3/15 Latte AMPS-387, PMPS-363

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
amps 387
+2-255
+9.75-244
PMPS-363 (pred cycle - gave pred before seeing ps, used short needle on accident...not good!)
*a lot of kibble gone during the day*
last condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9120

Latte will be going to her regular vet tomorrow afternoon. I need some more tools for her box in order to keep her comfortable at this point. Ive been trying to look at the positives over the past few weeks. Despite that, I know there are things that have had significant deterioration with her since the beginning of the year. Her continued lack of appetite, more frequent vomiting, and lethargy over the last two weeks confirms to me something is not going right.

I think we are at the point of really trying to buy time. Im not sure how fair this is to her. And I seriously do not know how much more I can do for her. I may or may not be up to posting a whole lot right now - as work is getting busy, and her care may continue to be greater.

I was both thrilled, and chilled to see her reaction to going outside today - no going for the dead grass, or sniffing around as usual. She just stood there in the middle of the deck,nose high - sniffing the fresh air. Im glad she can experience that.
 
She just stood there in the middle of the deck,nose high - sniffing the fresh air. Im glad she can experience that.

Very sweet.

((((( :YMHUG: :YMHUG: ))))


just wanted to drop off some hugs, and lots of good wishes for a good visit tomorrow.
 
Carolyn,

I hope things go well at the vet appt for latte.

I wrote you about trying pain meds yesterday to control symptoms.
(and for me that would be my first choice of things to try.

some other things I would consider -- ( and did with Winnie)
increasing the roid. yep and take pred to 5 BID
sometimes, if the underlying issues are improved by the roid the numbers will get better.
Plus, yes you can increase lantus if needed and you will have even cycles if the increase is dosed BID

and if increasing pred( btw--there is a member who has had her cat on 20 mg pred/day long term for IBD and shoots insulin around it. )doesn't do the trick , switch to dex. It made all the difference in the world for Winnie.
Yes, dr. lisa recently posted a paper on think tank that showed dex had more effect on BGs than pred. which is why I would go with an increase in pred first. Pred didn't work for Winnie, even at higher doses. Dex did wonders for her.
Just wanted you to know there are some things you can put in your back pocket.

You're doing a great job. hang in there.

I am glad to hear she enjoyed the smell of spring in the air.
 
(((((Carolyn))))) I kept looking for your condo yesterday. I was worried when I did not see you. I unerstand now that you will not be on as much. My thoughts are with you and Latte and wish you all the best. (((((hugs))))) and please give Latte a huge kiss and hug from Webber and I okay?
 
((Carolyn))
Max and I are sending hugs and feeling better vines for you an Lattee.
So nice she got to get outdoors and hope all goes well
at the vet.
Take care of both of you and we are all here when you are able to post.
Max would sure like to see pretty Latte at the party tomorrow.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
((((((Carolyn and Latte)))))

I hope the vet visit went well today. I wish I could offer some words of wisdom. All I can do is offer my thoughts and prayers. Latte is an amazing little girl and you are the most dedicated mom. You're both amazing! We all understand if you're not up for posting for a while. Just know we're always thinking of you and we're here if you need us.

Give Latte lots of kisses for me.
 
((((Carolyn & Latte))))

Just catching up here... Carolyn, you always have so much on your plate & the biggest, open & loving heart for Latte.

carolynandlatte said:
I was both thrilled, and chilled to see her reaction to going outside today - no going for the dead grass, or sniffing around as usual. She just stood there in the middle of the deck,nose high - sniffing the fresh air. I'm glad she can experience that.

I love going outside just to sniff the air sometimes too! Latte still has a quality of life & you're not being unfair. Dead grass wouldn't appeal to me much either. ;-)

You & Latte are a pretty special team here, so keep us posted, ok? If you just need some moral support, please bring it here where we all know you. Anytime!

Sending lots of prayers, vines & hugs!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top