Re: 3/15-Cini Mini -AMPS 293,+3/299,+6/276 - Marjorie Questi
Cathy...obviously you absolutely have the option of leaving him where he is, same dose, same food, riding out the bounces between greens. There is nothing wrong with that at all.
I'm just throwing out another option but it is more akin to walking the edge.....and you might want to do less of a Dosecrease and see how he does. But yes...feed higher carbs before he onsets to bring up the numbers. He generally does not appear to be a diver although he has a couple of times. You might have to experiment a bit first ( before you increase his dose) to see how feeding the higher carbs at +2 and/or +3 affect his onset and nadir. If it brings his onset and nadir up...then great...you are looking to flatten the entire curve. Once you see that, then you can raise his dose...maybe just try a f.25u. That might not be enough but then again it might.
And the food depends upon how carb sensitive he is. When Grace was on lantus, I was like everyone else in thinking zero carbs was better than 2 or 3%. But she was diving, bouncing, etc. Jill suggested I up the carbs and use a feeding schedule. We increased to 4% and that helped. Now she is on lev and I often feed her 8 or 10% carbs or mix them in with her 4%. That allows me to keep more insulin in her. But you have to be able to test frequently.
When you raise the curve with carbs, you can give more insulin. More insulin decreases the bounce.
Bottom line is.....it's your decision. I just thought I'd offer an option to help minimize the bouncing.