Re: 3/15Max/Elise AMPS 324+3=313
Elise:
There are a few things to be mindful of. First, this may be the tail end of a bounce and/or a high before a break in the numbers. Gabby does this on occasion. If you hinge your emotions to Max's numbers, you're going to be miserable. It's why we ask you to post how Max is doing -- a "whole cat" report. He's more than his numbers. Is he happy? Playful? Affectionate?
Make sure that you are sticking with the protocol and not holding doses for too long. Holding a dose that's not putting Max's numbers in the range where you want them, isn't a good dose. You don't want to be overly aggressive but you need to make sure you have a feel for how a dose is working.
Like Julie was saying, there's a lot here that depends on your kitty and how well you know your kitty. There's no hard and fast rule for how often to test. As an example, Gabby has a tendency to keep me on my toes. She likes hard, fast, early drops. As a result, I test early in the cycle and if her numbers appear to be heading down I either test more often (every 30 min.) and/or I feed some HC to slow things down. How I steer Gabby's number won't be right for every cat but it's right for her. You may want to look at other people's SSs to get a feel for how others manage their kitties' numbers.