3/16 Gobbles PMPS 339.. 246 +9 38 +9.5 54 +10 94 +11 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91015&p=976174#p976174

Good Morning everyone! I fattened his .5 dose this morning; so I suppose I can call that .66 or just plain .5f. Well, I ended up giving Gobbles 1/4 cypro last night. He ate quite well-- 1/3 can FFLC @PM+1, 1/4 can Friskies LC @PM+8 and 1/3 can FFLC @PM+9.5. I shot 1/2 hour early last night at 8:30, and I doubt it acted "like a dose increase" as he was black/red/pink throughout the night. I had thought he was clearing a bounce, until I saw his AMBG today. Today's shot times: 8:15/8:00. Diarrhea @+10.5--probably from flaked fish/shrimp @PM+9.5 (or cypro)?

Perhaps he needs to be increased back up to .75; any opinions, comments out here in LL? Perhaps I should wait--I just don't like to see him this high nailbite_smile Well, maybe not; he had a BG of 62 during his AM Cycle on 3/14/13 which would make the "dose-crease clock" only 4 cycles ago. I guess I better get out the Patience Pants and leave them on for 2 more cycles.... Any one have an opinion on me fattening the dose this morning?

As of 3/16/13 @6:00 AM EST:

party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat $295 RAISED! party_cat party_cat party_cat party_cat

Our GOAL is $1,000 - all we need is $705 more in ticket sales!

Direct link to FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER for more information and ticket purchase: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 ? feel like giving an opinion?

No opinion sorry! I just wanted to wish you luck and I hope you have a good day!
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 ? feel like giving an opinion?

Sorry about the high number this morning. When Furball's dose gets moved around, it usually takes her 2 to 3 days to get back on track. That's just my experience. I don't really feel comfortable giving dose advice. Hopefully someone with more dose experience will be able to answer your question later.
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 ? feel like giving an opinion?

Mary and Stella said:
No opinion sorry! I just wanted to wish you luck and I hope you have a good day!
Thank you so much Mary! Well, at +2 he's 370; could be meter variance, but then again that ugly AMPS 421 COULD of been about mid 300's with meter variance!!! Hopefully, Gobbles is doing a typical Lantus curve and his +2 = an active cycle :lol:
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 ? feel like giving an opinion?

carfurby said:
Sorry about the high number this morning. When Furball's dose gets moved around, it usually takes her 2 to 3 days to get back on track. That's just my experience. I don't really feel comfortable giving dose advice. Hopefully someone with more dose experience will be able to answer your question later.
Thanks for stopping in! He was clearing his bounces extremely quick, however, I think maybe the decreases on top of each other (I believe there were 6 in the past 2 weeks), was just too sudden...of course, the experts warned me about this :lol:
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 +2 370 ? feel like giving an opini

No opinion from newbie me, of course, but just wanted to send you good wishes and supportive virtual hugs. Hang in there! :smile:
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 +2 370 +6 285 ?opinion?

Hmmm....wonder if history will repeat itself? While studying his SS, I noticed his AM cycle on 3/14 had nearly identical numbers and then he slipped into the 60's at +9.5--I'm holding my breath to see what +9 looks like...
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 +2 370 +6 285 ?opinion?

:-D
Any one have an opinion on me fattening the dose this morning?

Of course we do! :lol: :lol: I think you fattened on the PS! Remember we don't dose on the PS ;-) ;-) But having said that, I am sure that at some point, I've done the same thing.

I would have left his dose alone for now because you were seeing nadirs below 200 and you also threw in a late shot which acts as a reduction. I'd have started Counting Cycles over again after the stalled shot. But at this point, I'd leave him where he is and see what he does.

And speaking of stalled shots. You have enough data now to shoot those lower numbers. Next time you get a shootable green number (above 50) and you have supplies and are rested, I'd like to see you post just to have someone available, do not feed that kitty, and then SHOOOOTTTT!!
If you had shot, you'd have been able to count ten cycles and if he wasn't doing a lot more with the dose, you could have taken him up knowing it was the right decision.

Thanks for visiting our condo last night! I did see your comment about nadirs....Gracie is on levemir so her cycles are really different than a lantus cycle. :-D And she likes to keep it interesting, my little Princess ;-)
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 +2 370 +6 285 ?opinion?

Marje and Gracie said:
I think you fattened on the PS! Remember we don't dose on the PS.... I'd have started Counting Cycle over again after the stalled shot. But at this point, I'd leave him where he is and see what he does...And speaking of stalled shots. You have enough data now to shoot those lower numbers. Next time you get a shootable green number (above 50) and you have supplies and are rested, I'd like to see you post just to have someone available, do not feed that kitty, and then SHOOOOTTTT!! ...Gracie is on levemir so her cycles are really different than a lantus cycle.
I confess--yes. fattened on PS (well, what actually IS the reasoning behind fat/skinny dosing?)I read Countind Cycles 2x; thanks! He was 62 when I stalled the other day (although that was only about an hour after I fed --duh me); so are you then saying that 62 is probably a safe shoot number (opinion here)? My worry was really that he MAY have been lower if silly he hadn't have fed him at +10.5 11.5....which is why I had to wait until +14, just in case. My bad. I have supplies on hand; though not rested (flippin' flu here) but not too sick to not shoot early :-D Well, +9 = 359 :sad: Tempted to shoot early (unless low, which I seriously doubt he will be) ...?!?
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 +2 370 +6 285 ?opinion?

Dyana said:
Interesting.
Spoke too soon & gave myself a jinx vine :lol: ; +9 = 359. I am very tempted to shoot early, however, I know that would be like an increased dose which at this point in time I have slapped on the PP for. However, quoted from Counting Cycles:

"Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir...stalling, shooting a reduced dose, shooting a BCS dose, skipping a shot, and fur shots can alter the effect on the insulin/depot on any given dose. If you have to do any of these things, the cycle count starts over. If you don't start over, you run the risk of kitty becoming over dose." Doesn't say anything about shooting early or should I be reading between the lines?

What I am saying is this: his next dose is scheduled at 8 pm EST (keep in mind that I subtracted 15 minutes at AMPS and 8 pm is 15 more minutes subtracted--from last nights PM Cycle)--anyone out there have an opinion of what they would do if Gobbles was their cat? I'm not looking for dosing advice, just opinions... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles AMPS 421 +2 370..285. +9 359 ? shoot tad ea

well, what actually IS the reasoning behind fat/skinny dosing?
It's to be able to "fine tune" the dose. If one dose is too much and the one that is .25u less is too little, then you can skinny/fatten doses to try and bring that nadir into the range you are looking for whether it be 50s or 80s or 100s.

so are you then saying that 62 is probably a safe shoot number
Absolutely but there are exceptions to be sure and stay safe:
  • if you don't have data to know what your cat will do (e.g. onset, nadir, duration as well as response to food)
  • if you don't have supplies
  • if you can't test starting with a +1 and +2

If all of those are a "yes", then it is safe to shoot 62. Many of us shoot anything above 50.

Here's what I suggest for you when he's having a bounce clearing cycle like the other evening when you stalled for two hours. As he's coming down, be sure and test him a little before +10 and if he's still dropping, just give him a couple tsp of LC. Just be sure he's done eating by +10. Alot of the time, that will keep them surfing into PMPS and since you fed two hours before PMPS, then the number won't be food influenced.

Shooting dropping numbers can allow you to take advantage of the overlap from one cycle to the next.....which is great for Gobbles. Be sure you understand the difference between a dropping number and a second dip.
A dropping number is like he had on 3/9 and 3/14 both at PMPS. A second dip is when kitty comes down, nadirs, goes back up, and then comes back down again at the end of the cycle (but that number is typically higher than the nadir on that day). He got a second dip on the a.m. cycle of 3/7.

When you shoot a dropping number, you absolutely must get the +1 and +2 because they can keep dropping! So it's important to feed a good meal at PS and then test....sometimes if you shoot a dropping 50s number, you'll even want to get a +.5.

As far as shooting early tonight, you gave a dose increase this morning so shooting early would be like another dose increase....and you don't feel well. IMHO, I wouldn't shoot early but it's entirely your decision. If you do shoot early, be sure you monitor and don't be surprised if there is any wonkiness....and remember your shot time tomorrow will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight.

Sending you healing vines!
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles PMPS 339 +4 246 +10 38

Gobbles woke me up early, purring & giving kisses; it's a good thing as he was very low at 5:15 a.m.! I was going to shoot a little early last night, however, I decided not to...

Recap:

PMPS 339
+4 236
+10 +9 38 (1 heaping T. HC w/gravy)
+10.5+9.5 (1 T. MC)
+11 +10 94

EDIT: I was off by an hour with the #'s and just now realized it!
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles PMPS 339 +4 246 +10 38 +10.5 54

He's earned a decrease because he was 38 @PM+9; if he was your cat, would you decrease? I am leaning on decreasing him; he basically picked at the HC & MC....he should of been much, much hungrier, in my opinion....so I gave him 1/4 cypro(Just opinions here)
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles PMPS 339.. 246 +10 38 +10.5 54 +11 94 ?decr

If he was my cat, I think I'd try a f0.25, but it's up to you.
Part of the 38 could be from the fat you put on the dose yesterday morning.

Congratulations on the dosecrease.
 
Re: 3/16 Gobbles PMPS 339.. 246 +10 38 +10.5 54 +11 94 ?decr

Dyana said:
If he was my cat, I think I'd try a f0.25, but it's up to you.
Part of the 38 could be from the fat you put on the dose yesterday morning.

Congratulations on the dosecrease.
Thanks Dyana. I was thinking maybe the same thing; geez though, even with my magnifying glasses, a fat .25 is going to be difficult to judge. OT: As I may be micro-dosing here soon, is it reasonable to say that a drop of insulin = .10 unit? For example, would a f0.25 be about 3 drops? Seems to me that drops can be different sizes... I've studied the micro-dosing link.... I will practice with an old syringe and water, to get the dosing correct in a bit...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top