3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58, +3.5 74, +4.5 77

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
3/12 Condo

Good Morning LL,

Sorry to be absent these last few days, i've been very upset about Leo's numbers lately and haven't really felt like posting, especially the other day when i tested him before his shot and he was at 495, the 2 retests i did were both black, its the highest he's ever been. :o :shock: :cry: I increased his dose last night to 5.75u and of course he goes higher for a few days, then hopefully back to blues and greens!

Leo is doing great despite his horrible numbers, we had a great test, shoot and feed this morning, i bought some new treats yesterday Purebites Whitefish treats and Leo is absolutely bananas about them :-D To the point where he will climb all over me to get to the treat bag, i've got all of Leo's testing supplies and fuds in a little rubbermaid container with 3 drawers and he actually got into the drawer and opened it to get to the treats, once he got the treats out he couldn't open the bag of course but it was funny to watch. He's got all 5 P's and has currently taken up a security post at the window.

Yesterday Leo wanted to go out, so i let him out and he did some lb business outside in the dirt. Leo wanted to come back in right away and tracked muddy paw prints all over the kitchen, the couch, on the window sill in the living room, he then proceeded to go into my bedroom and jump onto my white sheets and comforter and jump onto that window sill, that was the moment when i finally caught up with him and realized what he had done. :roll: ACCKKKKK!!! What a mess! :He had a bath to wash his paws and was NOT impressed with me.

So i've been in contact with Sienne and Jill and they can't figure out Leo's numbers, which doesn't make me feel any better about his numbers, but i love them both for taking the time to look at Leo's SS and let me know. I don't know what to do at this point, he's had bloodwork and urinalysis done, plus 2 exams with 2 different vets and everything comes back good, besides the fact that he's too fat. Which, by the way, he's lost .5lbs in the last 2 weeks since his diet began :razz:. They (Jill and Sienne) both seem to think it may be a dental issue, but he's had a dental exam and everything looks good (believe me, i was there during the exam and Dr. Andrea showed me what she was looking for) and he also had post dental X-rays back in October. Sienne suggested starting Leo on some Omega 3's for allergies in case he has any, good thing i already had some on hand from the vetty clinic and i started Leo on them last night. I took 3 weeks of holidays at the end of March and if he hasn't cleaned up his kitty act by then i'm thinking about making the switch to Lev, hoping Leo will have better luck with Lev as compared to Lantus. Last week i did ask Dr. Andrea about acro or IAA and she doesn't think we are dealing with either, she thought Leo was just too fat and needed to lose some weight.

Sorry to ramble on so long. :roll: Today Leo goes back out to his DGP's and i go back to work for the week tomorrow. Busy week at work coming up, there are a dozen of us (emergency response team members) taking a rope rescue course this weekend, should be fun!
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: hugs to both you and leo! I can understand needing to take a few days off .. sometimes these numbers get the best of us, when we really should be looking at the whole picture .. it's hard, but that's what those days off are for, right? Well, that and washing bed sheets and muddy paws :-D I really do hope that leo comes down for you .. maybe he does just need this amount of juice right now .. look at trixie, she was doing so well then up up up she went .. and now she's back down .. Leo is a kitty, and it's his job to frustrate you to the point of tears, then do something adorable and make you crack up laughing ... Just hang in there ..
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

(((Tracy))) hope the mystery gets solved soon and Leo starts coming down for you but the WCR sounds great - except for the muddy paw clean up that is!
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

tracy, the very best advice i've gotten was not to look at the size of the dose, but keep your focus on the BG numbers. i hope the new dose will be just right to pull him down some. i know what you mean about those black numbers - punkin hadn't had any on the freestyle lite but once we switched, oh, they were terrible. it's very discouraging. hang in there!
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

We sure understand how frustrating you feel and how defeating it can all be at times. When Zener's numbers are high and/or he's not eating, we can hardly muster the energy to keep his SS updated, let alone post a condo. julie's advice is the best and we do OUR best to keep our minds going in that direction too - not so much focus on the dose but on the numbers and the WCR. Zener was reminding us this morning about the New Year's Resolution - pet more, worry less. You are doing a great job and are a fabulous bean and Leo appreciates all you do for him! We have our paws crossed Leo's numbers start heading the in the right direction soon. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

Hi Tracy - I think you have done a wonderful job with Leo. I do understand the frustration.... believe me, been there to the max. I will never forget the cycle(s) where Mannie tested over 500, and often just HI, for 3 cycles in a row. You tend to loose it at that point, have a good cry... Know I did. One has to look at the overall picture, focus on the forest and not just the trees, and remember that those nasty numbers are just a few in a sea of thousands, look at the cat as a whole: bg, 5P's, overall view of being a cat, the WCR. that has helped me immensely in dealing the the not so nice stuff. It sounds like you have explored all possibilities for reason for the chnage in Numbers. Sometimes I think that they just loose regulation. It takes lot of work to get them back. I wish I could remember who's kitty it was, it was some time ago, but the Numbers and the dose just kept going up and up until one day it all evened out, and the decreases began. I know that it will be the same for Leo, he will turn it around. Hang in there - his WCR is great and a good indication of how Leo is. I hope the turnaround is soon. Paws crossed for you.

Enjoy that training - sounds fun. Enjoy it :-D

Leo- we all are headed to NYC today! you need to come - I am on my way to picks you up! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

I know the frustration of seeing high numbers that won't budge. You do have some nice blue and green periods, then right back up. I hope the weight loss and omega 3s help bring Leo's numbers in line. Keep plugging along. You aren’t alone. Hugs to you, scritches to Leo.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

((((Tracy)))) Unfortunately I know all too well what you are feeling. I hope you get it figured out soon and that Leo starts to come down for you. Sometimes it is so frustrating, but Leo is feeling good and that is what matters most. We had a couple of months after Tarragon was hospitalized that his numbers were registering HI and his cycles were reverse I was so depressed about it all that I kind of shut down. DH convinced me that I needed to pay attention to how Tarragon was feeling and let that be my guide. Tarragon is still not back to where he was, but is feeling better than he has since diagnosis and the stress in our house is greatly reduced. You just have to stick with the 6 cycles and increase, 6 cycles and increase.

Hugs to you Tracy! Know that we are thinking about you.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo AMPS 387, +4 320

Tracy, sometimes it's just good to take a few days off. I hope you soon get some answers as to why the high numbers. It's good to hear how well he's feeling with getting into the drawer and digging out his treats. Oh my gosh, with the artistic footprints all over the house. I'm trying not to laugh as I can imagine the cleanup, but I'm visualizing it. I can't wash my sheets as Mags sleeps there all day. Tracy, lots of hugs to you and Leo.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340

Thanks everyone for the pep talk. I don't know why i avoided posting a condo since everyone here is the best at making me feel better.....i love my LL cheerleaders :-D

We made it out to DGP's, again i used the Rescue Remedy and let me tell ya I LOVE THAT STUFF! Leo was a very well behaved little Prince and not a peep out of him during the trip, except for when i was talking to him then he answered me back. He's been busy busy busy since we got here, outside on the hunt for mousies, i got his shot and meter ready as well as his supper and walked out the door and banged a spoon against the kitty dinner dishes and he came running! :lol: :lol: I need a dinner bell or something. He had a quick bite to eat (he didn't even have the time to finish his supper) and went right back out to hunt. I hope he catches a mouse.

Thanks for reminding me that its always about the whole cat and how he's feeling and not how big of a dose he's getting.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340

WOO HOO! Leo is back on the hunt. Good job Leo!

I am glad that the rescue remedy helps with the drive. that is nice!

Too funny on the dinner bell. I can bang a spoon against the cat fuds can and that will get Mannie in every time! :lol: :lol: Who needs dinner bells? :lol:

enjoy your evening Tracy - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340

Oh gosh Tracy, all I can do is offer support. I know all too well, how frustrating it is to see those higher numbers and not be able to figure it out. Checkers had some black numbers last week.
I think I may not have posted numbers those days too. :lol:
I couldn't stop crying long enough to do it.
Hang in there, Tracy, Leo will come down again with some prettier numbers. :smile:
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340

Tracy --

The more I think about your idea about switching to Lev, the more I think it's worth a try. Here's my thinking. The way Lantus works, microcrystals are formed that are stored in the fat tissue. Given Leo's weight gain, I don't know if this is effecting the way Leo's body is making use of the Lantus. Lev doesn't reside in the fat tissues so more of the insulin may be bioavailable. (A pharmacologist may say this is a harebrained theory, but it's the best I've got.)
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340

Sienne, that does make sense to me, you are a genius girl! :-D These days Leo is all fat and has gained a significant amount of weight in the last few months since his dental. Either Leo loses ~3-4lbs or we give Lev a try and get him into healing numbers ASAP as opposed to waiting for him to lose the weight and staying with Lantus. I did send our vet an email expressing my concerns and asking her what she thought about us making the switch to Lev at the end of this month while i'm on holidays, unless of course Leo decides to straighten himself out on Lantus.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58

HOLY CARP!!! I did not see that huge drop coming, i retested 3 times and got the same number all 3 times (hooray for the one touch ultra) i fed this huge drop with some 11% to hopefully slow him down.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58

Now i'm feeling panicky, i forgot the karo at home, i cracked open a can of 18% and fed a heaping teaspoon, i have a very hungry boy. Will retest in 15 mins for the +3.5.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58

:shock: :shock: :shock: Some cats will do anything to make their beans happy :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58

How about honey, syrup, or ice cream?

I also had this conversation with another member about whether being overweight can effect the way lantus works. If there is anything I can do to help you with the decision to switch to lev, please let me know. It has abosolutely worked wonders for Gracie but it doesn't happen overnight.

(((Tracy)))...you are s great mom!
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58, +3.5 74

Whew!! nailbite_smile Crisis averted......for the time being. I was just so worried because he's on such a high dose and this is too early in the cycle to be this low already. But the teaspoon of 11% and teaspoon of 18% have brought him up, i was worried he'd keep dropping.

Good thing DGP's have maple syrup on hand.

Will retest in an hour to see where Leo's at.

Thanks for the offer Marje, i have a feeling i'll be asking you some questions in a week or so about Lev.
 
Re: 3/15 Leo PMPS 340, +3 58, +3.5 74

Good job!!!! Absolutely ....just let me know.

Have a safe trip to work and a good week.
 
Surf those numbers Fat Cat! :mrgreen:

I am pooped already and am wanting to go to bed, i've got to be up at 4:30 so i can drive into the city and be at the airport for 6:30 AM, i'm really hoping my dad will get up and take over the pokies but he's busy snoozing away so looks like i'll be doing the alarm, poke, sleep fest tonight just to make sure Leo is safe.

Nighty night LL, sleep tight and have a great week while i'm gone to work ;-) :-D
 
Sorry I missed all the excitement yesterday. That's quite a drop and a beautiful surfing recovery for Leo!

Have a great work week, Tracy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top