensor wonkiness but I don't know if should play it safe or not....I can't believe we gave insulin at a 64!
 
I'm not sure how to interpret your screenshot - that was from last night, right? It looks like he's come up quite a bit since then?

ETA: sorry, just realized you're asking about taking the reduction. Going to look at his spreadsheet and give it a think for a minute.
 
Hmm, okay. I am conflicted. That is a strange time in his cycle for him to take a dive,and especially with a brand-new sensor, I'm questioning its validity. New sensor wonkiness, a compression low, etc seem a lot more likely to me.

On the other hand, recently I've had the general sense of improved accuracy from my Libre readings (I don't know if this is me/how correct I am, or if something in the tech is working better) - last time I had lows and checked with blood tests, they were so close as to be virtually the same. I'm generally not in a complacent mindset when it comes to low readings.

Am I reading right that he's just had another late-in-cycle drop (from PMPS +8 to +9)?
 
I think, overall, I'd probably hold the dose for one more cycle to see if the LO was a fluke, because it really does seem to be out of nowhere. But that said, I'd be at least somewhat nervous about it, especially if he is dropping late in his cycle again - the next preshot value would probably be a major factor in my decision about taking a reduction, or not.
 
Yes, he just had another late cycle drop. He normally has a bit of one because that is when he gets let out of the bedroom and he goes prancing around getting out his excess energy. Usually not quite this drastic.
 
I think, overall, I'd probably hold the dose for one more cycle to see if the LO was a fluke, because it really does seem to be out of nowhere. But that said, I'd be at least somewhat nervous about it, especially if he is dropping late in his cycle again - the next preshot value would probably be a major factor in my decision about taking a reduction, or not.
Yeah, that is kind of what I was thinking. But want to run it by hubby since he is the one that is home keeping an eye on him. Hubby had a really bad day yesterday between Indy's sensor malfunctioning and his work being a PITA.

Sensor currently shows Indy at 118 and we still have a little over 2 hours to go (hubby delayed a bit last night to see if we would get a number).
 
@Staci & Ivy As a fellow libre user, what would you do? Indy was not having ear pricks yesterday, so could not confirm anything.
Well..here are my thoughts...I know you saw a LO last night...but I don't think it was a fluke because he surfed in greens for many hours.
When Ivy is in 60s 70s and 80s she's always over 100 on a handheld meter, so I tell myself this is perfectly safe for HER.

When Ivy surfs in lime greens and especially LO for many hours, I feel she is under 100 on a handheld meter for real.

When I ear prick LO's she's usually under 100 on a handheld (say 60-100).
Where is Indy when you ear prick him and he's in 30s. 40s and LO?

That ear prick data guides my decisions.

If you have no ear prick data about 30s 40s 50s and LO on a Libre, then you will have to decide your comfort level of where you think he is on a handheld meter.

If I see several LO lime green cycles over and over (several days) and it's keeping me up all night long with feedings every 30 -45 minutes to keep the sensor from shutting down, I usually take a reduction for quality of life (her and Me).

I figure I can always go back up again.

I hope this helps, Jessica! :bighug: :bighug:
 
In the past when we have ear pricked to confirm it is usually within 20 points. We have had times when they have been exactly the same and others where it is 20 points higher on the handheld meter. Him being resistant to ear pricking is super frustrating.
 
In the past when we have ear pricked to confirm it is usually within 20 points. We have had times when they have been exactly the same and others where it is 20 points higher on the handheld meter. Him being resistant to ear pricking is super frustrating.
So knowing that he tends to be close to the Libre number then you have to assume it’s close and make your call.
 
Back
Top