3/16 Hugo, time for another increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiina and Hugo

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone! Even though I increased to 1.75u 10 cycles ago, Hugo hasn't been giving me any greens. Well if I don't count the first night after the increase. Do you agree that we can go up to 2u now? He hasn't been on that high a dose after we started over a year ago. But this seems like he is stuck. Maybe I'm not drawing enough for 1.75u, it is difficult to draw.

Sending vines to all those in need :bighug:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-about-my-sick-civvie.174605/#post-1916926
 
Do you use the calipers to measure the 1.75 unit dose? I know those in between doses are hard to measure. The calipers helped me a lot.

Since you haven't seen any green, I think an increase may help Hugo get back to green. It may kickstart his numbers.

How is Elvis? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Do you use the calipers to measure the 1.75 unit dose? I know those in between doses are hard to measure. The calipers helped me a lot.

Since you haven't seen any green, I think an increase may help Hugo get back to green. It may kickstart his numbers.

How is Elvis? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I still haven't used them, they seem so difficult and I'm just the worst with numbers :( And now with Elvis' three different medications and Hugo's diabetes, I feel like learning them now is extra stress when I'm just barely struggling. I'm sure they are simple when you get the hang of it and if I had anyone to come and show me how to use them, I would be so happy. If only there was someone.

Elvis has fought his way to week two after the relapse of his anemia and on Tuesday his hematocrit had gone up to normal range. They decreased his Pred by half and now we wait and see how is immune system responds.

Btw I took a Elvis' BG and it was 6hrs after he had taken his Pred. The number was 85. So he's not diabetic, at least not yet. :)
 
Calipers can be tricky until you get the hang of them. I'm glad Elvis' hematocrit came back up to normal range and his BG was normal. I hope he continues to improve. Sending prayers.
 
What syringes do you use? If you can measure 1 unit with the calipers and post the MM from the calipers, maybe someone can help you with the rest of the measurements.
 
What syringes do you use? If you can measure 1 unit with the calipers and post the MM from the calipers, maybe someone can help you with the rest of the measurements.
I use BD Micro-Fine + Demi 0,3ml syringes, but the calipers are at home so I can give the measurements tomorrow when I go to the city. I'm still at my parents' house because of Elvis, I can't move him yet, because he needs to go back to the vet again next week and the vet is much closer here. So best we stay here until he stabilizes enough to handle the stress from travel.

Thank you for the prayers for Elvis.
 
Hi Tina, it does look like he needs more juice.

I can't remember if you are doing this already, but as Hugo has been diagnosed for over a year he is now classed as long term diabetic, so with reductions on TR you would be looking at 3 drops below 50 or once below 40.

Sending dear sweet Elvis lots of feel better vines.
:bighug::bighug:
Hugo work da juice buddy.
 
Thank you @Gill & George :bighug: Elvis sure needs the vines.

It's good you mentioned about the reductions. I might increase in the evening though, since I need to be out tomorrow afternoon. Sending a big kiss to George :kiss:
 
I definitely think you have room for an increase, given he's at most seeing high green. Good plan on waiting until you can monitor since he did the first cycle action last time.

Carla asked me to stop in as I used calipers with BD's. I use 1.5 mm as the measurement for one unit. I've also seen some people use 1.4 mm per unit. It doesn't really matter that you use the same measurement as me, but rather you are consistent in your dosing. A 2.0 u dose would be 3.0 mm if you use 1.5mm per unit. Each .25U change is 0.375 mm up or down. And measure from the bottom of the syringe, not from the zero line. At least on the BD's I had here, some of the zero lines were so badly placed that there was almost 0.5 units between the bottom of the zero line and the bottom of the syringe. :eek: Neko was pretty sensitive to small changes, and calipers helped me dial in 0.125 unit changes.
 
Hi Wendy @Wendy&Neko :) Thank you for the advice. I now have the calipers here with me. I'll look at them tomorrow, will be heading to sauna now.

I increased Hugo's dose tonight. PMPS 319 and +2 227. If he is still not giving me green with this dose, I'm sure it's because he needs a dental quite badly. I just can't afford it right now after Elvis just had his and then his relapse happened. I started looking more closely in the other cats' mouths too and yep, some of Hugo's teeth are bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top