3/15 MaryG 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 7 5 +4.5 83 +5 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115421
Happy Saturday!
Good morning LL!

Mary Grace is going to the vet today for her labs and to get blood drawn for the high dose conditions testing. Will update later today.

Vines to all kitties and beans that may need them today.

Edited and I'm sorry if I'm misusing the 911 but her bs is 60 after +2 and I don't know what to do. Feed more lc? Hc? She has her nadir at +5 and is on 10 units. Edited again, I looked at the protocol and chose to give her 1 teaspoon of hc. 60 may be a good green number but it really is making me nervous since she is only plus two
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194

me too! i hope she endured the blood draw ok. punkin always went straight into my arms when he came back from having blood drawn, even after he had stopped wanting to be held. it can be a little traumatic for them.

she's got a good start to her caturday with the 194!
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184

Thanks for the vet good visit wishes and vines. I wish I had a vine to strangle them when I was there. It was awful. And it's not the vet it's the vets practice owner. Okay first, not as impressed or excited as I have been about her improving numbers. Her thinking of the bs being too high is I'm feeding her too much, she needs to have her teeth cleaned and maybe an extraction and from where she has what I know is psychological alopecia they think it's flea allergy..never seen a flea nor does she go outside, I groom her all the time. There are small scabs from her pulling her hair out that I put neosporin on, but she said they were infected, there were no signs of infection to me just a scab. She said she is concerned with her respiratory and wanted to do an X-Ray, which they don't do on Saturdays, I said I want a senior blood panel and the tests for high dose conditions like I have already talked about for weeks with your office admin to order the shipping supplies. She said Mary does not have aromagly (sp) she can tell by looking at her. I said I want those tests done, please humor me and THEN she said well you do know that it will be DOUBLE the charge then what MSU charges them. Omg, they wanted to double the fees. She said all vet practices would do this. I said please go talk to the owner or whomever, tried to plead my case of spending so much money as it is so she can back and said no but kinda whispered she would call around and see if there is a vet that wouldn't charge so much. WTF!!!!! I'm so upset. They were already drawing blood for her labs and they had to make double what msu was charging!!!!!!!! I spent 299.00 today. Their lab work won't be back until Monday. They gave her an antibiotic shot for her scabs. They antibiotic was called Covencia. Charged 21.00 for flea medicine application, she does not have fleas and 16 to trim her nails, again if I knew I would have done them myself, I already do. 166 for the diagnostic lab, 47 for the convenia and 49 for office visit. And no test like I wanted or intended.
I am so upset I a getting a migraine. I feel like they tricked me and has anyone that has gotten those msu tests heard of their vet doubling the fees???
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

Hello! I cant advise but I hope someone will soon. I replied to bump this post also. I know I have read that to retest every 30 min after small amount of hc.. well wishes for Mary
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

Wow! That sounds like an awful vet visit! I'm so sorry!!

I have never had to use it, but I've read on here somewhere that Covenia can have bad side effects in cats and shouldn't be used. I don't remember whose condo I read it in. Hopefully someone else will weigh in on that.

Remember the vet works for you! They should not charge you double what MSU charges. And I know they are wrong about the acro...I think many cats don't show the physical attributes (Julie and Wendy can weigh in on that!).

I'm sorry you had such an awful day!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

She isnt dangerously low yet but it's early in the cycle so I would watch and steer the curve. Start testing every 30minutes as the HC will spike her up but can wear off fast. If she does go down again , depending on how low, you might want to try a little low or medium carb dpeending where she is in the cycle.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

hi elizabeth!

i haven't read through the vet report yet, but wanted to respond to your 911.

mary grace is ok, but let's give her some carbs and slow her down. can you give her maybe 2 tsp of high carb food - with the food, not just the gravy, and recheck her in 1/2 hr?

you can take down the 911, i'll watch for you.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

If the vet is doubling the charge and not adding on shipping, it's probably not as outrageous as you think. Shipping lab samples is expensive. If they are doubling the charge AND charging you shipping, then it's unreasonable.

There are several people in your area. You can always post here and on Health for recommendations for a new vet.

Convenia is OK for skin issues. The problem is that it lasts well over 2 weeks. If your cat is allergic, it's a huge problem. We typically discourage people from allowing their vets to give this antibiotic. If Mary Grace was going to react to the AB, she would have by now.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

Thanks everyone, I took down the 911 and replaced with a greenie. Although I'm not happy with mr greenie right now. It makes me so nervous cause she is so early in her cycle and esp she has such a large amount of insulin yet to kick in. I gave her 1 teas hc food about 20 mins ago and just he Jed and she's 59. What kind of allergic reactions could she have and why in the world would they give her that if it' can be bad???
I didn't even think she needed it. And to answer the question, sorry I forget who asked, they are charging the 16 for shipping plus an extra ten for their shipping and handling fee plus double the msu charge.
Thanks you guys for staying with me, after months of pinks, reds this low number is freaking me out!!
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60

Convenia is an antibiotic that was developed specifically for skin infections. i don't know what the allergic reaction might be, but we've seen cats get it for any number of things unrelated to skin.

sounds like you could use a new vet. i posted the charges a while ago and no, my vet didn't charge me double the MSU charges for the high dose testing. the last vet charged me exactly what they charged, plus $15 for shipping and $11 for the blood draw, i believe.

sometimes with a larger dose of insulin it can take either more carbs, or carbs given for a longer period, to pull a kitty up. if you gave her a tsp of high carb before and it held her flat for 30 minutes, i'd probably keep repeating that as many times as it takes to keep her above 50.

lather, rinse, repeat.

you're doing great! she's doing great too - go Mary Grace!
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59

Thanks Julie, I gotta breathe, I'm panicking. My bs is dropping and I am trying to eat but I keep stopping to just pace around the area where she is lying. Oh, and I had a first date tonight, had to cancel and when I told him why he said well that's a first.
Can you believe that about the vet. As much communication that I've had with them about this for a month, they just now inform me of the double charges, I'm furious. Going to post about looking for a new vet
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59

don't panic. you're in control. you will be able to steer Mary Grace's numbers with carbs and she is definitely not in a danger zone.

right now, you're doing everything right - so take a moment to get something to eat yourself. you don't need to test her again for 30 minutes.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59

Okay she is 62 at + 3.5 so she is staying flat. I'm going to hold it for another 30 before giving another teaspoon of hc. What do you think? Just wondering what her nadir at +5 is going to do. Edited to saw I have only given her 1 teaspoon hc so far. I gave her nothing just now, waiting to see if you think I should
As for my bs, it's now 69 and i just ate, finally quit pacing. It's a different kind of worry than her being black, red and pink.
@-)
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59

i'm headed out for dinner, but there are others around. you're just going to keep repeating the process. if she drops below 50, switch to checking every 20 minutes. The Low Numbers sticky at the top of this forum has Sienne's post about how to deal with low numbers as well.

I'll check back when i get home. If you need help, you can use the 911 again, or edit your first post's subject line and bump up your post.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59

Hi. I had Ozy tested for IAA and Acromegaly at MSU in December. The cost to me was $125 for both tests. The bloodwork was drawn during his dental. The extra cost beyond MSU charges was for drawing the blood, packaging it, and sending it in.

Ozy is IAA.

Congrats on your first low number. You are in excellent hands and you CAN take care of her and bring her up. Don't be scared.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary Grace AMPS 194 +7 183 PMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59

I'll be around to watch for a little bit. Could you update your first subject line with the new numbers? You can remove the AMPS numbers and just show the PM ones for now.

You are doing great Elizabeth. As others say, don't forget to breathe and eat. And how cool that you and MG are almost the same BG. :cool: Often if cats are going low in a cycle, they'll nadir earlier than normal.

I can't compare prices. My vet just charged me for the blood draw but the blood was then sent to a special vetty lab that handles blood going across the border. That part of the charge my vet just passed onto me with no additional fees for herself. If you see that vet again, ask them how many acrocats they've seen in person. Neko didn't look acro when she had her blood tests done.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary GracePMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 75

Hey Wendy, thanks for the reply. I edited to just show pm numbers.
It is so reassuring to have you all here. I told the vet today, with me having to increase her insulin every few days for the past few months that I wouldn't have known to do that and without this board she would probably be very very sick or not here at all. No comment from her. But it's so true this board is a cats saver and a lifesaver for beans.
Thanks everyone.
Holding off on all food for now. She only had one teaspoon total of hc back at +2.15
 
Re: 3/15 Mary GracePMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 75

One of the best way's I've found to deal with arrogant professionals is to hit them over the head with research. This is a link to a 2007 paper on the prevalence of acromegaly in cats and it notes that it is far more prevalent than previously thought. The paper is from a good veterinary journal. So much for a cat "looking" like s/he has acro. Most vets miss the diagnosis.

It looks like Mary is doing well. This is a beautiful, green surf. I'd get another test at +4.5. Depending on where her numbers are, you can give her a bit of LC food to keep things going.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary GracePMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 75

Hi Sienne, well I wanted green and I certainly got it!! Just got so freaked out it happened so early after her shot. Thanks for the link, it is greed and ego not my cats health they are concerned with.
Her 4.5 is 83.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary GracePMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 75 +4.5

Since it's been over 2 hours since the HC and she's slowly rising, you can probably wait 1 hour until the next test. Keep on surfing Mary Grace - looking great! :mrgreen:

That same paper Sienne references says most acros are short haired males. Oh well, Neko was at least in the right age range. ECID and each acrocat even more different.
 
Re: 3/15 Mary GracePMPS 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 75 +4.5

Wendy -- Lol!! Consider it sampling error!

Elizabeth -- I think this is a, "be careful what you wish for" situation. However, you're doing a great job steering your kitty's numbers. There were several people around who could help you get your first taste of how to manage low numbers with frequent testing and food. It's always nerve wracking the first several times. After a while, it becomes second nature.

It's also important to realize that our kitties love to amaze and confuse. You didn't think you were prepared for an early drop in numbers. Surprise! That's what Mary Grace handed you. Of course, the up side is that you probably won't be up until some ridiculous hour testing.

I agree with Wendy. Re-test in an hour.
 
Re: 3/15 MaryG 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 7 5 +4.5 83 +5 1

I agree Sienne. I was looking over the reduction part of the protocol and she she didn't drop below 50 should I not reduce tomorrow's am shot? I was thinking I should but am going to leave it to all you seasoned folks.
I think Mary just didn't want me to go out on that date.... :cool:
 
Re: 3/15 MaryG 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 7 5 +4.5 83 +5 1

Julie!! How was dinner? I'm amazed that mr greenie came by for such a long visit. I know it was probably an over reaction but I just am not used to her being green. Thanks to everyone for sticking by me. I'm going to test again at 1145 which will be her +6. If it is rising or the same is it safe to go to bed? Should I get up in the middle of the night to check? And what do you think about a reduction? Reading the protocol it said under 50 but I'm thinking to reduce.
 
Re: 3/15 MaryG 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 7 5 +4.5 83 +5 1

i think if you only gave her the 1 tsp of HC at +2, she's rising naturally because of the lantus cycle. i would go to bed, personally. don't be surprised if she bounces from these numbers and you have a high number in the morning.

i probably wouldn't reduce her dose because she didn't go below 50, even though you intervened. sometimes being able to give a little more insulin can help bring down the top numbers. assuming you are home to monitor her tomorrow. i suspect a bounce is the most likely scenario anyway.

we went for chinese to a new place - it was delicious and lots of left-overs for tomorrow. :-D
 
Re: 3/15 MaryG 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 7 5 +4.5 83 +5 1

Purrfect!!! Wanting to know what you thought and now I can go to bed. Glad you told me about the higher numbers tomorrow, I hadn't even thought about that. I will hold the dose, will be home all day tomorrow...trying to get my taxes done....yuk!!
Keep the kittens away from the leftovers ;-)
Thanks again everyone.
Also Julie what would be your next step if you were me in trying to get those high dose tests done?
Good night!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 MaryG 184 +2 60 2.75 59 +3.5 62 +4 7 5 +4.5 83 +5 1

didn't they already draw the blood? you're just negotiating the price? Do you have a choice at this point?

i'd probably be furious and tell the owner of the clinic that it was outrageous. i'm assuming they are getting PLENTY of business from you already. Given that diabetes is a chronic condition, they could give you a break, like a normal non-greedy human would do, and charge you only for the blood draw and shipping.

i'll add that when i told my current vet that i'd gone back to work to pay for punkin's bills (i'd been in between jobs when punkin became diabetic), she put me on the "frequent flyer plan" and they gave me a 20% discount on every single everything after that point.

If i was feeling unconfrontational, I'd just leave the current vet and find another one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top