3/15 Gracie PMPS 178 +2 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS: 309 4th cycle 1u
+2: 247
+4:141
+5: 115
+6.5: 83
+8: 52
+8.75: 35 earned dose reduction
+9.25: 50
+9.75: 70
+11: 94
PMPS: 59 1st cycle sk1u
+.5: 48
+1: 50
+1.5: 94
+2:129
+3: 120
+4: 112
+5: 102
+6: 94
+7.5: 61
+8.5: 65
+10: 91

Good morning Lantus Land. Sending healing vines to all those who need them and especially thinking of Roni and Copper today and praying all is absolutely fine.

WCR: 4Ps in place but baby girl is tired. Lots of testing yesterday and especially last night but she had a beautiful cycle after we got her up from her 59 at PMPS. Unfortunately, I may have overcarbed her as at +7.5 this morning she had dropped a lot instead of holding steady and I wanted to bump her up; at +10, I gave her a little more food....probably shouldn't have but last night she dropped 40 between +11 and PMPS and I really didn't want to shoot another dropping number. So I'm hoping the 159 is carbs and she'll come back down. We couldn't believe how she blew through the 1u dose which she has failed to hold so many times. Paws crossed big time that she will hold steady. The sk1u I dialed in is just a tiny drop less than the 1u...PLEASE HOLD!

I have a question for those knowledgeable folks in LL:

Ever since we quit giving the +9 snacks, Gracie has (for the most part but not always) gotten that second lantus dip and her PS have been a little lower than +10; however, Jill told me that when Gracie is doing this sliding thing (like she did yesterday morning AND last night), to give her some food to bump her PS number up a little so we don't have to stall. What causes that sliding ....sometimes I know Gracie is breaking a bounce and it's very evident; but last night??? And it seems she's been doing it a little more often lately Also.. Gracie doesn't seem to have a nadir. She either bounces and has high, flat numbers OR she comes down and we have to feed to keep her up so her numbers are not "real" OR she does this sliding thing. Can someone better versed in reading SSs tell us if she has a nadir? Is it possible we're getting the slides at the end because that is where her nadir is now? THANK YOU!

I'm tired....Mike stayed up with her longer than he should have so I got up after +6 and took over getting up and down to test. Thanks to those of you who sent him well wishes...I am worried about bronchitis. Off to TBP for me. Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 Question

no input on your question...but what a busy girl you have!

sending healing vines to fighter-pilot guy...good day at work wishes to you, and go, Princess Gracie...go!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 Question

Morning! Nice cycles yesterday - AM and PM. well handled too - you guys do so well with her. No answer on the sliding. I sometimes think (scary notion!) that when Mannie does this that he's just returned to where his body thinks/knows it should/wants to be. Often for him we are coming off a high amps (he's usually higher in the morning anyway). hmmmmm. could be that her nadir has moved too. i dunno - certainly no expert here....

have a good one!

Hey Gracie - what's up? Wanna get together? ~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 Question

Hmmm...now I'm totally confused but I will take BLUE any day over some of the much less desirable colors!

Ok Mannie...feeling better..less pokes...had 3 breffis's...Tobes and me are ready for the day!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 Question

Nice start to the day after an absolutely gorgeous day yesterday. I hope Gracie lets Mike rest up.

No real answers, but what we want are flat cycles, I think the nadir is probably in the middle of the flat. And when she is low .... well, with the food you are masking when the nadir actually is by the boosting up.

Gracie! I think everyone wants to chillax today so we is coming over, but we'll take care of cabana bean! KTSS for him! Do beans like lizard tail soup? -- Tess
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 Question

Hi Marjorie & Gracie.. didn't the Communicator say Gracie would be on the juice about 6-8 months.. I do recall it was not (obviously) 6-8 days & she said it wasn't 6-8 years.. hmmmm? You are coming up on 6 months.. just saying.. wonder what the next few months will bring ;-)
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 Question

Hi guys .. no answer for your questions .. but I also want to say mocha had the hardest time ever getting down past that 1.0u mark .. then she did and well .. you know the rest! I hope this new dose holds for you guys .. have a great day!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 Question

Ann: yup...great minds still think alike :lol: When we have to carb her, we can't see her nadir and then we have the other scenarios...so confusing, this girl.

Nicole: the AC said "6 to 8" which was from the day we had the appt (last Monday) and she said it could be weeks or months but that we should think positively.

Devon: I know!!! Believe me, I have studied Mocha's SS a ton since we've been in FDMB because she and Gracie have been so similar with their "issues" :lol: :lol:

Julie: AND OURS DO :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 Question

I was going to wait until +4 to test her but she started racing around here like a little wild banshee so thought I'd better test....yay...almost green!!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +4.5 96 Question

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +4.5 96 +6 79 Quest

i think if gracie reads tess' condo...there'll be more than one question here!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

Well....there she goes sliding again!!!! Did someone give our baby girl levemir while we were catching a few zzzzs???? I'm hoping some of the wise ones in LL can look at our SS and give us some ideas on this sliding business......I gave her some 6% food/13% gravy; I do not want to shoot another dropping number tonight.
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

This appears to be just a double dip & common with Lantus. A nadir earlier the past few cycles, then went up, and now is surfing/dipping a little at the end of the cycle. As you know.. shooting it requires monitoring...
I suspect you want to hear it from one of the advisors & I am not.. so lets see what they say ;-)
Very good #s lately!!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

Nicole: thank you!! I do appreciate your thoughts.

One thing to note is that, in the past few cycles, if you see Gracie's BG coming up around +9 or 10, it's because we fed her to try and bring her up because the second dip would take her down lower. Jill told us on these slidage days, to feed her by +10 to try and get her bumped up so we could shoot a reasonable number. Yesterday, we did, and she still fell back down by PMPS.
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

Given that the nadir can move around, why is it important to pin down where Gracie's nadir is? It will change tomorrow!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

I'm happy if i can kinda guess, Ooooo, within 3 hours where Tess's will be! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

Thanks Sienne!! But the nadir question was just an aside; she just doesn't seem to have a "classic" lantus cycle. My question was in bold in the first post of today:

What causes that sliding ....sometimes I know Gracie is breaking a bounce and it's very evident; but last night??? And it seems she's been doing it a little more often lately

Thanks for the help!!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

I'm not sure I know what your question is... the beauty of Lantus is that when a cat is regulated, they may not have an easy-to-discern nadir. I would guess that at this point, most of the movement you're seeing on Gracie's spreadsheet (other than the occasional bounces, which are going away) is just carb manipulation.

FYI, a double dip is when the cat already had a nadir earlier in the cycle, then they go up some, then come back down but not lower than the first nadir. I think what you are calling "slides" are partly because of carbs wearing off and partly double dipping. In general it is fine to shoot a double dip. The kind of dropping number you need to be careful about shooting is when a bounce is clearing at shot time - so if she is pink at AMPS and slides all the way through the AM cycle to a green PMPS, maybe stall, but if she goes down, then up, then down again, or if she goes down and surfs, then usually ok to shoot. Of course you know Gracie best. You would not want to shoot something that you think you can't get turned around before the next shot's onset.
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57

Libby: thank you very much. I understand the concepts but it is difficult to me to see what Gracie is doing and probably, like you said, because we are manipulating her. So I guess we need to settle back, watch her closely, and see what she'll do on her own. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile Of course, standing by to bump her up if she falls too low.
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57 Quest

These cats are conundrums!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I think you are doing your very best! Gracie is well & happy, & most of all Healthy! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57

:thumbup :YMHUG: You are doing great, Sometimes we just need to step back and stop overanalyzing.
O, that way madness lies; let me shun that;
No more of that.
King Lear Act 3, scene 4, 17–22
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie AMPS 159 +2 153 +3.5 106 +6 79 +7.5 57

Gracie! Hey girlfriend, your turn! I think Mannie owes you an apology too, He's got good 'pologies! Hee! Hee! Hee! -- Tess
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie PMPS 178

:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: and now Gracie too???? sheshhhhhhh - back to the store for me - i uhhhhhhh well you know.... uhhhhhhh..... rubies for you little one...... no more post traumatic stress high flying numbers syndrome coupled with a mental lapse for me.... uhhhhhhh wow. whoa is me.... ~~ Mannie

I like this: I would be in a looney bin if I didn't step back, on days like yesterday for us, and let it be as Mannie has directed it to be.
Ann & Tess said:
:thumbup :YMHUG: You are doing great, Sometimes we just need to step back and stop overanalyzing.
O, that way madness lies; let me shun that;
No more of that.
King Lear Act 3, scene 4, 17–22
Bottom line - you guys are doing great - far better than I ever could hope to do with Mannie, try as hard as I do. Amazing progress she has made, and though she may call the shots, she's got great beans guiding the ship. awesome job!
 
Re: 3/15 Gracie PMPS 178

O, that way madness lies; let me shun that;
No more of that.
King Lear Act 3, scene 4, 17–22

Ok...so now I can use this in our "psyche-K" sessions with Gracie :lol: :lol: who wants to be a surrogate for me and pound that into my brain???
Didn't Hamlet say "IF not for madness, I would have nothing"? Or maybe that was Bill Murray in Caddyshack :lol: :lol: :lol:

Michelle: the problem with Gracie's mamabean is she is too much of a control freak; hence the overcarbing. LET IT BE MAMA!!!

Celi: dat Binks...he got da humor!!

Mannie....rubies MIGHT work....they would look extra special on my beautiful brown fur...so luxurious..fit for a princess like MOI! I think you need more of your mamabean's peppermint mocha latte dude!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top