3/16 Chino|AMPS=443|+6=251|PMPS=354|+2=353|+4=324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

5th cycle on 8.5 units.

Chino's PM cycles are too unpredictable to use R at night, but there are nights that could really benefit from it. I got up to check his +8 (usual nadir) at 3 AM and it was 417, so the actual nadir happened between +4 and +8. If I continue to see a higher +8 than the +4, that would support the theory of an early Lantus peak as the cause of the extended mid-cycle low seen yesterday and on 3/13, so I'm going to start getting a PM +8 again even when there's no chance of seeing green, blue, or yellow.
 
I love it when he's consistent.

AMPS = 443
[8.5 units L, 1.5 units R]
+2 = 335

2 days ago on 3/14:

AMPS = 443
[8.5 units L, 1.5 units R]
+2 = 334

It will be interesting to see how the rest of the cycle unfolds.
 
The high numbers overnight and this morning could be a bounce from the yellows yesterday. He had an even bigger drop today from 443 in the morning to 249 at +4, so I'm going to decrease the amount of R I'm giving him... I just don't want to go back to solid pink.
 
Yeah, with those unexpected greens he throws at you once in a while in the middle of the night, you would have to be real careful using R before bedtime. Better safe than sorry & just hit him with some R in the morn like you did today.
 
Again, he's showing the 2nd pattern... On 2 separate days, he got the same dose of both insulins for the same AMPS. Though looking at 3/13, it actually follows the 2nd pattern as well. He didn't go below 300 (possibly because of the fur shot the night before) but his lowest BGs were at +4 and +6, and they were virtually the same number (308/306). He has shown this pattern 4 days in a row now on the daytime cycle, while the original pattern that emerged on 3/06 and continued through 3/11 was last seen on the night of 3/13.

If the Lantus onset or peak is happening earlier, or if the higher dose is doing a better job of lowering his BG, that could account for some of it. Should I reduce the dose of R every time I increase the Lantus? It looks like both were increased together on other cats' spreadsheets, but maybe he doesn't need as much R as we get closer to an effective L dose.
 
If +8 is still his Lantus nadir, it's been getting lower every day. I want to take it as a good sign, but I know it might be influenced by the R action earlier in the cycle. Today's +8 was 337.

Does last night's cycle look like a bounce? I really want to give him at least a few hours each day under 300, but not if it's going to destroy his PM cycles. That worries me because I have no way to assess the impact of the Lantus other than by looking at his PM cycles. It never did much during the day; with 2 exceptions, all of his daytime +8s since 1/19 (on 4 units) have been above 300.
 
6th cycle on 8.5 units. Yesterday's PM cycle was ugly. If it was a bounce, then I need to cut down on the amount of R I'm giving. His response to the same dose for the same AMPS as 2 days ago was much more dramatic today. That's a good sign, right? I'm just hesitant to increase his dose tomorrow morning if all I'm seeing is Novolin R action and bouncing.

Fox only ate 50-75% of his 2nd meal today (the one with SEB powder in it). Maybe he doesn't like the taste... but they first got SEB in their food last night and he ate all of it. At least that's one thing I never have to worry about with Chino. He'll eat anything.

I went on localvets.com, searching for veterinary internal medicine, and found another vet. They're just 10 minutes from the apartment and they only see cats. I requested a 3/25 appt. Their website had a new client coupon for a free first visit, so I have nothing to lose if they turn out to be no better than his current vet... but I'm hoping Chino will get better care from more knowledgeable clinicians there.
 
Again, the fuzzball only ate about 2/3 of the meal with SEB in it. I gave him less than 1/8 tsp, but added a tbsp. of water... maybe he just isn't used to the extra volume. IDK. I think he needs it more than Chino does. He seemed more interested in Chino's empty bowl than in finishing what was in his own bowl.

Since I'm trying to keep my expectations realistic, I'm hoping that his +8 tonight will be under 400. If it's yellow, that would be great... but I'm not counting on it. We're going up to 9 units tomorrow.
 
Should I reduce the dose of R every time I increase the Lantus?
No.
Does last night's cycle look like a bounce? I really want to give him at least a few hours each day under 300, but not if it's going to destroy his PM cycles. That worries me because I have no way to assess the impact of the Lantus other than by looking at his PM cycles.
you can assess the Lantus dose buy not using R for several cycles. Maybe after you are 2 cycles into the next increase stop the R and continue for 2 or so cycles using just Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top