3/15 Sasha AMPS 389 +1 480 +5.5 261 PMPS 345 +2 333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66187

Good morning everyone!!! ~O)

What a weird few hours it's been!Last night at 11PM he was at 181. I pulled his food for the night. So we go to sleep and I happen to wake up at 3;30 AM, decided to test him and WHAM... a BG reading of 544. :? Wow! So I just tested him at 5 AM, and he's now at 416. I gave him .75 ml fluids, he was very thirsty. He peed alot in the past few hours. He's acting normal though, just whiney because he's hungry...

Oh and I just got a negative ketone test!!!! :-D :-D :-D

To be continued..... nailbite_smile
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416

Hi Tara,

I'm very happy to read that Sasha is staying ketone negative!! Have you gotten the blood ketone meter. Sorry if you posted any readings and I missed them. My cat Sid was DKA 3 times in January and someone donated a meter to me also. I've been testing him with that and doing the urine strip. Here's to keeping those ketones away!!!

Lydia
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416

Good morning Lydia!!! I'm sorry about Sid having ketones 3 times in a month :cry: was he always ketone prone? I didnt get the meter yet, I cant wait for it!!! LOL, its rough following Sasha to the litterbox,he's a sneak, but once i find him in there, he's not shy!
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416

~O) ~O) ~O) :cool:

Yay for negative ketones !
Looks like you will have a PS you can comfortably shoot. Do you leave food out for him to eat during the day while you are at work?

eta - it looks like you misplaced the overnight tests on the ss
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416

Hi Tara,

No he wasn't. The ketones took me totally by surprise. He was eating acting normal and his readings were not super high - in fact I had some issues with him going too low sometimes - but then one evening he refused to eat and was hiding. The next morning he was vomiting all over and hiding so I took him to ER. That started the whole thing. It was my fault too though for not testing him for ketones but honestly, I didn't think his readings were high enough. I still should have been testing him, but my last diabetic cat had high numbers and never developed ketones but I have learned the hard way to always test for ketones no matter what because you never know when an infection might make them pop up.

turns out Sid had a kidney infection and then was diagnosed with small cell lymphoma and IBD. Currently he is recovering from pneumonia, but he has not been in the hospital for over a month :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
I test ketones every single day now sometimes 2 or 3 times.

He ended up going back to the hospital because I didn't know about R and the vets and everyone else kept saying that I could't treat ketones at home so when they showed up, I took him back to the hospital. But the day after the 3rd hospital visit, he had small to moderate ketones and I knew we weren't going back so I used R and fluids and got him down and hes been good ever since. (My vet finally told me how to use R and fluids to get rid of ketones when I told him Sid was not going back to tthe hospital. I was out of $$$$$!!!!!)

You were lucky to get such good advice during your crisis from people here on FDMB.
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416

Morning Sandy!!! :cool: Just took his AMPS - he dropped to 389 so I went ahead and gave him his usual dose!!! Yes, I leave plenty of food for him when I'm not home. I freeze food over night so he can nibble on it during the day. The timed feeders scare my little one, Ruby. Whoops!!! Let me check my SS...I'm still half asleep.. ~O) coffee hasnt kicked in yet!!!!!!!

Lydia, the same thing here...he was fine one day and then he stopped eating one night. I thought he had a hairball or something...didnt know much about ketones. Then the next morning his BG was high and he refused to eat, When he drank water he threw it up...That was 2 weeks ago this coming Sunday. ughhhh....Rushed him to the ER vet and he was already DKA!!! 5 days and all of my humble savings $$$ later, I spring him from the hospital and he ends up with ketones a few days later. All my money was spent, and I didnt know what to do! Thank God I found this site and you are all wonderful....I hope Sid feels better and stays ketone free. Please tell him to make a speedy recovery on that pnuemonia and give him a hug for me!!!

Well, I'm off to get ready for work... Everyone have a WONDERFUL day!!!!!!! See you later on!!!
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416 AMPS 389

Good morning, Tara and Sasha.

I'm glad the drop has slowed down. Yay for negative ketones!

You just reminded me. I need to freeze some food..
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416 AMPS 389

Thanks Dyana...I almost forgot to freeze it last night....Have a great day!!!
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416 AMPS 389

That's a big drop by AMPS. Are you able to grab a test before you leave for work?

You really are asleep. Look at your link to yesterday's condo. You tried to link using the subject line not the url.
 
Re: Sasha 3/15 +9.5 544 +11 416 AMPS 389

Thank you Linda!!! :-D How's Weezer doing?

Sandy, My SIL is working today so I am going to TRY to get home on lunch depending on what my boss has in store for me...

Sienne- yes, I am definitely sleepy!!! Just fixed that now. Thanks for pointing that out! I did get a +1 BG, it was 480. It came back up because of the food.

Thanks everyone!!!
 
Re: 3/15 Sasha +9.5 544 +11 416 AMPS 389 +1 480 +5.5 261

Hi guys .. It's nice to see sasha coming down .. he's been all over the place today! From blacks to reds to pinks and now yellows :o I hope he starts evening out for you soon .. and I hope your meter arrives soon too .. Good thing he isn't shy :-D have a great day!
 
Re: 3/15 Sasha +9.5 544 +11 416 AMPS 389 +1 480 +5.5 261

LOL..Devon, he's all over the place today, trying to figure out his favorite color!!! So far the blue is the most flattering!!! Hugs to Mocha!
 
Come on down, Sasha! Let's see some more of that great blue action!

I'm so glad things are settling in and he's doing so much better. You should have gotten your blood ketone meter today.

If you want, you can modify your subject line to only have the PMPS info or it will get too crowded.

Big hugs to you two!! :-D :-D :-D
 
great to see sasha with just "normal" high readings, and not 300 posts on his condo as people try to help you care for him. perhaps there is normalcy in your future! wouldn't that be great? :-D
 
Marje, my aunt called late last night and left me a message that the ketone meter is here! Thank you LLEF again! Just in time as I think he's got trace ketones this morning.

Julie, I cant wait for "normalcy"!!! This roller coaster is CRAZY!!!!! HUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Tara, if he has trace ketones, then maybe we should increase the Lantus dose this morning, and leave out some MC food for him, if you have to work today.
Please post the +12. He was 355 at +11, correct?

You will be home this weekend?
 
Yes Dyana, I will be home with him this weekend! I posted on today's thread. I am hoping to get rid of these trace ketones beore it becomes full blown again...when I leave here, I'm going straight to my aunts to pick up that meter....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top