3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160 +9 152 PMPS 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

CanisLupus

Member Since 2014
Good morning all,

Yesterday's condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115475

Well, a good start for my Birthday, I got the lowest reading since I've started this journey, an AMPS of 184! Of course, this comes with a downside of sorts, he isn't eating as nearly as well as he has been. I think I'll let this one ride for a little before I break out the appetite stimulant though. He is eating a little, but with his numbers so much lower, he may just not be hungry. I'm sure the diabetes was driving a lot of his hunger. Now only if he would get up and do something, his lethargy is killing me. I think more frequent testing will be in order today though, make sure he doesn't drop too low.

In reply to some of the comments yesterday (in which I was way to busy to get back here).

Thanks Julie for the early Birthday greeting! Yes, I will adjust his eating schedule, just not all at once. And besides, he's a strange cat, He doesn't like boiled chicken. I've even tried butting bits of homemade Chicken in cat food. He ate the cat food from around the chicken, and left the chicken sitting in the bowl! And he hasn't shown too much interest in any of the freeze dried fish I picked up for him either. He wants kitty junk food! :lol:

Thanks Carla, we'll adjust. Those yellows yesterday were nice, but seeing a blue up there is just plain fantastic!

Thanks Chris, no bounce yet, but I'm sure it's waiting out there, hiding, ready to pounce when I'm not suspecting it. :-D I'm not going to worry too much about adjusting his food schedule today, since he isn't eating as well as I'd like, I just need to be sure he eats.
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184

Happy birthday, Brian! What a beautiful start to the day. I hope it continues for you without any ugly bounces (or scary dips)!

I can sympathize with you. Jersey won't eat "real" food, either. She wants Meow Mix, Twinkies, and Ritz crackers!!!! ohmygod_smile I hope you find a feeding schedule (and foods) that Bonk will like!

Shelly
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184

Woo hoo on the blue this morning. What a great birthday present. Happy Birthday to you. :RAHCAT flip_cat party_cat

Today would be a good day to get some data on what Bonk does in lower numbers.
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184

Happy Birthday Brian dancing_cat dancing_cat

Nice start for Bonk this morning! What a sweetie to give you such a nice bday gift!
Your condo about his food wanting routine yesterday made me laugh. You gotta check out the video on Rachel and Chyna's condo today! It is so fitting!
Have a great Sunday!
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

He definitely isn't eating like before, but with some effort, I am getting him to eat. He is doing some wandering around the house now, so we will see how it goes. New reading at AM +3, 160!

Thanks Shelly! Meow Mix, Twinkies, and Ritz crackers, wow, I thought Bonk's preferred foods were bad! :lol:

Thanks Carla! I'm working on getting that lower number data. I need to start monitoring closely with his numbers getting so low.

Thanks Kim! Most of the time he is a very patient kitty. At mean times, when I'm at the counter preparing meals, he'll go over and sit by his food dish and wait. Faolan on the other hand sits next to me and meows his head off. Then he makes it almost impossible to walk over to the eating area with his food dish. :lol: Just watched that video. Creepy is an understatement! That was great though!
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

What a great B-day present! Guess he wants you to stay home and party! Maybe that's it, he's saving room for cake!
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

:lol: Thanks Ann! My life has been so busy with work, that's exactly what I'm doing on my Birthday, staying home and relaxing. I don't get to do that nearly often enough. So Bonk is getting just that, my company. Saving room for cake, I love it! Just what every diabetic needs! :lol:
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

Happy Birthday Brian! You get to relax at home and check to make sure his numbers are safe.

Nice blue present from Bonk. So far he is looking good.. sliding down nicely.
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

Happy birthday, Brian! Looks like Bonk picked the perfect way to celebrate....what a gorgeous start to the day! I hope his appy picks up....maybe he's not as hungry now that his numbers are running lower??

Have a wonderful, relaxing birthday!!
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

Happy Birthday Brian!!!!

How nice of Bonk to give you such a pretty blue present too!

It's always "fun" when we have finicky cats who won't eat what we so lovingly prepare for them...then at some point, we find just the right thing they absolutely LOVE!...and they instantly decide it's no longer edible and we have to start over :lol:

I think we've all dealt with this cat a few times
 

Attachments

  • My human bought me a whole case of my favorite food...Now I can't like it anymore (Custom).jpg
    My human bought me a whole case of my favorite food...Now I can't like it anymore (Custom).jpg
    78 KB · Views: 470
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

I don't think I've had a chance to say hello yet...so hi, and welcome :-D AND Happy Birthday! party_cat It's beautiful blue for Bonk today, I hope he gives you a nice slide without too much drama for the bean ;-) . I hope you can find a good treat for him too, picky kitties :lol: . Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160

Happy Birthday Brian! It does look like Bonk would like you to spend the day with him. Hope he surfs safely. I hope his appetite improves; sending along some appy vines. I couldn't get my Maggie to eat boiled chicken either. Her favorite kitty crack was potato chips, when one would accidentally fall on the floor. :-D How is Bonk doing on his Megacolon meds? Have a nice day.
 
Re: 3/16 Bonk AMPS 184 +3 160 +9 152

Today has been a great Birthday, Bonk gave me the best present of the day! He gave me numbers like I haven't seen since this whole journey started (152 at +9!). Not only that, he has been a cat I haven't seen in months! I had him running, chasing a string, pouncing, pooping, everything I would expect from a cat! Now if he would only eat a little more, without me having to have three different flavors of cat food served out for him.

Now I'm fearing the bounce that I'm probably going to see. And I imaging he got lower than that 152. I was planning to get in a +6 today, but some friends stopped by unexpectedly, and I didn't get it. Oh well, I'm pretty sure he stayed in the safe range anyway.

Thanks Catherine! So far, still lot of blue!

Thanks Amy, I think you are right. He feels much better, and the diabetes isn't driving his hunger, so he feels he can go back to being his picky self, and hold out in hopes of dry food. :roll: :smile:

Thanks Chris! Yes, that picture is definitely Bonk! :lol:

Thanks for the welcome and birthday greetings Rachel! I'll find the right treat sooner or later (though he says the right treat is those high carb Ponce and Temptations treats!)

Thanks Ann! His appetite got a little better this evening, but it still has room for improvement. Potato Chips, that's an unusual food for a cat to like, but I guess you never know. :lol: As for his megacolon meds, those are going fine overall. I get them into him everyday with little drama. When he seems me walking towards him at about the time I would be giving them, he ducks down, because he knows whats coming next, but he takes them. I give him a lot at once though, and I know he hates it. I have to give him his miralax in a syringe mixed with water just like the lactoluse and the cisapride. I have no guarantee he will eat his full dish of canned food each time, and not Faolan. So it's just easier to give it that way. At least I'm sure he gets it. But it does mean he gets almost two tsp. of fluid in one sitting between all the meds.
 
It looks like the dreaded but expected bounce may be beginning. 152 at +9 to 281 at PMPS. That's quite the shift considering he hasn't eaten a whole lot in those three hours. Unless he has another secret stash someplace. :lol:
 
Hey, at least you got a reason for a bounce! China's had beautiful numbers all day and all the sudden is in the 200's!

That's one of the most frustrating things about this disease!!

Here's something to make you smile though!
cat2.gif
 
what a nice birthday gift from Bonk! congratulations on the great numbers today! glad you're having a good day.

when he bounces, it can last 72 hrs (3 days) from the "lower number event." just wait it out and don't raise the dose because of those higher numbers. he'll come back down.
 
That was a nice birthday gift from Bonk today with not only nice numbers, but that he was playful and running. You really know Bonk, as you knew he might bounce. I'm glad the Megacolon meds are working out and you have a system. Maggie used to also start slowly move away hoping to disappear when she knew those meds were coming. It is a lot they need to take just to have a bm, and then I felt lucky if Mags went once in three days. Hope Bonk gives you another good day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top