3/15 Gobbles PMPS 567 +4 352 +8 271

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90926&p=974559#p974559

Good Morning Lantus Land! Gobbles' appetite returned yesterday; I assume it's from the B12 injection he received at his vet visit on Wednesday. He kept me on my toe's yesterday and received his PM shot 2 hours late due to low numbers at scheduled shot time, so his new shot time is now 9/9. We have a new name for the glucometer: Gluco-Monster! Gobbles woke up in a great mood--kisses & TP for momma, then ate a good, healthy LC breakfast. I know he was thrilled that I shut the +6 test alarm off last night with all good intentions to get up and test him, but then failed to haul this old (well kinda) lady out of bed.

Raffle tickets are on sale, if you would like to buy one/some. Please tell your friends, family, neighbors, whoever--this raffle is open to anyone and we've already raised $275 and I've set a goal is $1,000. There are ticket prices for every budget; from $2 to $20!

Here's a direct link to the Raffle: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614&p=970877#p970877

The Raffle ticket sales deadline date has been extended to April 7, 2013. The Raffle drawing date will be on April 8, 2013 and will be videoed!
 
Re: 3/5 Gobbles AMPS 222

That's not a bad start after all those greens yesterday and shooting two hours late. I hope Gobbles slides down today.
 
Re: 3/5 Gobbles AMPS 222

carfurby said:
That's not a bad start after all those greens yesterday and shooting two hours late. I hope Gobbles slides down today.
Thanks, me too!!! I have a feeling he will... :-D Have a beautiful weekend :)
 
Re: 3/5 Gobbles AMPS 222

A very nice start for Gobby! I hear ya on not being able to get out of bed. I don't even know how many times I hit the snooze bar this morning...I definitely intended to be up way sooner than +3.75. Fortunately I have enough data on Trix to know that dropping way low before +4 very rarely happens...

Have a great day, Kat. Thanks again for all your work on the raffle!!
 
Re: 3/5 Gobbles AMPS 222

Amy&TrixieCat said:
A very nice start for Gobby! I hear ya on not being able to get out of bed. I don't even know how many times I hit the snooze bar this morning...I definitely intended to be up way sooner than +3.75. Fortunately I have enough data on Trix to know that dropping way low before +4 very rarely happens...

Have a great day, Kat. Thanks again for all your work on the raffle!!
LOL...so in reality, I actually got 7 hours of sleep; I don't count the +4 when I woke up because I was basically sleep-walking at 1 a.m. when I got his test! Thank goodness the Gluco-Monster keeps tabs on the numbers. You're welcome & it wouldn't have been possible without the generosity of our prize donations--Lovin' the gorgeous earrings you created & donated--we've already sold a lot of tickets for those!! Thank you again for making them and donating them to the Raffle, Amy :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 possibly shoot early PM

He's kind of high this afternoon and I am assuming it is because I shot 2 hours late yesterday. I am thinking to maybe shoot an hour or 1/2 hour earlier, but then again, maybe not due to the eratic-ness of his past cycles... He went from 426 AM yesterday to 63 +9.5 then to 70 +11.5 & 62 +12 (and that was after I had fed him less than an hour before). Gotta give it to Gobbles--he sure has been clearing his bounces quick!!! Decisions, decisions, decisions.....I would feel confident shooting a 1/2 hour early if he is over 80, but not 1 hour early.... (regular shot time is scheduled for 9 PM EST....) Any thoughts on this?
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 possibly shoot early PM

I believe shooting early acts like a dose increase. You may want to consider that if you do shoot early.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 possibly shoot early PM

carfurby said:
I believe shooting early acts like a dose increase. You may want to consider that if you do shoot early.
Good point! You are correct; I forgot about that--thanks for reminding me :-D He certainly does not need an increase cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? won't eat

Gobble ate OK at 6 a.m. this morning. He had two bites of LC at about 9 a.m. It is now 4 p.m. here and since then he may have eaten a total of 1 t. I tried "very low sodium in water tuna"--he licked some of the water off it. I tried crushing a few dry treats and sprinkling a pinch on his food--nope, didn't work. I resorted to 1 t. milk; he did lick that up. I put a call into the vet but have not heard back. Isn't there a link somewhere that lists some ways to try to get a cat to eat? I have HC wet food ranging from 14-22%, but haven't tried that yet.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? won't eat

In the past when I had trouble getting Furball to eat, some of the things I remember people suggesting are sprinkling foritflora on the food, feeding baby food (no vegetables, just beef or chicken), & sprinkling parmesian cheese on the food.

Hopefully Gobbles will eat for you soon.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? won't eat

carfurby said:
In the past when I had trouble getting Furball to eat, some of the things I remember people suggesting are sprinkling foritflora on the food, feeding baby food (no vegetables, just beef or chicken), & sprinkling parmesian cheese on the food.

Hopefully Gobbles will eat for you soon.
The fortiflora isn't working nor the parm cheese--momma here has a touch of a nasty sinus flu going around here in OH, but will gladly drag herself to the grocery store for him....I do wish the vet would call back; he was off today and I guess didn't check his messages yet...
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? won't eat

Hi, Kat, I have this info that I copied onto a Word file, so unfortunately I don't know whom to credit:
I hope Gobbles eats for you and/or you're able to talk to your vet soon.

Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
FortiFlora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
parmesean cheese
smashed crumbles of dry food
bonito/tuna flakes (Can be found at Asian markets or sometimes in the Asian food section of a large grocery store.)
halo chicken treats (freeze dried chicken) -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
trader joe tuna for cats
baby food -- beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
kentucky fried chicken
deli turkey /chicken
plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
chicken broth -- low sodium

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
-assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
-and/or talking to your vet about appetite stimulents ( mirtazapine or cyproheptidine)

Good luck! ~Josie
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? won't eat

carfurby said:
In the past when I had trouble getting Furball to eat...
Did you know why she wasn't eating? a medical reason maybe? or just finnicky-ness?
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? won't eat

Josie & Ripley said:
Hi, Kat, I have this info that I copied onto a Word file, so unfortunately I don't know whom to credit:
I hope Gobbles eats for you and/or you're able to talk to your vet soon.
Thank you Josie; I appreciate it. Well, the vet tech just called and the vet is calling in ten cyproheptidine to the local pharmacy. She said to give him 1/2 tab. I told her I would only use it as a last resort. The vet feels that maybe since his numbers have gone low, he doesn't have much energy and a diminished appetite....I did notice more lying around. I was advised not to give him his shot if he is under 100. I am going to change my ? to "? cyproheptidine" in my subject line. Have you ever given that drug to your cat? If so, how did it work? Any side effects?
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

Gobbles' vet has called in a prescription for cyproheptidine. I am going to pick it up and stop at the store for meat-only, no onion baby food; I will only us the pill as a last resort. The vet advised me not to give Gobbles' his shot if he is under 100, and feels that maybe his diminished appetite is due to low numbers/no energy. I have noticed more lying around. Does anyone here give/had given this drug to their cats? Success? Side Effects? How given? And anything else you can tell me about it? Thank you!
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

There were a couple of days where Furball just didn't seem like she felt good. I didn't take her to the vet because I finally got her to eat baby food and the next day her appy picked back up and she started eating a little again. Then within a couple of days she was back to normal with her eating. I did check for ketones during the time and they were negative. I really don't know what happened to cause her to stop eating. I think sometimes it's like with people, they just don't feel good or get an upset stomach. Do you check for ketones?
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

Gluco-Monster! :lol: Sending appy vines to Gobbles, and great work with the raffle! Paws crossed we'll make the goal.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

We give cypro to Zener. Karrie always says to also give ondansetron, which is an anti-nausea drug, which we do, 1 mg BID, then give the cypro as needed. We only give a tiny sliver to Zener, maybe it's 1/32 of a pill. We use a pill splitter and get a tiny piece. Initially, we gave him 1/2 a pill (as the vet had prescribed) and it was too much. It made him rather frantic for food. Reading other condos here, Anne figured out that just a little bit would be enough. Zener seems to have IBD and motility issues, so his appy just isn't very good sometimes. The cypro really helps.
Liz
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

i had a similar experience as liz and anne did with zener. my vet told me we could give alex up to a half tab of a 4mg cypro tablet every 12 hours. we started out with a quarter tablet which proved to be too much. an 1/8 of a tab turned out to be a good cypro dose for alex.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

carfurby said:
There were a couple of days where Furball just didn't seem like she felt good. I didn't take her to the vet because I finally got her to eat baby food and the next day her appy picked back up and she started eating a little again. Then within a couple of days she was back to normal with her eating. I did check for ketones during the time and they were negative. I really don't know what happened to cause her to stop eating. I think sometimes it's like with people, they just don't feel good or get an upset stomach. Do you check for ketones?
OMGee yes, I do! Last time I checked was a couple of days ago; I went through a whole bottle of strips since his dx in November....I just missed him peeing this evening but will try to get a test a little later. He ate almost the whole jar of baby food (it was 2.5 ounce so he ate about 2 ounce)...I got the prescription, but it will be a "last resort". Hopefully, he'll do like Furball did :)
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

Courtney and Kismet said:
Gluco-Monster! :lol: Sending appy vines to Gobbles, and great work with the raffle! Paws crossed we'll make the goal.
Yeah, thought that name up--then I rolled myself off the couch because I was laughing so hard... He ate the baby food and thanks for the pat on the back Courtney :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

Anne & Zener said:
We give cypro to Zener. Karrie always says to also give ondansetron, which is an anti-nausea drug, which we do, 1 mg BID, then give the cypro as needed. We only give a tiny sliver to Zener, maybe it's 1/32 of a pill. We use a pill splitter and get a tiny piece. Initially, we gave him 1/2 a pill (as the vet had prescribed) and it was too much. It made him rather frantic for food. Reading other condos here, Anne figured out that just a little bit would be enough. Zener seems to have IBD and motility issues, so his appy just isn't very good sometimes. The cypro really helps.
Liz
Thanks Anne. I was actually thinking of maybe a 1/4 pill to start. Did Zener get lethargic from the 1/2? 1/32?
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 ? cyproheptidine

Jill & Alex said:
i had a similar experience as liz and anne did with zener. my vet told me we could give alex up to a half tab of a 4mg cypro tablet every 12 hours. we started out with a quarter tablet which proved to be too much. an 1/8 of a tab turned out to be a good cypro dose for alex.
They're the 4 mg. tabs. He did eat almost a whole 2.5 ounce jar of Gerber Stage 2 Ham. When you say that a quarter "proved to be too much"; too much in what way? I had thought of quartering them because I am worried about the sedative effect and don't want him comatose!
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 +9 563 ? cypro

a quarter of a cypro tab made alex nervous, frantic, pacing.... too excited. it reminded me of when i was counseling drug addicts and they'd come in hopped up on cocaine.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176...+9 563 ? cypro + shoot ea

To shoot a little early or not? PM Cycle yesterday I shot 2 hours late. It's only AM+9 and he is at 563...I am assuming that nasty black number is due to the late shot last night....of course I'm thinking an early shot!!!; perhaps 1/2-1 hour...any comments? I'm not asking for advice :-D merely observations, opinions....
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176...+9 563 ? cypro + shoot ea

sometimes gobbles throws a high before a break.
if gobbles were mine, i wouldn't shoot any more than an hour early if i knew i could monitor if i had to.
jmo.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176 +5.5 193 +9 563 ? cypro

Jill & Alex said:
a quarter of a cypro tab made alex nervous, frantic, pacing.... too excited. it reminded me of when i was counseling drug addicts and they'd come in hopped up on cocaine.
Eeeeeeeeeeeekkkkkkkkkkk & Yikkkkkkkkeeeeeeees!!!! Don't want Gobbles like that; I thought they had the opposite effect; maybe it just depends on the cat? Hopefully, I won't have to give it--he did eat almost 2.5 ounces of the baby food.....
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176...+9 563 ? cypro + shoot ea

Jill & Alex said:
sometimes gobbles throws a high before a break.
if gobbles were mine, i wouldn't shoot any more than an hour early if i knew i could monitor if i had to.
jmo.
Thanks Jill! (Heck, he can be yours --I threw him in as a bonus prize to the person who wins the "Got Catnip?" Caddy!) Gobbles told me to get his Gluco-Monster out and check him at +11.5, and if he's still high (and I'd be shocked if he was a bit lower, really), he wants me to give him his shot :lol:
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176...+9 563 ? cypro + shoot ea

Oh kat, Gobby has so many good people in his and your corner. Hoping the vines meds and love works.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles AMPS 222 +3 176...+9 563 ? cypro + shoot ea

RubenTheCat said:
Oh kat, Gobby has so many good people in his and your corner. Hoping the vines meds and love works.
Yes, he certainly does--you & Ruben included!!! Thanks for the meds vines & love cat_pet_icon Gobby & I just love all of our second family :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles PMPS 567

Hi Kat. It looks like Gobbles has you on your toes tonight. I was glad to see that he did eat some baby food for you. I hope he comes down as the night progresses.

Have a great night.
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles PMPS 567

Frosty said:
Hi Kat. It looks like Gobbles has you on your toes tonight. I was glad to see that he did eat some baby food for you. I hope he comes down as the night progresses.

Have a great night.
He's coming down nicely; as of PM+8, he's at 271 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles PMPS 567

Tena and Curry said:
Yikes Gobbles.....come on down a bit.

Sending lots of eating vines for Gobbles.

Hugs,

Tena and Curry(GA)
Hi Tena :-D Yup, he's stepping down and did eat PM+1 and PM+8 (he could have eaten in between there since I left food out)....
 
Re: 3/15 Gobbles PMPS 567

Marje and Gracie said:
Come down Gobby! Hope he eats soon, Kat.
He ate Friskies LC @PM+1, PM+8 and 1/3 can FFLC @+9.5 :-D Got the squirts at +10.5; maybe the FF flaked fish & shrimp, or perhaps the cypro!?!?!?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top