3/15-Scratchie-AMPS-254

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

3/14 Condo

Well good morning all. I apologize for not getting back on here last night. Worked at tbp all day, then had more work to do last night. By the time I logged out, I was pretty tired. Oh well, that extra money helps in costs.

I sure didn't mean to start a problem yesterday - so apologize for that.

Thanks Mel, Dan, Heather, Debbie, Sienne and Marje for your input. Now I need to decide what is best for my boy. I know that we aren't special, that there are a lot of folks on the boards who are single, don't have help, work, go to school and still handle all of this - I just need to be comfortable and need to decide what will do that.

He was very playful and happy this morning! We played hide-n-seek for about 20 minutes, then he ate really well and was a member of the CPC twice!

Mel, I am on day 14 of this pen. I show the day count in my spreadsheet in the column just before 'comments'. I am at tbp so can't be on long - they frown on using web for anything other than work.

Hope everyone has a great day, great numbers. I'll try to post tonight - shouldn't have to work from home.

Thanks!

Jo
 
Jo,

No apologizes necessary here. You asked for a second opinion and I gave you just that...My opinion, of how I would handle things if Scratchie was my furchild and I was looking at what you are looking at...Sienne & Marje gave you theirs...now it is up to you to decide what is best for your boy. Regardless of what you choose we will work with that and try to make it work for you and Scratchie. You hold the syringe and you know him best. We are pretty easy going over here...in fact if you read through the condos we do a lot more just chit-chatting than anything else. Everyone tries to help out by suggesting things to try and not all of it concerns the cats..lol You will find everything over here from jokes, to recipes shared, to dosing advice.

We are a small friendly bunch that are all struggling with different challenges of life with sugarcats...From Dan with his soon to arrive twin bundles of joy, Deb with her Lucian that absolutely refuses to read the stickies on how to be a good sugarcat, Heather with Sneakers who drinks insulin like most of us drink coffee, to myself with a small zoo of cats that no one else is crazy enough to put up with but my DH & I. :lol: We all have crazy schedules, weird demands on our time and wanting the absolute best for our furry babies. We just try to help everyone find the best way to balance it all and keep everyone safe and sane.

One thing that I have learned with my own sugarcats and for that matter all my cats, is that no two cats are alike any more that any two humans are the same. They are all unique...What worked with Maxwell, didn't work with Musette, and what worked with Musette and Maxwell didn't always work for Autumn. And what has worked for mine, may or may not work for Lucian, Jez, Cedric, Frankie or Scratchie...they all dance to their own music that only they can hear. In fact I have two civies here that are twin littermates that are as opposite as day and night even though they were raised exactly the same from the day I found them as still borns and was able to save them. Myrrdin is outgoing, friendly and always in trouble..so much so that even at now nearly 4 years old he has still earning his nickname as the Sh*tten, he is just trouble on 4 paws, his sister Duvessa is shy, quiet, and nervous about everything and such a momma's girl. Myrrdin rushes head long into life, Duvessa slinks her way through life with caution and trepidation. They both present me with different challenges everyday. But I also think that is the beauty of cats they are all so different and unique.

Now we just need to figure out what is going to work for you and Scratchie and only you are going to know that because he is your boy. If that is going up in dose great, if it is trying to reboot him and find a dose that keeps him in safe numbers also great. Nothing here is mandatory it is all just suggestions of stuff that has worked well for one of us on our own cats that if you want to try it is up to you. No one's feelings are going to be hurt and we will just keep throwing things out there to see what works and what doesn't.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Scratchie'smom said:
3/14 Condo



Thanks Mel, Dan, Heather, Debbie, Sienne and Marje for your input. Now I need to decide what is best for my boy. I know that we aren't special, that there are a lot of folks on the boards who are single, don't have help, work, go to school and still handle all of this - I just need to be comfortable and need to decide what will do that.

He was very playful and happy this morning! We played hide-n-seek for about 20 minutes, then he ate really well and was a member of the CPC twice!

Mel, I am on day 14 of this pen. I show the day count in my spreadsheet in the column just before 'comments'. I am at tbp so can't be on long - they frown on using web for anything other than work.

Hope everyone has a great day, great numbers. I'll try to post tonight - shouldn't have to work from home.

Thanks!

Jo


Hi Jo, I'm Em and I am single, don't have help at home, work and went to school until last year (glad that's done). And I'm pretty sure that I'm not the only one who thinks you're quite special for being able to pull it all off.

I know you've been at this for a very long and likely very frustrating time.......but I looked at Scratchies ss and its quite clear you are doing a fine job with your furbaby.....especially the way you pay attention to all the little details and record so much information...he's a lucky cat for sure.

And I'll confess - I am easily intimidated, so after my introduction post and getting a wealth of information from the TR folks - I lurked quietly because I knew there was no way I could manage all of the requirements of what seemed to be the only way to get my girl better.....then I started seeing Mel and Deb posting back and forth here and felt like it was safe to say something......and they've been absolutely great, especially with reassuring me that you do the best you can with what you have and its all good.

Em
 
(((Jo))))

You didn't start a problem! This is what this board is all about. There has to be discussion ...that's what makes it work. I know it does rather cloudy the waters for you and I am sorry about that.

here are the goals on which we all agree:

  • you want to try SLGS approach; I think you've been in between the two protocols but likely already leaning more towards SLGS in the way you've dosed; which is fine!
  • a dose that gets him in the 100-200 range
  • regulation
  • a dose that makes you be able to have a life, not be up all night, be able to work, and know he's safe
.
The only difference in opinion is how we get there. Sienne and I believe you go up to come down; Mel believes you need to start over. It's your decision and I bet that no matter which you choose, we will all support you and help you get to the goals.
 
Scratchie'smom said:
Thanks Mel, Dan, Heather, Debbie, Sienne and Marje for your input. Now I need to decide what is best for my boy. I know that we aren't special, that there are a lot of folks on the boards who are single, don't have help, work, go to school and still handle all of this - I just need to be comfortable and need to decide what will do that.

Jo

I beg to digress- we ARE special- and NOT the short bus special :lol:

Work- check
school- check
single- yep- no ring on the finger- check
sugar cat- check
sanity- ... :? :oops: :roll: ... remains to be seen and only in small amounts between late nights, early wake up calls, mid-terms, finals, and those pesky 6 month insurance is due now calls.

You will do great.

I'm on during the week usually, weekends hardly, and with, as Mel said, a cat that drinks insulin by the cup rather than the thimble, sometimes out of my league :lol:

Heather
 
I just wanted to chirp in real quick... Although my wife is an amazing woman, I have not once asked her to help me with anything that I have done with Frankie, only that she be understanding and accommodating with the demanding schedule...I do hope that once I get to the point where I feel Frankie will be comfortable with other's helping her I will be able to have my wife, or my rescue addicted neighbor help. As for now, I am the lone ranger in her treatment (save for my band of internet crusaders) :lol: I think is takes a "special" sort of "crazy" that I see in all of us here to manage this and remain relatively sane...we are here to help each other not only in treatment, but in support for the trials in tribulations of life with out extra sweet kitties... (yes I am a 34 year old man that just said that) See... crazy.... but special crazy.... (who said that?) Anyways... together we can help you figure this all out... No trouble... nothing to see here... just keep calm and move on ;-)
 
Thanks everyone for your support and comments. For right now I'm seeing better numbers so I am going to hold where we are. For now.

Mel, thank you for your patience, your comments, reviews and the time you have spent - please also tell your friend thank you as well!

I'll talk to you all later!

Jo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top