3/16-Cini Mini- PMPS 87,+3/118,+6/119,+9/152

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61! Go Cini Go !

AAhh 61 at +.5, that's a little more like it!

I think I get a cup of coffee reduction, that was too much on my nerves ~O)
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61! Go Cini Go !

If you haven't stalled long and it hasn't been long since he ate, I would give him some insulin. For a newly diagnosed cat, the next step down is .1u. It's much better to shoot late ( if you can get back on schedule this weekend) then to skip.

I would hold off on the food management trial for right now. Let's see how he holds his reduction and if he'll quit bouncing on his own.

Also getting coffee but I had some other info to share with you.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61! Go Cini Go !

GO, MINI-MAN....GO!!!!!!!!!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I_Shall_Call_Him_Mini_Me.jpg
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61! Go Cini Go !

Marjorie and Gracie said:
If you haven't stalled long and it hasn't been long since he ate, I would give him some insulin. For a newly diagnosed cat, the next step down is .1u. It's much better to shoot late ( if you can get back on schedule this weekend) then to skip.

I would hold off on the food management trial for right now. Let's see how he holds his reduction and if he'll quit bouncing on his own.

Also getting coffee but I had some other info to share with you.


Hey Marjorie,

Cini's not a newly diagnosed cat. He's been on insulin for 4 years now. I think he's really supposed to follow the "If the BG drops below 40 three times, then reduce" route. That's another thing my Vet pointed out to me after she read the Roomp-Rand protocol I gave her.

So, it's been 2 hours since his regularly scheduled AMPS time and I've fed him 2% carb twice (once at +.5 and once at +1), do you think I should still give him some insulin? Maybe 0.10 units?
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61! Go Cini Go !

julie & punkin said:
:mrgreen:

perhaps the change in the asthma meds is doing this?

I was thinking a combination of the reduced asthma meds and the cosequin for the lumbar arthritis.

The true test on how well the asthma meds are controlling his asthma is going to come this weekend. It's supposed to get cold, windy and rainy which is usually when Cini has a wheezing episode.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61,+2/100! Go Cini Go !

Hey Cathy,

Cini-Mini is doing great.

I'm betting that the asthma meds are a big help for CM. Only because Curry spiked a 200 bg number the other week and I had to give her albuterol every 4-6 hours for 5 days and I'm now starting transitioning her to every 12 hrs on the stuff. I also decided to give her a "spot" of insulin to help keep her numbers lower right now. Her need for insulin increased last year at this time. Stupid oak pollen. I'm also tracking the Houston pollen count this year and compare the pollen counts w/her glucose numbers.

Yay on the meds working for CM.

hugs,
tena and curry
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61,+2/100! Go Cini Go !

Cathy

Sorry I didn't get back to you earlier. I checked back in a couple times and you werent on so I thought perhaps you were out for the day. And sorry that I forgot he was not newly diagnosed...I looked at his SS and morning fog was still in my brain ohmygod_smile

I hope you gave him insulin and I would have given him a full dose. You don't want to stall and shoot a reduced dose...the stalling acts as a dose reduction. We want to keep him on track.

Still finishing up some things here so will take the time in a bit to go through his SS and profile again and come back to you.
I'm assuming you plan on shooting his .25u dose tonight.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- AMBG 47,+.5/61,+2/100! Go Cini Go !

Hi Marjorie,

I haven't shot anything yet :oops: I was waiting to see what you recommended. Do you think I should go ahead and give him the full 0.25 units now? It would be 4 hours past his usuall AMPS time (and 1pm Pacific for me). But if I have to get up at 1am to keep him on track, I can do that. (Still on vacation :-D )

His +4 was 157, by the way.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- +12/47,+12.5/61,+14/100,+16/157, no AM s

Sorry we keep missing each other, Marjorie.

I went ahead and gave Cini 0.25 units @ +16.5 which will now be his AMPS.

Good thing they make alarm clocks so I can set mine for 1:30am for his PMPS tonight. @-)
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- +2.5/133

Cathy

Man...what a crazy day that we keep missing each other. There is not a problem with you giving the shot 4 hours late provided you shoot 12 hours from when you did today. Most of the time we only stall 2 hours because it gets too difficult to catch up in time but there is no reason to not shoot when you did as long as you can get him back on time in either 15 min increments each cycle or 30 mins once a day. If he starts rising fast on you up into the higher 200s or 300s, you can shoot an hour early but stay on top of the testing. That will help with the time but otherwise, if he does not bounce up high, please shoot next 12 hours from when you shot this morning.

Glad you shot the full dose :-D I would suggest that on his SS under "AMPS" that you put the number and then under it put @16.5. Then we can see you stalled that long.

For the future, if he throws you a number below 50 at PS, then feed just a tiny bit of LC and recheck in 30 mins and see where he is. I probably would have checked him at +13 and shot full dose at that time.

OK...back to the food management. When I said that increased insulin helps to minimize the bounce...I want to be clear in case others read this that this is a tool for a person who knows their cat and has lots of data to use in "fine tuning" the numbers. Most everyone should follow the protocol. But if your kitty is getting green nadirs where you couldn't really take them up but they are still bouncing, you can use this food management tool to try and take the entire curve up, flatten it, and then added a little more insulin to see if that would then bring the entire curve down.

I see members saying, and have said it myself, one dose is too much and the next is too little because of the bouncing. This can help you address this if you wish to try and bring those yellow/pink bounces down. The key is that you MUST feed the higher carb first and raise the curve first, then add the drop of insulin.

Just wanted to clarify that and I think you have potential to use that technique if you wish. But again, there is nothing wrong with leaving it as it is and see if, over time, he'll quit bouncing. He's shown that he can do it....

And sorry, again, that we kept getting our meeting up times off ;-) :-D :-D You did great by giving him some insulin.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- +2.5/133,+5/68

Hey Marjie, thanks for the detailed instructions.

Cini's +5 was 68, so I am just sitting here waiting for the other shoe to ...bounce :lol: ;-) So far, so good.

I was thinking the same thing this morning on feeding and then waiting to see if he went up enough to shoot. But, I didn't know where the cut off would be to "shoot" - I mean, am I brave enough to shoot a 50? Or a 60? nailbite_smile The lowest I've done so far was an 80 the other night. I figured with 80 I was ok since Cini's curves have been so nice and semi-flat. I think I need to stock up on more medium-carb and high-carb food! :lol:

And thanks for confirming ahead of time for me to shoot 12 hours from his AMPS, I wasn't quite sure of that. I can set my alarm for 1:30am tonight and get up and shoot. I like to move shot times back by 30 mins each day so I'll work on getting Cini back to a 9:00am shot time 30 mins at a time each day.

Let me know if I filled in the SS correctly with what you wanted to see at the AMPS. I didn't take a BG reading at +16.5 since I had just taken one at +16, so I just went ahead and shot without a reading.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- +2.5/133,+5/68

Well I certainly didn't expect THAT number at +5 after stalling for so long!! Holy cow!!!!

Hmmmm.....on the SS: normally, we would put 157 @ 16.5 and I suppose that is what you would put in this case since you shot at 16.5 but you did it based on the 157. One thing I do want to inject here is that you should really
test before you shoot no matter if you just did thiry minutes before. Cini may be pretty flat but you wouldn't want him to suddenly surprise you. Take for example what he did on 2/16; 101 at PMPS, 47 @ +2.5; the BG you got
thirty minutes after PMPS could have been really different. It also allows you to get an idea of how fast they might be dropping.

If you've shot an 80 ...think of it this way 80 x 20% = 16; so 80 - 16 = 64..... so that 80 you shot could have been an 80 or it could have been a 64...right? I'm a big believer in shooting anything above 50 if you have all the supplies you need, you will be there to monitor, it's not a really fast dropping 50 (unless the bean is very experienced and knows how to get that number up), etc. I'm certain you could have shot the 60 with no sweat if you were going to be home to monitor.

Great job!! Hope he gives you a nice surf. And if he stops bouncing on his own here pretty quickly, I wouldn't attempt any fine tuning of his curve. I'd just let it be. I'd only think about it if he bounces up into those yellows/pinks.

Let me know if you have any questions.
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- +2.5/133,+5/68,+9/58

Thanks Marjorie!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: o:-)

Looks like he's still surfing with a 58 at +9 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- PMPS 87

Blargh....1:30am Pacific @-)

PMPS is 87 and I am giving 0.25 units Lantus.

Going back to sleep now. I'll set the alarm for 3 hours from now to post Cini's +3
 
Re: 3/16-Cini Mini- PMPS 87,+3/118,+6/119

Nice night with a +3 of 118 and this morning a +6 of 119, stay just below the normal range of 50-120 :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top