3/15 Fistuk AMPS 77, +3.5 97, +6 86, +7.5 92 PMPS 86 +4 119

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-106-3-5-99-5-88-10-94-pmps-92-dose.287679/

Happy Furriday :)

Fistuk is surprising me over the past couple of day. Two days ago he had a green AM and PM cycles! And today so far he's been giving us beautiful numbers.

For the moment I'm holding the dose.

Yesterday he moved very nicely. Today he's been slower but I guess he's just not used to moving so maybe he feels his body more today.

His breath is still stretor like but less strong and not all the time. I've been letting him out to the balcony more lately. It's probably connected to that. I'll follow up @Angela & Cleo's suggestion to check the heart but I must wait for the next salary for another vet call...


Wishing you all a peaceful Furriday:bighug:

Fistuk observing the rain
upload_2024-3-15_13-39-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-15_13-39-23.jpeg
    upload_2024-3-15_13-39-23.jpeg
    62.9 KB · Views: 105
Dear Shelley,

Oh my heart goes out to you, :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:feline diabetes alone is just so difficult to deal with but having other aging kitty challenges makes your jobs even tougher. Your vet is wise not to overload on the antibiotics. So many U.S. vets and human doctors as well, simply push antibiotics for everything that comes up. And you were right on it from the start and that is very hard to do so it doesn't become an emergency!

I had already noticed that you and Fistuk were very early in your journey here but in that short time, have come a long way! I suspect most of us here are "fixers", wanting remission, watching so many other kitties achieve it and when it doesn't happen, we feel like a failure. If I could go back to 2015, I wish I would have been more grateful for the blessing of having my beautiful kitty Tiger with me for almost 18 years and the hell with the remission goals and all her other problems.:arghh: Instead I focused on "fixing" all of it and to this day I feel I missed the cues of her impending cancer and that is what took her from me. I love what @Rainbow Conti said about letting LM be who he was meant to be, but my self back then just could not understand that:-(

Taking care of a diabetic is 24/7 and is very stressful, yes indeed! And since you are working full time, I can just imagine the added stress of having to leave the house with dropping numbers and such! My well-meaning friends and especially my family kept nagging me that Tiger was too much of a burden, I should just either leave her alone or put her down. Needless to say, I was very out of touch with any of them after hearing that bunch of B.S. I did however discover that my vet clinic has a service for boarding that operates 24/7. They monitor, you can choose the size of the kitty condo, arrange for out of the condo exercizes, time in the catio for birdwatching, plus they gave shots and tested which was great. They used to have a closed circuit camera that you could watch on your phone as well plus daily updated LOL! This allowed me to travel when necessary and was greatly appreciated.

Maybe one day you might be more comfortable allowing the caregiving to be done by someone other than yourself. I am so envious your vet comes over for a house visit, that is not commonly done where I live! My other thought was a "Pet Hotel" situation like Kona's Dad found. But only when you are ready for it, don't let anyone force you to do something you aren't ready for. I understand that very well!

Just know you are doing an awesome job of managing all of this and I hope it helps to know you are never alone!
Thank you for the depth of your understanding and wise words, Ruth.
I too heard horrific things such as putting Fistuk down. Even just writing this makes me feel like chocking. Needless to say I put down those relationships. It's true that it's a 24/7 commitment and it has challenges but also its beautiful moments and the only thing that these kind of advice tells me is how a person treats themselves in moments of distress and need.

I do enjoy our time together and I think it's not so much that I'm a fixer (though the one to ask and get perhaps a more objective view is DH ;) ) but waves of grieve over the Fistuk we had, his health, his mobility and the liveliness he used to express. It's not easy to witness him suffering. I hope we can live many more years together and in that time I will always aspire to give him the best quality of life possible. If we have 18 years together like you had with Tiger it will be a gift:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Fantastic cycle!
Also so happy to hear that things are going well with Fistuk ❤️
Happy Friday and have a great day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit :)
It's incredible how they manage to surprise us out of the blue (for better and worse :banghead::joyful:)
Paws crossed we're on the right track in helping him become more mobile.
Enjoy your furriday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top