3/16 Haley PMPS +120 ,130 @ 12.25, 124 +1, 135 +2, 126 +4

I panicked I won’t panic next time.

Sure you will! Seeing a number like 29 will always make your heart race! Your first thought will be "where's the syrup?".....but as you gain more experience, you're also going to learn that even if the test was accurate, the fact that your cat is sitting there acting normally means you have a few seconds to think so after that first big adrenaline rush starts to fade, your brain can kick back into gear again.
 
Even after over 5 years, if I got a 20'something (or worse, a LO which means below 20), I panicked. My heart would race like crazy as that adrenaline kicked in....it's just the way we momma's are wired....but you will be able to think more clearly and just do what needs to be done as you gain experience
 
Even after over 5 years, if I got a 20'something (or worse, a LO which means below 20), I panicked. My heart would race like crazy as that adrenaline kicked in....it's just the way we momma's are wired....but you will be able to think more clearly and just do what needs to be done as you gain experience
147 @ +11.5. So close!
Even after over 5 years, if I got a 20'something (or worse, a LO which means below 20), I panicked. My heart would race like crazy as that adrenaline kicked in....it's just the way we momma's are wired....but you will be able to think more clearly and just do what needs to be done as you gain experience

Momma's are always gonna panic. :)
 
Can you please edit your thread title...keep Haley’s name and date and bg test in it...just add “stalling please help’ to the end of it. Otherwise people overlook it because they don’t know it is from today. it becomes harder for us. To notice it.
 
Can you please edit your thread title...keep Haley’s name and date and bg test in it...just add “stalling please help’ to the end of it. Otherwise people overlook it because they don’t know it is from today. it becomes harder for us. To notice it.
Sorry. Yes.
 
Okay so same drill as this morning. You have lots of test strips, honey/syrup and higher carb food? Are you prepared to stay up to monitor if need be? The difference is now Haley hasn’t been given insulin in 24 hours and youre shooting a lower dose. So I wouldn’t expect shenanigans but I don’t have a crystal ball.:)

I would recommed you shoot the .5u dose but i cannot stay up to help but i can be around for her +1.
 
One thing you need to know...if you stall too long, the number can start to drop just because you're not feeding. It's something you learn with experience.

I think you can go ahead and do the .5 tonight and get a +1 and +2 again so we can intervene early if we need to.
 
Okay so same drill as this morning. You have lots of test strips, honey/syrup and higher carb food? Are you prepared to stay up to monitor if need be? The difference is now Haley hasn’t been given insulin in 24 hours and youre shooting a lower dose. So I wouldn’t expect shenanigans but I don’t have a crystal ball.:)

I would recommed you shoot the .5u dose but i cannot stay up to help but i can be around for her +1.
I’ve got everything I need and I can stay up as long as I need to.
 
One thing you need to know...if you stall too long, the number can start to drop just because you're not feeding. It's something you learn with experience.

I think you can go ahead and do the .5 tonight and get a +1 and +2 again so we can intervene early if we need to.


One thing you need to know...if you stall too long, the number can start to drop just because you're not feeding. It's something you learn with experience.

I think you can go ahead and do the .5 tonight and get a +1 and +2 again so we can intervene early if we need to.
I’ll remember that. I just gave her her shot.
 
How's Haley this morning?:cat:
Hi, Lyla: Ty for checking in! She's fine, ty. She's at 160 so I was able to give her her shot. I overslept! My volume was up all the way and I still didn't hear the alarm. So since her numbers are ok, I'll go back to my schedule and test her at +6 (but 45 minutes later than normal) unless you think differently.
 
Back
Top