3/15 Shay pmps 117, gave 1.25, +1 = 108, +2.5 = 58 ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

kmskali

Member
Should I be worried? I gave him a small snack of his sisters food, Nature's Variety Chicken (a bit higher in carbs than his FF) at +1 and was hoping he would stabilize a bit. Instead, he dropped 50 points and he's only at +2.5. Just as a reminder, he's been diabetic for 5 years, but he's only been on Lantus for a week and two days. I am up and planning on staying up until I start to see his numbers rise. Any advice would be much appreciated.
 
Now, he's at about +3.25 and he's gone from 58 to 65. I am going to keep checking for the next couple of hours and if I continue seeing an upward trend, I'll go to bed for a few hours. Uggghhh ... BTW, he's seems totally fine. Annoyed that I am bothering him at this time of the night when we are both usually sound asleep, but he's fine. He's sitting in his favorite spot, kneading his pillow and seems content. Do you think if by +4 or +5 he is going up that we can be pretty sure he's going to be OK?
 
Nice surfing for Shay. 65 is a good number. Sounds like a good plan to see if Shay brings his numbers up a bit before you go to bed.

Generally I would feed the 50's regular Low carb food...
feed the 40's a fresh can - maybe medium carbs, (could be low carb with a touch of gravy to get to medium carb.)
feed the 30's the high carb gravy food.

If you need to go to sleep you can bump his BG numbers up with HC food instead of regular LC FF. And leave out food for Shay to snack on overnight. You may already know all this, but thought I add it just in case. :-D You are doing great. Good luck!
 
Shay is looking good. I'd feed some low carb -- not a lot, a teaspoon or two -- every hour to keep him surfing. I can't really tell from your SS when Shay's nadir is - you don't yet have enough data. If he's staying consistently in the 50s - 60s for another hour or so, you can assume he's going to surf. Just keep feeding small amounts and then leave food out so you can get some sleep. You can even give MC if you're worried about his numbers dropping. It does look like he's trying for a decrease so hold your dose consistent. I'm not sure why you dropped the AM dose. I'm presuming you weren't comfortable shooting the full dose with the PMPS of 117.

BTW, I don't necessarily think that was a fur shot on 3/11. Shay was may have been lower than the 185 at PM +8 and the subsequent red was a bounce.
 
Thank you all so much for your support. It's great to have this board!!! Shay's +4 is 80, so we're seeing a good trend. I didn't feed any high carb food, just a spoonful of regular food. He seems fine, ready for another little snack (I give treats of cooked chicken or a little bit of cheese after I test his bg's), so I better go find him in the kitchen. Then, it's off to bed for this tired mama. Thanks again guys!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top