? 3/15 Simon AMPS 457

KarrieK

Member Since 2019
My sugar kitty has jumped into red territory and I'm concerned. He really spoiled me during the month of February, where he was regularly in the blues and greens. Last weekend he came down with a UTI (and is still on an antibiotic for that as it's a 14 day deal) but I believe that is gone as he's peeing better. I also thought he had a pancreatitis flare up last weekend, but those symptoms have subsided as well. Could these scary numbers still be attriuted to last weekend? I realized I increased him a little higher than TR calls for, but seeing those numbers over 400 caused me to panic. Is there something else I should be doing - or - could this be normal for a 17 1/2 year old with all of his health issues?

Thank you for any and all advice and support - I'm in anxious mode today......
 
Last edited:
What type of antibiotic is he on? Pill or liquid? Often for some strange reason antibiotic liquids go in a sugar solution. :banghead: Could you put something like "starting antibiotic" in the Remarks part of the spreadsheet. it's always a good idea to add new meds/food comments. Infection/inflammation can raise the blood sugar. How is Simon acting otherwise?

With nadirs all over 300 you can increase by 0.5 units, so the increase was probably OK. Just hold this dose at least six cycles. You might be seeing some NDW today. And please get night time tests every single night. TR requires four tests a day, two per cycle.

The link to your last post here for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-86-wondering-if-im-managing-this-ok.225960/
 
Thanks Wendy, he's on a liquid form of Baytril. Funny you should ask, as it does seem to be flavored (I tasted it), kind of like bubble gum. Also I will try add that info to the spreadsheet - I understand that would be important information to include. Will definitely check him at least twice more today. Thankfully he's acting OK today. Not quite as frisky as he has been but eating and litterbox issues are fine.

Also, I could not find NDW in the glossary.....what does that mean?
 
Back
Top