3/15 Maverick PMPS 90 +2 86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90

Good morning guys .. love the green maverick! Glad there isn't any drama so far .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90

Hi Karrie, nice AMPS for Maverick. That's a bummer about the borrowed plug when you're waiting for the java! Sometimes I plug the cord in the socket and forget to turn the coffee switch on - have a nice day!
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90

Another great AMPS for Mav! Way to go, Maverick!

I can't put the l-Lysine in Rusty's water because he hardly ever drinks water out of his bowl or fountain. I put extra water into his food. I was told that Lysine is tasteless when ground up and mixed into the food, and Rusty certainly didn't balk at eating it yesterday.

Have a good one today, Karrie.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90

Way to go Maverick!!! Nice job Karrie!!! Hope you all are having a nice day!!!
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90 +3.6 56

The other unexpected - I weighed him today. He was 15.02lbs. I'm concerned - that 15lb barrier is a psychological one. The lowest he's ever been was 13.4 pounds when he almost died from FHL. He's eating well. His thyroid was normal last month. His BG is good. His kidneys were normal (but flagged for monitoring). Not sure what this means.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90 +3.6 56 15.02lbs!?

Great #s again for Maverick!! :mrgreen:
15.02lbs, are you concerned because it is a lot or not enough?
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90 +3.6 56 15.02lbs!?

Not enough. He was 19.8lbs at his heaviest pre-diabetes weight. The switch to wet food got him down to 15 lbs. Done much faster than I'd like but with assist syringe feeding and blood work often to make sure his liver was healthy. I guess I just want him to maintain his weight and not lose. He's maintained between 15.5 and 15.4lbs since November 1st. So four months or so. But then for some reason I show no weigh ins since January 7th. I'm sure I got one in between there but have no idea when.

I'm going to start weighing him daily and get a trend for what he is doing. Waiting on a copy of his blood work done a few weeks ago. Everything was supposed to have been fine.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick AMPS 90 +3.6 56 15.02lbs!?

What a great 3.6! I understand your concern about getting below 15 pounds because of what happened before. I hope he will eat well for you so you don't have to worry.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Huh- got side tracked with testing and forgot to update.

PMPS 90 - another green :mrgreen:

So I called for Maverick's blood work and reception didn't seem to eager to provide it. I asked her to email it and gave my email address. The vet called back. Remember a few weeks ago how I totally blew being assertive meeting with a new vet, when he kept pushing me to take Maverick off insulin (and I repectfully tried to tell him what I was doing a couple times) and I said finally "sure I'll try it" ohmygod_smile What I didn't do was take him off insulin. I had planned on finding another vet.

When he called back to inquire about my blood work inquiry I told him Maverick had lost weight. He asked me about how he was doing off insulin. Told him I did and that he went up blah blah blah so I put him back on. He thinks 180 is an acceptable number. He told me that I was supposed to call him back with Maverick's curve after I took him off insulin. And today I lied to him about the fact that I didn't. I want a vet I can be honest with darnit. He wants me to bring him back for kidney blood work and urinalysis (USG/protein etc).

I fear confrontation so much I lie to the detriment of Maverick. How can a vet properly take care of him if I can't even speak up because I'm fearful of their possible snarky replies. I've had two extremely horrible experiences though. Like really horrible. (Remember my comments on personality disorders)... I almost had a panic attacks when I had to interact with his first vet and got the courage to look around. Then being yelled at on the phone for listening to you guys and shooting 1 unit instead of 2. I still flinch thinking about it.

So after talking with friends I think I'm going to do a lone consult with a local hospital - 45 minute drive though. And bring my spreadsheet without my cat and get a full fifteen minutes with the vet. So they can understand that I am on top of the diabetes. That I need to manage other aspects of Maverick's care but need a vet I am not afraid of. That I can have open dialogue with.

Have I told you guys lately how much I appreciate all of you? Thank you.

sHa_grouphug3.gif
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Listen, YOU are paying them for them to help YOU. Find another vet that makes you feel comfortable and say it like it is! :-D :-D :-D

GO KARRIE! {{hug}}
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

I really wish some of you were closer. I know my stuff (not an expert) but I can speak intelligently about FD, the protocol, Lantus, and especially Maverick. I need assertiveness training. I was going to look into it but just didn't want to add one more thing to my plate.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Good luck with the consult - I hope that will help. Then- find a vet you are comfortable with, one who will listen to you, and let you have an opinion. And they should give you a copy of maverick's blood work, without a hassle - wow.

Good luck!
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Great AMPS for Mav today!! I'm proud of you for your conversation with the vet and for having the gumption to go elsewhere. Good idea to not drag Maverick there...you know how he's doing.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

You know that old slogan, "The customer is always right." You're the customer. As far as being assertive, you are Maverick's caregiver. It is the vet's job to give you sufficient, unbiased information so you can provide informed consent. It is not the vet's job to tell you what to do. Not providing you with adequate information to make an informed decision is unethical. It is not good practice to yell at you, harangue you, insist on doing it "my" way, etc. You can ask the vet for the research that supports his recommendation -- and i don't mean a textbook. Textbooks get outdated very quickly. You want empirical evidence. You can be polite and soft spoken and you can draw a line in the sand.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Wish I could send you my vet--He was such a doll tonite with Copper-He made me honorary vet after hearing how I treat Moonie ,They read protocol, & ss..& articles..Really great--
BUT OH!! I pay them A LOT!!!--It cannot be denied how well you are doing with Maverick--Great Job Girl!!!
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Karrie - I know how you feel - about begin assertive and not. I reached a point where I just got tired of the battles that always ensued because I had an opinion. I don't go there anymore. anyways - I too think you are doing great with Maverick, and I sure wouldn't let a vet tell you otherwise. So keep on truckin' - we are all here for you.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Karrie,

If I've learned anything after my adventures with Belle and the onset of diabetes with Gracie, it's that I need to always do what feels right by them, regardless of what the vet says. With Gracie specifically, I had my vet, whom I like very much, tell me to wait 6 months to see if the diabetes went away on its own. She was steroid induced and we caught it right away, and he said she may just get better or at worst, 6 months of waiting wouldn't hurt. I said he would be hearing from me before then, and he told me again to wait the 6 months. I changed her food and waited a week, her numbers were high, so I called his office and asked for an insulin prescription. They said bring her back in but I refused. He didn't know anything about Lantus, took too long to get me the prescription, and I went elsewhere. And this has been my primary vet, caring for my nine cats for 7 years. You can not mess around when it comes to Maverick's well being. My vet knew I was PO'ed, and he's been calling every week to check in. I pay him for his help and experience. If I'm not getting it, I'll pay someone else. I don't care if I hurt his feelings. This is my family, and he's my vet, not a friend.

As it turns out, Gracie has made tremendous strides in just 5 weeks on insulin. It turns out I knew best. You do too. Just don't feel obligated to someone that you pay for help, especially when you already know you can't rely on them for what you need. I didn't confront my vet. I just went to someone else. They called for her records, and Gracie got the care she needed.

Good luck!

Jason
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Thank you guys. I felt safe sharing this and knew I'd get great advice. Thank you, it means a lot to me.

I am going to be soooo prepared next vet. I've gotten great advice on having phrases to help bring the conversation back to where I want it to go. On it, I'm going to put some info for me (I'm the customer, I'M paying him - not the other way around). This will help keep me centred. I will set my expectations also.
 
Re: 3/15 Maverick speaking of lying to vets *sigh*

Hi Karrie,
I've been offline; I had Internet Carrier outages, so getting to your condo late. Yes, definitely find another Vet when you can and get your records transferred. Just use this Vet to get the results of tests, etc. and then follow your plan. I didn't always have the best Vet with my other kitty and learned the hard way. Now I trust the present Vet. Take care.
 
Karrie, you are being assertive by choosing to not use this vet and getting a consult somewhere else. As you know, I have problems with being assertive (after all, I lied to my civvie's vet tonight instead of telling her why I transferred Simon's records to another vet!). Good luck with the consult. You deserve a vet that will work with you, not against you.
 
ditto on what everyone here has said...

especially that THE VET WORKS FOR YOU. as Sienne said, you are the customer, and the customer is right.

some folks are extremely arrogant about the amount of schooling they've had...and i'm telling you,
if i ever treated one of my clients like i was in charge of their treatment...i would be useless to them.
I am a resource, like the internet...or a book...and that is ALL I AM.
i am on their health care team, but i do not see myself as the coach.

Hang in there, girl...you are doing the right thing, and nobody has the DEGREE that says differently.
Hoping that you find an amenable, knowledgeable vet!
 
so proud of you, Karrie! I think you have a good plan! I hope you soon find a great new vet... or hwck, even a tolerable one! you know Willie and I have been there... if there's ANYTHING you need... word choices, pep talks, you name it.... just holler at me! :)

maverick is so lucky to have you as a mama!
 
sounds to me like you've got it all together!

If I were you, I'd "interview" new vets. Maybe that hospital can give you the name of some local vets.

Just call the new vet office and tell them you are looking for a vet to partner with you in using the ROOM thingy protocol to treat your cat's diabetes at home. There's gotta be someone that will do that, but if not, better to know before you invest time with them.

then leave your last vet with a smile on your face - you're taking care of your baby as best as you can. You go girl!

FUR MAMA COMING THROUGH! CLEAR THE WAY!
 
Hi Karrie. Sounds to me like you've got a good plan there consulting with the vet hospital. It's just too bad that some professionals let their egos get in the way of giving the best care possible for their patient-either furry or human. You have to feel like your working together for your pets good. I wish you were closer or I could clone Dr Doug for you. I am so blessed having him for Tori. All the decisions we make for her we make together.

Thanks so much for your support Karrie. It mean so much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top