3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184 +8 225 +10 294 PMPS 245 +3 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
Morning all,

It was kind of Ms Jez to wait until today to come in a bit lower because I'm only working a half day and can come home and get some mid-cycle checks in. I really wanted to stay up for a +6 last night but there's been a lot of work stress lately and all I want to do is come home and crash. And I'm a stress eater so I've been avoiding my Weight Watchers logging as well. However, I guess Jez was proud of her numbers and wanted to share because I woke up from a lovely dream involving a handsome movie star only to discover I was being lapped rather than kissed awake at 3 am, sigh.

But its the middle of the month and its a good time to let go of what I can't control and concentrate on what I can.

My new 1/2 unit syringes and Arkray meter are supposed to arrive Monday so if we do earn another reduction it will be easier to measure.

Their royal highnesses do not seem to like this mornings breakfast choice either....but since it eventually gets eaten I think its more that they are back to grazing mode. Jez doesn't feel the need to devour her bowl immediately, so Batcat doesn't have to scarf down his to keep from getting shortchanged. Might pick up some FF though and mix it with the Friskies to see if that is more tempting.


Most importantly though - its FRIDAY, finally.....

Em
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187

Deb & Wink said:
Hi Em and Jez,

You'll find it so much easier to measure those smaller insulin doses once the syringes arrive with the 1/2 unit markings. They really helped me.

Sorry to hear that the 3 am wakeup was being licked by a kitty and not being kissed by a handsome movie star. :sad: Bummer!

To paraphrase the bard: "To eat breffis or not to eat breffis. That is the question." I know all about the stress eating - for the beans.

I have 3 kitties. Civies Delta and Monet scarf down all their fuds in minutes. Sugarbabe Wink Wink on the other hand..... is very, very picky shall we say. Mix 'em up, change 'em all around, shuffle those plates. It's all a juggling act. Fortunately, with my two "We'll eat anything" civies, what Wink does not eat, the others will. Just keep trying different things.

You're doing fine, even if you can't see it every day.


LOL at the eat or not to eat.....They transitioned pretty easily from dry food but were always grazers rather than gulpers. They'll eventually eat whatever I put in front of them....and being very competitive I'm pretty sure each gets their fair share.

And thanks for the positive reinforcement - how does that song go - some days you're the windshield, some days you're the bug....its just been one of the bug weeks here.

Em
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187

It can sometimes take Sneakers over an hour to eat 1.5 ounces- sometimes two- now that she isn't ravenous and wanting my fingers.

She was a grazer before this, too.
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187

hmjohnston said:
It can sometimes take Sneakers over an hour to eat 1.5 ounces- sometimes two- now that she isn't ravenous and wanting my fingers.

She was a grazer before this, too.


That's good to know that there are other diabetic grazers out there. With multiples it's difficult to tell who is doing what, but she's always been able to hold her own and actually boss my other guy around...and I definitely get told if she's hungry and there no food available....but I am actually thinking I might be putting too much food out and I should let them get more hungry. I'm using three 5.5 oz cans per day for the two of them.....one in the morning - half of one frozen for lunch - one at night and then the other half in case someone gets the munchies. Both of them are a good weight now and I want to keep it that way.

Isn't there some formula for how many calories I should be giving them out here somewhere?

Em
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187

Great number for Jez this morning! :thumbup

Have ya got a +6 today or are you still at work? I slept thru Lucian's by 30 min :lol: That's ok, we do what we can.
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184

Hmm - the +/- 20% in action.

I tested and got a +6 208 - thought that seemed a bit high considering I was certain I'd measured and shot right this morning and she certainly should have dropped, not gone up....so I tested again immediately and got a 184.

Looks like the resident royalty caved, and most of brekkie is gone - and they've nibbled a bit on the still cold but not frozen lunch , so there could be a bit of food in that number.

But in any case - seems like Jez is releasing me to go out and enjoy a bit of this cold but sunny afternoon without worry....and that is what I intend to do.

Em
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184

Take a little time for yourself, when you're able, it's good for you.

I wouldn't worry if it was Lucian, when he's flat, he's flat. If she doesn't have a habit of nosediving, you actually have a chance to go do something. :-D
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184 +8 225

The formula is 20 calories per pound of ideal weight of cat. Which at least with my bunch works out to about one 5.5 oz of Friskies per cat for most of them...with the exception of Maxwell who at 17lbs and could be just a little heavier but no matter how hard I try to get him to eat more stays right at 1 1/2 cans per day.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184 +8 225

MommaOfMuse said:
The formula is 20 calories per pound of ideal weight of cat. Which at least with my bunch works out to about one 5.5 oz of Friskies per cat for most of them...with the exception of Maxwell who at 17lbs and could be just a little heavier but no matter how hard I try to get him to eat more stays right at 1 1/2 cans per day.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Thanks Mel,

Lets see 10.5 + 13.5 = 24 so that would be 480 calories and I think that's 2 1/2 5.5 oz. cans (I've always wanted a dainty little cat but unfortunately it just hasn't happened that way)
And that's about what I've been doing - so hopefully they are sharing nicely.. I've screwed things up by being home this afternoon so now its a completion for Mom Bean's love - perhaps they've been too busy fighting to think about food.....there's still a bit left from this morning that I need to pull.

Em
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184 +8 225

LOL I have dainty ones, and I have monsters, and everything inbetween...Arabella is a petite and dainty little 5lb girl with huge puss in boots blue eyes, she is my teeny tiny girly girl, then on the other end of that is Patches who is currently being made to eat in a kennel so he can stay on his diet because he is a hefty 19lbs on a 10lb frame..and that is actually way down for him from when I got him at 26lbs chunk of cat blubber that walked...lol I affectionately call him Pudgely. One of these days I will have to get new pics of the Fur Gang and post them so you all can put faces with names.

I actually love the big kids which is why I have almost always had at least one Himmie, persian cross or Maine Coon mix...give me a big plushy longhair kitty anytime.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184 +8 225

MommaOfMuse said:
LOL I have dainty ones, and I have monsters, and everything inbetween...Arabella is a petite and dainty little 5lb girl with huge puss in boots blue eyes, she is my teeny tiny girly girl, then on the other end of that is Patches who is currently being made to eat in a kennel so he can stay on his diet because he is a hefty 19lbs on a 10lb frame..and that is actually way down for him from when I got him at 26lbs chunk of cat blubber that walked...lol I affectionately call him Pudgely. One of these days I will have to get new pics of the Fur Gang and post them so you all can put faces with names.

I actually love the big kids which is why I have almost always had at least one Himmie, persian cross or Maine Coon mix...give me a big plushy longhair kitty anytime.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
I am a sucker for a big Maine Coon myself - had a gorgeous beige/orange coon mix for eighteen years. Mel wasn't fat, but he was so long that he could stand on his hind legs and turn door knobs....I don't know how old he was as I got him as an adult but he was one in a million.....I'd love another. However, my furkids find me rather than the other way round so I get what I get, lol.....

And I"d love pics....
 
Re: 3/15 Jez AMPS 187 +6 184 +8 225 +10 294

Darn it - there is no reason for this - I pulled the food hours ago and other than an early afternoon romp with Batcat she's been lying around watching me.

On the positive side - its clear I don't belong in TR - I"d drive myself nuts if I had to look at numbers like this every day....just as well I don't know what she does when I'm not home :)

Em
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top