3/15Haley PMPS 82,86 +1,63 +2,41 +2.5,76 +3,85 +3.75,105 +4.75 58+ 10.5, 97 +6, 101 +6.5,119 +9.95

Just been watching your cycle - it's beautiful! Glad you shot! You're doing great - every day it gets easier to manage :bighug:

Thank you, Susanne. I was a bit overwhelmed to the point of tears, today. I've never started a day with no shot. She's beginning to avoid me :( I have to be really stealthy to "catch her", otherwise, she's in her cat tree and that's easy. Thank God, she knows to sit like a loaf and she's so so good. She's amazing. I'm soooo glad she's doing well! I'm shooting for remission! Thanks for the kind words. They do help :)
 
I will quote what @Bandit's Mom wrote earlier today:

"Usual AM shot time: 7:30am
Today's shot time: 8:15 am (correct?)
Today's PM shot time: 7:45 pm
"

Tomorrow morning you will test at your usual hour: 7:30AM

But that wasn’t her instructing me what to do. That was part of an explanation of something else that she had said prior. Plus that was before 9 AM this morning so it wasn’t taking into consideration the rest of her cycle for the whole day.
 
But that wasn’t her instructing me what to do. That was part of an explanation of something else that she had said prior. Plus that was before 9 AM this morning so it wasn’t taking into consideration the rest of her cycle for the whole day.
What is your usual shooting time and when did you shoot today?
 
My usual shooting times are 7:30am and 7:30 pm.

I shot today at 8:15am.

I inquired about whether I should test her at 5:30 or just wait until 730 because during the day we were testing her every in a half hour, an hour 15 min., an hour 15 min, 3 hours, and 2 hours because of her numbers.

A normal day would be 7:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 7:30 PM, 11:30 PM.
 
My usual shooting times are 7:30am and 7:30 pm.

I shot today at 8:15am.

I inquired about whether I should test her at 5:30 or just wait until 730 because during the day we were testing her every in a half hour, an hour 15 min., an hour 15 min, 3 hours, and 2 hours because of her numbers.

A normal day would be 7:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 7:30 PM, 11:30 PM.

So per what Bhooma wrote earlier: "If your AM shot was delayed by 30 mins, you can shoot at your usual time at PM. There is a leeway for a half hour here and there wrt shot timings per day." Since your morning shot was delayed by 45 min, you leeway half an hour but you still have to push your evening shot by 15 min.

Today PM shot will be at 7:45PM
 
Should I be giving her a little LC treat after I give her her shot?

The routine is Test/Feed/Shoot....most of us shoot while their head is in the bowl eating so there's no need for a post-shot snack.

She should get a little snack after every test though but most of us have some kind of "testing treat" (like freeze dried chicken) that's zero carb and just a little bribe for being good while we tested
 
Yes, I test/feed/shoot. I give her her shot when she’s eating, if she wants to eat.

I’ve been giving her FF tuna treats after I test her. When those are all gone I’m going to use the canned tuna in water that I already have, like we previously discussed.

So, am I giving her her shot at 7:45?
 
I'd plan on getting a +11 at 6:45 tonight with the hope of shooting at 7:45 tonight.

Assuming she's high enough tonight at PMPS to go ahead and shoot, her AM dose tomorrow would be at 7:45am and the PM dose would be back at 7:30pm
 
Oh boy!! Shot your first green Pre-shot!! You've earned the coveted BOS award!!
upload_2021-3-15_19-9-43.png


Be sure to get a +1 and +2 to get started. Hopefully she'll have another great night (or maybe even earn a reduction to .5......she's come close!)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-3-15_19-9-43.png
    upload_2021-3-15_19-9-43.png
    27.5 KB · Views: 333
62@ +2....fed a little LC food
41@ +2.5....HC gravy plus a little food

Retesting in 20 minutes

CONGRATULATIONS! She earned that reduction! Tomorrow's dose will be .5 (no matter how high she might bounce)
 
She's at 58 at +10.5. I gave her some FF Beef Gravy Lover's Gravy along with a bit of the meat of it. Testing again in 30 minutes.
 
Last edited:
I’m sure I’ll wake up in the middle of the night, so, should I test her again then? But maybe will decide on that when we get her next test results?

As far as I'm concerned, every test gives you one more piece of data so there's no such thing as too much testing, especially with a kitty like Haley who is doing things on her own timetable, not ours.

If you'd had a month or six to learn about how your insulin works, how Haley responds to different types of food, learn her little "tells" when she's feeling wrong, that'd be one thing but she's put you on the fast track.
 
She's at 101 at +6.5. I gave her FF Beef Gravy Lover's a few minutes before I tested her. Any more testing before bed? I'll probably get up in the middle of the night. Should I test her then?
 
As far as I'm concerned, every test gives you one more piece of data so there's no such thing as too much testing, especially with a kitty like Haley who is doing things on her own timetable, not ours.

If you'd had a month or six to learn about how your insulin works, how Haley responds to different types of food, learn her little "tells" when she's feeling wrong, that'd be one thing but she's put you on the fast track.

I get it. Every kitty is different. I have to learn all I can about Haley. I'll test her if I wake up during the night. Is it bed time and I'll test her then?
 
It's 2:30am. I'm up with her at 7:30. I've asked a few times if I can go to bed and no one is answering.
 
Just tested her at 119 at +9.5 in the middle of the night. I'm going back to bed. Back up with her in two hours.
 
Last edited:
Ty but I’m not brave. I only did it because I was advised to. I’m actually not doing well right now. I’m getting confused and overwhelmed.

In 2017, I was here working with getting Mouzer into remission. I got scared at a 150 reading...
And I am back now, as Mouzer has come out of remission. He got a 151 reading yesterday and I began to panic at the very thought of how if I get this reading at a shot time, I am going to freak out all over again hahaha And even if I get a 199 at shot time, I am going to freak out. I do not have the type of nerves that will get comfortable with time hahaha Maybe with experience, but I do not have that. I think it took a lot of nerve to give that shot! Congratulations on everything! Your thread kept me on edge all the way through reading everything :)
 
Shirley, you are doing an amazing job at being so new to all of this. Two weeks in and you are seeing great numbers. Relax and breath. It is all overwhelming when we are new. I've been here three months and am still learning but I'm going much slower on purpose. Just be careful and don't be in a hurry to get Haley into remission. Her safety is the most important thing.
 
In 2017, I was here working with getting Mouzer into remission. I got scared at a 150 reading...
And I am back now, as Mouzer has come out of remission. He got a 151 reading yesterday and I began to panic at the very thought of how if I get this reading at a shot time, I am going to freak out all over again hahaha And even if I get a 199 at shot time, I am going to freak out. I do not have the type of nerves that will get comfortable with time hahaha Maybe with experience, but I do not have that. I think it took a lot of nerve to give that shot! Congratulations on everything! Your thread kept me on edge all the way through reading everything :)

Hi, Cherryl. Thank you for writing. I’m sorry to hear that Mouzer came out of remission. Your heart must’ve just sank. Yeah, being under 158 shot time is not fun. The same thing happened yesterday and it was the day from hell. She kept me busy from 7:30 AM to 2:30 AM. But it’s OK. I’ll do what I have to do for my girl. I don’t have the nurse to be comfortable in time either. I only gave the shot because I was instructed to. I didn’t know it was as important as it was. Thanks for the congratulations! Ty for following the thread. Well I’m off to test her again! Wish me luck!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top