3-15 Jones AMPS 146, +6 61, PMPS 113 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Yesterday


Not sure exactly what is happening. These are not bad numbers but would like to see them a little lower. We did have the vet visit yesterday and the DH incident. He ate very little of his food last night and did not come to bed to cuddle. I am assuming his tummy was upset from the car ride and vet visit. Give him today to see how he does as he was looking to eat at breakfast and ate a little bit.

Will be trying that whole raw diet thing again over the next couple of days. Will be warming his bison up to "mouse temp" and see if that encourages him to try it a little bit more.

Happy and safe surfing everyone.
 
For raw food, it the warmth doesn't help, I've seen some people pan fry or poach in a little water so it's a bit cooked. Then gradually reduce the amount of cooking. Part of it is probably him getting used to the smell too, it's a different meat than he's used to.

Have you seen the web site Raw Feeding for IBD Cats? Also in there is a link on transitioning. It's a link for using EZComplete, but can be used with any raw. I think Jones is on probiotics? Some kitties need probiotics to help the transition to raw. The manufacturer I used also has a page on making the switch for cats.
 
Yes, he is on a probiotic. The thing with the EZ complete is the green lipped mussels are red zone and egg yolk are yellow zone for his allergies. I bought two bags already and will probably never use it unless I get the civvies on a cooked diet of some sort. May need to post in the give away closet.

I will to fry a bit up...I think he would like it that way. He loved my old drooler's food which was fried up beef with egg, oatmeal, peas and a probiotic added and the raw mixed in. I would just mix it in her dish and he would pick it right off and eat it.

Read a couple different sites and it seems like there is some common themes. Go slow, introduce the smell, small amounts, increase gradually, if things go sideways - stop and start over. Trying putting it to the side, mixing it in to regular food, heating it.

He is such a grazer. We will figure it out.
 
Jones has been on the same dose for 10 cycles. With SLGS he would of earned a deduction on the 12th but I wanted to wait and see on this dose. He did earn a deduction today and he did eat all his food given for the day. So, should I drop another drop?
 
I would reduce his dose again if you can. Question for you - is it possible to give him a small snack around +8 or +9 in his cycle? With kitties on this low a dose and a sputtering pancreas, it can help to lower the preshots if they get a small meal a few hours before preshot. It would be good to see if we can get him out of those higher blues and into lower ones, or even greens.
 
I would reduce his dose again if you can.

I went down 3 drops from .1 units.

Question for you - is it possible to give him a small snack around +8 or +9 in his cycle?

I will ask if DH can put his dish in from of him at the +9 mark and then maybe put his dish up. He is usually free fed with his feeder, but I have wondered if he had a snack just before PS as he acted hungry at shot time but didn't each a lot. He also did not eat his food last night again but ate all of his day food. Need to watch the volume of treats - even if LC then he isn't eating the food he needs to eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top